We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“everything is OK, except the buffet was not fresh at all!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Crown Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Plaza
Ranked #195 of 2,351 Hotels in Hangzhou
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“everything is OK, except the buffet was not fresh at all!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

the location is not good, pretty far from the sightseeing part since the factory we need to visit was closeby that's why we picked up it. ( it took the taxi driver extra 20 min to find the hotel)
room is ok, service it not bad, and the internet is so fast ( we stayed there 2 days, one if after the late flight from zhenzhou, it was the fastest internet speed in China i had at the midnight, but you need to pay for the internet,charged by day)
and that day had terrible rain, we decided to had the buffet in the hotel. I have to say it was the worst buffet i had ever had ( normally i checked reviews beforehand), the fish/crab was not fresh at all and i couldnt eat them ( I am really picky about the fish, since there are so many good Japanese restaurants in shanghai)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuteMinMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
3
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lod, Israel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

hotel is actually good.but the food wasnt tasty,only coffe was fine for me,not a lot things to choose from.tv in our room never worked-i asked twice ,nothing happend.safe was strange-couldnt find the ,, on,, button,so wasnt able to use.
exchange servise at reception,but sometimes they r short of cash.so be smart-i came in the evening and i could change only 50 euro,the girl told me she ll go to bank at 10 in the morning,and we were leaving at 9,so i came again early in the morning and changed more 50 euro,ppl who came after me couldn do this already:pthe lobby is pretty,the is a ice cream shop.there are a lot of shops and restorants around,across the street.so if u can get by by noodles and eggs:p why they never have yogyrt in china hotels?and bread and even meat sometimes is sweet?

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tensi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

it is a good hotel. Clean room Nice facilities. Nice Service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wuyuan_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

I've stayed in Crown Plaza, Hangzhou for 2 nights with my girlfriends and we didn't have the best experience there. We knew the location is not ideal, but the reason why we chose it was a reasonable price,leisure facilities (swimming pool&gym), and a Western restaurant they listed..
We booked Delux twin room and additional bed. The room looked like a Standard room and when we wanted to clarify it with the Reception, they kept saying it's a Standard room and also that we booked so, although our booking page was stating it should be Delux.
It was extremely hard to communicate with the reception staff, very poor English! And even we know a bit of Chinese, it didn't help much. They behaved also improperly - they ought to laugh and giggle saying something in Chinese while we were there.
Also there was no additional bed arranged in the room once we came there. After we went back to complain - they brought kind of metal folding bed with very thin mattress.
The room was really too small for that additional bed.
Western restaurant and 'western breakfast' are not so good as well. For the western breakfast, there was no corn flakes/muesli and only fried eggs. All the rest of the food was rather from Chinese breakfast menu - tofu, strange fried veggies, boiled corn, noodles, dumplings...
The worth was that there is no leisure facilities! No gym, no pool! Totally false information about it.
The room was not good sound prof, we heard our neighbors talking. Moreover, we asked for a non-smoking room/floor. But we felt smoke in the corridor.
It can't be a 4**** hotel! We would never stay there again and we don't recommend it to anyone as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yulyakub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

what a dump!! 37 degrees C outside and 90% humidity and i could blow cold air faster than the a/c. ugly hotel, ugly rooms and slow poor service. concrete for beds, no complimentary water, poor tv setup, no english working internet and terrible lighting. if your supplier tells you crown plaza remember it's not crownE plaza and look elsewhere. oh they are upgrading it now and expect 7am BANGGGGING to deafen you if you are unlucky enough to stay there like me!!!! luckily i had earplugs to drown out the heavy traffic noise during the night too!! i wouldn't recommend this dump to my enemies dogs enemy!! if i could give it negative stars it would get it's first 5 star rating, negative stars!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaKerrWantsMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hangzhou hotels

Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Moving to China, I wanted to get some sightseeing in. When seeing all the CCTV commercials for Hangzhou, I decided to go, but as a hotel snob, I wanted to stay at a nice hotel for a good price. I saw the Crown Plaza... but CHECK THE SPELLING because this is not a CROWNE PLAZA... This hotel was ghetto and all I heard was people having sex throughout the night... Kinda says it all about the hotel...

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

This will the first and would be the last time we stay in this hotel. The experience is terrible and the service is very bad.

The room is very warm and we logged the complaint to the concierge, but no action was taken. We logged the second complaint and the answer we got is: "The weather at night will be chill, thus, our hotel will switch off the air-cond after 12 am". Oh my god, what a good reason???

We hope the hotel will do some improvements on the customer service and the facilities.

  • Disliked — The service and air cond
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Crrny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel
#68 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel
#71 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Junlan Zhejiang Hotel
#166 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Narada Boutique Hotel Hangzhou
#72 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Huachen International Hotel
#37 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#3 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Plaza

Property: Crown Plaza
Address: No.88 Tiancheng Road, Jianggan District, Hangzhou 310020, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#115 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Plaza Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing