We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dragon Hotel(Hangzhou)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$353
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$604
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$551
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$507
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
326
329
135
54
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
329
135
54
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast winghorizon clubwest lakeclassic hotelbit datedhealth clubchinasuwestlakelakesidetaxismandarin
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This hotel was probably nice in its day. It is really in need for a top to bottom update to reflect the Shangri-La brand.

The location is great near West Lake with lots of attractions and places to walk to, but the hotel itself is somewhat out of a time warp. I heard they are doing a rehabilitation but it can't happen soon enough.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 销售部 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Chris M,

Warmest greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Hangzhou! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is with sincere regrets to read about your unpleasant experience.

Please allow me to apologies, for any inconvenience and frustration caused. Rest assures we will investigate the matters raised.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Communications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We actually very much enjoyed our stay at the Shangri La Hangzhou: Yes, it is a bit dated but everything worked great, the bed was more than comfortable with good pillows and linens, and the bathroom had everything we need - of course we would have prefered two sinks and larger, but that does not exist here (what is the fuss LOL).

We were asked if we would like an upgrade, very fair price difference which put us on the 7th floor center with access to the Lounge. WOW, we enjoyed ourselved tremendously. We even ended up eating one night in the room with our view - very delicious by the way.

Now for those of you who are complaing about internet and such - THIS IS CHINA, and unless you are on a VPN you will have NO access to FB, Google, or other American sites - they are banned. This is not the hotel's issue, it is China's way of controlling information. We actually had reasonable speed, and got done what was needed without a hassle.

The staff was more than accommodating and made all our daily arrangements with our driver (not even booked through the hotel). The food for tea and apero was very nice, with a descent selection of alcohol, plus an amazing view with terrace. THe breakfast provided here was also nice, with the possibility of having made ot order eggs and other such things.

Would we stay here again, Absoutely! The hotel was exactly what we needed, to be otuside the city was worthwhile, with access to the most amazing park. The view, quiteness, service and location were all to our liking.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 销售部 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear JC505,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience.

We will certainly share this review with all colleagues concerned and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.

Your sincerely,
Communications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

An example: I used their laundry service, which is astronomically priced. (They charge $7 per shirt.) It came back with a card saying that one of the shirts was "damaged" and therefore they hadn't washed it. But looking at the billing slip, they had charged me for it anyway. Subsequently a non-English speaking woman rang at my room with a clipboard and asked about "laundry." After I yelled at her, two phone calls and a revisit by this same woman to take the shirt back ensued.

When I called up to order, by number, ONE item that was on the menu in my room, that took three phone calls--and I was actually surprised when the correct item finally came

Let's be clear. This is a HUGE hotel. All they need is ONE English-speaking employee on duty at all times, and a number to call that employee, from which she can call you back if necessary. If this big chain can't figure that out, stay away from them! And I'm a member of Shangri-La's "Golden Circle" loyalty program, from way back!

This hotel is so huge that to get to their foolishly overpriced buffet breakfast, you have to find your way through a succession of long corridors and go down many stairs. That facility is in the "other wing."

Their prices for car-and-driver were ridiculous when I tried to arrange that in advance, so I had to resort to someone I eventually found on the Internet--who was very good and economical, big comfortable car. John Wu.

You will find your Internet access inconsistently but very inconveniently blocked--no Google, no gmail. Don't expect any help from these nincompoops.

Room Tip: West Wing More Convenient
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 销售部 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Charon666,
Thank you for your review of Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou. We too are disappointed with your stay experience with us and are concerned about the service issues you have raised. Would you please provide us with more details via email at slh@shangri-la.com so we may investigate internally and take necessary actions to improve services if needed. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you and best regards.

Your sincerely,
Communications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The hotel is a former government official hotel with 60 years old.The hotel is on the north back of lake. It is near the tourist boat terminal and other sceneries. Good view from hotel rooms. The hotel service is good.
The food in the canteen is not so abundant compared with others Shangrila I lived before.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank YeWshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 销售部 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear YeW,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at the Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou with us.
We have taken note of your comments about food.so we may investigate internally and take necessary actions to improve services if needed.
We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Yours sincerely,
Karl Karlsson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

A bit outdated hotel, though this gives the chance to experience classic colonial era feeling in Hangzhou.

Location is great, the West Lake is just a two minutes walk across the street.

Staff is competent and helpful. Clients are almost exclusively Chinese.

Breakfast leaves nothing left to wish for.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
杭州香格里拉饭店, 总经理 at Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at the Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location. Should you travels bring you back to Hangzhou, I hope to have the chance to welcome you again.

Yours truly,
Karl Karlsson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews