We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #27 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Location and comfortable”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Shangri la is located bang on west lake, just cross the lake and you can walk along the lake. good hotel, nice food, you get lot of options no matter what type of food you eat. rooms are comfortable and lot of famous restaurants are nearby.

Room Tip: try to negotiate for a lake facing room, although you have to pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vatrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    317
    125
    46
    21
See reviews for
94
84
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

no complaints whatsoever regards this hotel, rooms were super, bar area sound and even tried out the swimming pool. if going to Hangzhou, you wont go far wrong using this hotel. the location of the hotel is right on the west lake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falkirkbairn1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were very disappointed with this Shangri-la hotel. It does not have the look nor the feel of a Shangri-la Hotel. It was below and indeed a sub-standard Shangri-la!

Starting with our arrival, which was early morning around 1 a.m., there was no one to help with the luggage. The room looked old. In fact I believe there has been no change since my last stay in 2006. The coffee house, where we had our breakfast, was cramped. The spread was ordinary although the service staff was good. They were attentive and helpful but you need to know the language, otherwise it can be frustrating. The lunch buffet spread was alright. But being in China we were wary of the meats served.

The toiletries in our room were lacking. It was basic and did not have shavers or emery board nor did they offer complimentary shoeshine. If they did, it was not made known to us. The toiletries were also not replenished daily as some days the shampoo, conditioner, body lotion were not refreshed. Even if they were unable or unwilling to provide new containers, they should top-up the shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. The same goes with the dental set. The bedroom slippers were not packed and we had no way of knowing if those provided were new or recycled. No newspapers were provided. Being a 5 star hotel and more so, a Shangri-la, it was disappointing to say the least.

As we stayed there for a week, we expect, they should appreciate our custom!

Room Tip: Choose the East Wing facing the West Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhclim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has probably been cashing in on its lake front location for years but it's a stretch to call this a 5 star hotel, well not in the modern sense. The hotel is tired and out of date, it's like visiting a childhood memory and realising it was better in concept than actuality.
The rooms are filled with dated furniture (think chunky fake wooden pieces), the bathroom has medium-sized thin towels, ugly pre-packaged toiletries and room decor sports a boring beige colour scheme. The old 80s dial-up internet cord still hangs from the wall.
Breakfast is decent but to get to the venue you must walk 200m down an ugly Perspex covered alley way made of unsightly orange bricks. There's a few lonely fish tanks along the way which adds no atmosphere rather it makes the trek for food seem even more sad.
Aside from appearances, there seems to be no consistency to the service. From my bedroom, I could hear cleaning attendants speaking extremely loud during morning duties. As I approached the hotel after a morning jog around the lake, back staff were obviously hanging out socialising in a back area. They were speaking so loud it was like walking into an end of year party.
If I return to hangzhou again, I will definitely seek another option.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank melbournetraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have been to Hangzhou several times in recent years, and this was the first time we stayed in Shangri-La. The hotel was known as Hangzhou Hotel when my parents stayed there some 30 years ago. The old-style hotel is a bit dated, but it is grand and very different from the modern high-rise hotels in the city area. Our room on the third floor was big and with a balcony facing the West Lake (though the view was not that great because trees were blocking the view). The international buffet breakfast was excellent in terms of choices (Western, Chinese and local specialities) and taste. The main advantage of staying in Shangri-La is its proximity to the West Lake. Leaving the hotel and crossing the road, you reach the West Lake. We stayed there for two nights, We got up early in the morning and strolled along the Su Causeway and Bai Causeway for several hours. Early April is a very good time to visit the West Lake as peach blossoms are in full bloom. There are many places in the lake area where you can hire a boat (RMB150 or USD25 per hour), which accommodates 4 or even 6 persons. We hired one for a two-hour ride from the Xiling Bridge area (near the hotel) to the Hua Gang (Flower Harbour) area, with a 20-minute stop at the Xiao Ying Zhou Isle. Several tourist attraction spots such as 'Autumn Moon Over the Calm Lake', 'Lotus Breeze in Winding Courtyard', 'General Yue Fei Temple', Lou Wai Lou (Pavilion beyond Pavilion) Restaurant, and venue for the 'West Lake Impression' show are all within walking distance from the hotel. If you want to enjoy the West Lake at your own pace, Shangri-La is a good choice. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suathong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

we came to have a buffet lunch at this hotel as we came for a rest from shanghai, when we came to have lunch 11:00, we had to wait 45 minutes outside as it was 'not ready' even though everything looked ready and had been set out, when we finally got in and went for our food it was horrible, you have mostly native hangzhou cuisine like toad and fish but you have almost nothing else. it was a horrible experience and i am 100% sure that i will never come to eat here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkwoodnicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, I had been staying at another hotel in Hangzhou and really wasnt happy, I looked on Trip Advisor and this came up as an option and at a price to slightly cheaper than the hotel I was currently staying at. So I booked a room quickly and then took a cab over to the hotel. I arrived hours before a normal check in time, they assigned me a room quickly and upgraded us from the cheapest room I could book, I would've been satisfied with a mountain view room to an executive suite with water view. I figured I would have to wait a few hours to get a room but they moved me right in, and brought in all the luggage for myself and my boyfriend who was at work. The room was spectacular, and clean and well stocked with towels and such. The area where this hotel is, is out of this world beautiful, in my opinion the best part of the Lake, it is quite but has access to lots of activities, like walking on the Su causeway, or going out in a boat, or renting a bike to ride around and see the Pagoda's, Temples, and Museum all around West Lake. There is also a handy and beautiful Starbucks just a stones throw away from the hotel. The business office booked our train ticket back to Shanghai, and had the tickets delivered to the hotel. They also pre-booked our taxi to the train station as getting a taxi in Hangzhou can be very very difficult at times. When I review the earlier hotel I stayed at in Hangzhou I will discuss that this hotel, had me wait for 1.5 hrs in the lobby to get a taxi, but not the Shangri La. The staff at both the front desk, business office, and concierge were superb. The only downfall was the restaurant, we had dinner at the China Garden, the smell for the buffet is pretty bad, and we ordered a la carte but the server was very week, and brought out my meal 10 minutes before my boyfriends so we couldn't even eat our meal together, however after living in China for a few months this is a very normal thing, but doesn't mean it should continue. Loved this hotel, I will definitely stay here next time I go to West Lake. I have already sent 2 friends to stay here, and they also enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaShang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#16 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
587 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
907 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
1.6 mi away
Midtown Shangri-La,Hangzhou
Midtown Shangri-La,Hangzhou
#21 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
97 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
#32 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.78 Beishan Road, Xihu Distric, Hangzhou 310007, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#49 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hangzhou
Hangzhou Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing