We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zhongshan International Hotel
Ranked #756 of 2,497 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 4 January 2011

There's nothing to dislike about this hotel. The airport shuttle bus dropped us off across the street from the hotel. The room was standard, which means it was large and had two comfortable beds. There were English channel on the TV. There were a few eateries around the hotel. Along the street to the Westlake on the side of the hotel was a bakery where we bought food for breakfast. The street of this hotel, Pinghai Street ends at the Westlake (turn left from the hotel) and there's a water show at the lake several times a day. The airport shuttle also picked us up right in front of the hotel and took us to the airport. Internet connection was free (with a cable) and I find that very convenient. The only (very slight) drawback was that the view was not the greatest, my window faced the busy Pinghai Street. Glad that we stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

We were in Hangzhou for just a day and spent it mostly outdoors, sightseeing. So didn't get a chance to explore amenities in the hotel, but the location was extremely convenient. Walking to west lake, eateries, train ticket booking agents, supermarket, shopping, everything is very close by. The room was also quite big as compared to similar or higher priced hotels in Beijing and Shanghai (obviously :-)). And had free high speed internet. Overall comfortable and good value

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeWilly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 9 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 5 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 13 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 31 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights to watch the recent solar eclipse and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

When we first arrived there were a few problems with our room but the reception desk staff were excellent and moved us to a nicer room without any fuss.

Some of the reviews below mention that the staff here don’t speak much English but we were able to communicate effectively with the staff at the front desk and the bar. They helped us with transport, finding our way around and advice on where to watch the eclipse as well as matters to do with the hotel. There were always plenty of staff members on hand to deal with enquiries, even when the hotel was packed the night before the eclipse.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The main bedroom section had obviously been refurbished not long ago and was tastefully decorated. The bed was firm but not back-breakingly uncomfortable like usual Chinese mattresses and both me and my wife got a good night’s sleep. Only downside about the room was that the bathroom was a bit tired looking – the basin was stained and there were cracks and chips in a few places. But it was spotlessly clean which is the most important thing in my opinion.

There was free wi-fi in the rooms but as we didn’t bring our laptop we couldn’t test that. However there were two Internet ready computers on the second floor which were free to use.

The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk to the West Lake and there are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

The only downsides to this hotel (other than the tired looking bathroom) were the view and the breakfast. The hotel charges extra for a lake view room but because it is three or four blocks away the view is mainly obstructed by other buildings. We were on the 16th floor out of 17 so height was no issue but I can’t honestly say the view was worth the extra paid for it.

The breakfast was probably the worst breakfast I have ever eaten in any hotel!! It was a mixture of poor imitation Western breakfast foods and Chinese cuisine. I have had some terrible hotel breakfasts in Western countries so I can forgive a Chinese hotel in China not getting things right but all the Chinese food was limp and tasteless as well.

Overall this is a great value option for Hangzhou West Lake area. We had a great time here and will stay again when we return to Hangzhou. Highly recommended - just go elsewhere for breakfast!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Great_Stuartio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#29 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
336 reviews
Merchant Marco Hotel
#47 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
257 reviews
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
#43 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#28 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
831 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhongshan International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongshan International Hotel

Address: No.15 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #756 of 2,497 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: £33 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zhongshan International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zhongshan International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhong Shan Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing