We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveller rating
340
332
137
54
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
332
137
54
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east wing classic hotel west lake horizon lounge bit dated china su westlake lakeside cab mandarin
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 890 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Went to the buffet restaurant for Sunday brunch, got there a little early (11:30) and was not allowed to eat as the buffet started at 11:45, okay I understand, but the food was already on display and ready. So ordered a coffee while we waited, no not allowed. Then asked for a Bloody Mary, nobody knew how to put vodka and tomato juice in the same glass. Would not recommend and will not return, such a disappointment.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for choosing the Shangr i-La Hotel Hangzhou, and for sharing with us your experience. I am truly sorry that your stay did not meet our usual high standards. Your constructive comments have been discussed with the team and appropriate actions have been taken to remedy to this kind of situation in future. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again should your travels bring you back to Hangzhou.
Yours truly,
Karl Karlsson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

With beautiful views from the bedroom windows over the lake in Hangzhou this elegantly furnished hotel is a joy to stay in. Elect to stay in a room with access to the Horizon lounge for views over the city as well as the lake and take your breakfast and cocktails with canapes there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank RobJane677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.
Your sincerely
Karl Karlsson
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Hotel is a little older , rooms carpets looks wash and re washed ,and some parts of the hotel look old …but location ,breakfast buffe ,service is fantastic .
We where on a Suite facing the lake really nice location we had a faboulous terrace to seat outside and have something to drink and look at the view .
You will be located with in walking distance to the lake and to many other shops and restaurants .
We where asking for several things and the service was fantastic they help you in everything you need ,offer babysitter from the hotel if you pay …nice pool and spa.

Room Tip: look for rooms facing the lake fantastic night views .
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanainChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.
Your sincerely
Karl Karlsson
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Frankly, this is an old hotel. And it's hotel and room amenities are rather dated. They remind you of China in the late 1980s and/or early 1990s. But it's clean and my room is spacious. My room has a balcony and it offers a view of West Lake. It's fantastic!

If you walk to the West Block (which is connected to East Block with a long corridor), Sudi is just a stone's throw away. I did my morning exercise and I must say it's the most pleasant way to see West Lake. This is my second time to Xihu and thus I know the impacts of the crowd. I started jogging at 7:00am and then took a good walk before getting back to the hotel and had my breakfast. The best time to see West Lake is before 9:00am or 9:30am, before the local package tour tourists arrive. Of course, you can try seeing West Lake during sunset and in an evening with a full moon. But in the early morning and when it;s quiet, you see the real West Lake.

The hotel has a spa and swimming pool. Breakfast is OK/not bad. And Wifi works well.

Room Tip: I was told the Lounge is good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bally1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.
Your sincerely
Karl Karlsson
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hotel is bit pricey for quality but this location of hotel can not be much better. All essential places at Xihu lake is with in short walking distance.
When go there gardens and temple are must to see attractions in morning / afternoon. and you should not miss westlake impressions show - which takes few hundreds meters away from hotel - and again book tickets in morning to ensure places.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Vesa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.
Your sincerely
Karl Karlsson
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews