We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
326
329
135
54
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
329
135
54
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast winghorizon clubwest lakeclassic hotelbit datedhealth clubchinasuwestlakelakesidetaxismandarin
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels i stayed in throughout my 3 week stay in China.

The staff are beyond helpful and the facilities are fantastic.... BIG TIP PLEASE READ: if you upgrade your room to the 'club floor', you get access to the club lounge in the eveing on the 6th (i think 6th) floor. From 6pm-8pm every evening they have free drinks (beer, wine, cocktails) and canapes. We literally didnt have to go for dinner whilst we were here as the canapes are very substantial. With the upgrade, you also get access to hire bikes out for free.

Location is great and right on the lake. Swimming pool was a little chilly but clean and well kept.

Not a cheap hotel but id highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade the room to a club room!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTeddy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.
Your sincerely
Karl Karlsson
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Lovely hotel but spread out across wings so that, for instance, our room gave us a fantastic lake view but most hotel facilities such as breakfast and other restaurants meant quite a walk (inside at least); the Italian restaurant was in our wing so in the evening we settled for this. The hotel is also away from the middle of Hangzhou so the city's entertainments, restaurants etc were not easily accessible. This did make for the fantastic views and for a quiet night but a more central location would have been handy.

Room Tip: Lake views are spectacular but be prepared to have to go for quite a long downhill walk along a corridor to get your breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOLLESLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.
Your sincerely
Karl Karlsson
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Staff and location are it's best assets. Many of the best sites are just a short walk away. Staff stored our luggage until room was ready (we arrived on early train) and allowed us to check out late (2pm). Large room, grounds are extremely well maintained. The building feels dated, but is charming. Easy walk to Lou Wai Lou restaurant, Zhejiang Museum, and water taxi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdatwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.
Your sincerely
Karl Karlsson
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I've been to Hangzhou this February, I had a suit with the lake view. The morning when I woke up, I was amaized by the beauty of the lake. The room is fine, everything fine, except for the atmosphere during the breakfast. There was a convention of a certain bank, at breakfast there were so many people, generally very rude, very nosisy (especially when they eat)...

Room Tip: lake view room
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.
Your sincerely
Karl Karlsson
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We went to shagri la for lunch and it was presented to us two choices: buffet and Chinese restaurant. We decided for buffet in coffee garden, it was the worst experience we ever had. The food was horrible: the sashimi was not fresh, the grilled salmon from the counter was super dry and over cooked, bear from the jug (even in a Chinese canteen you can get a bottle of bear instead from the jug). The food seemed to be there for 3 days. The duck was hard to eat, the fish seemed displayed for hours because it tasted dry. Well... and we paid per person around 300. We were eating and we could not believe how Shangri la would run a restaurant under their brand with such miserable standards. Besides, when we were having lunch the employees were passing through the main dining room with trays of ice to through away. This is not Shangri la standards.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank AnaBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for choosing the Shangr i-La Hotel Hangzhou, and for sharing with us your experience. I am truly sorry that your stay did not meet our usual high standards. Your constructive comments have been discussed with the team and appropriate actions have been taken to remedy to this kind of situation in future. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again should your travels bring you back to Hangzhou.
Yours truly,
Karl Karlsson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews