We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Culture Plaza Hotel Zhejiang
Ranked #293 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Great hotel a 10 mon bus ride from the West Lake. You won't get any better than this place for the great price as I found out in Shanghai.
Staff are very friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable - will definitely return

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

This superior and extremely comfortable 21 storey, 174 room hotel is situated on a main thoroughfare 5 km or a 25 yuan (US$4) taxi journey from the famous West Lake. In the bar/coffee shop on the reception level (floor 2) delicious pastries are for sale. Guest rooms are generously large, with down pillows, tea & coffee making facilities and even a set of scales in the good-sized bathroom (watch how many pastries you eat!). Rare for Chinese hotels, BBC World TV is available. On the 6th floor you will find a fitness centre with sauna & Jacuzzi. Also on the 6th floor is the ‘Coffee Shop’ where breakfast is served from 6.30am to 10.00 am, and where a breakfast chef cooks omelettes to order. There is a popular Chinese restaurant on the 5th floor. The hotel is owned by a publishing company who not only have a bookstore next door to the hotel but a selection of books for sale in the hotel rooms!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Webbski-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I have stayed at this hotel four times over the past two years. The rooms are well appointed, in good condition and well presented. The staff are reasonably helpful although English is not strong. Food is Chinese with a little western and of basic quality.

On this trip, I found my aircon not working the first morning. I asked for it to be fixed but when it wasn't, I was told it was turned off because it was cool outside. Now it was cool outside but the room was decidedly stuffy and warm. I told them I had paid for an a/c room, they offered a fan! They informed me the a/c would be turned on at 6.00pm (which didn't happen).

At 4.30 the next morning, I was so hot I opened the window (the noise had abated), only to find mosquitoes attacking me (20th floor notwithstanding).

The other disappointing issue is the RMB30/day charge for 10mb/sec internet. So slow tonight, I couldn't complete my work. Most hotels at the moment are providing 100mb/sec free.

I still hink it is good value for money but I'm a little peaved this time and won't return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

The hotel lobby is pretty simple with the reception designed like a library. The breakfast is ok and the rooms itself is pretty standard. Though i would say that the room is pretty clean. The breakfast is pretty standard.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanyeo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

Very nice business hotel with large bookstore on first floor. Booked into hotel as part of a China Focus tour. Room was very nice--down pillows, umbrella, flashlight, big bathroom. In room internet 30/yuan/day. In more of residental area. Lots of traffic in area (and parking area) Several people in our group had billing problems with this hotel--though my incidentals bill was fine (room was included in tour)

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BowtieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

I have stayed at this hotel twice now during my business travels, the most recently being in July.

It is a modern hotel conveniently located in the central commercial and business district of Hangzhou. Overall impressions upon check in were good. The lobby is small but modern and clean. The staff were friendly, efficient and had a decent command of english. Interestingly enough this hotel is owned by a large bookstore company so there are collections of books everywhere - even in your room (available to buy if you take a liking to any of them).

The room itself was decorated to a reasonable 4 star standard. All the usual amenties like coffee, tea etc etc were available. The TV had the usual selection of english language programs (including HBO and BBC NEWS) and Internet access was available for 30 RMB / night (no wireless). The bed was firm but comfortable enough with a nice selection of pillows. The bathroom was nothing special but everything worked. One word of caution - all the King size rooms are smoking and although I had no problems with this on my last stay, on my first visit there was a slight lingering smell of smoke in the room and on the furnishings (nothing too serious but I'm sure it would put some ppl off).

Breakfast was the usual buffet selection - largely focused on Chinese options but you could find the usual western fruit, toast, eggs, bacon etc etc if you looked for them. Again, nothing special but enough to get you started for the day. Breakfast was included in my room rate which was very reasonable for 380 RMB / night (corporate discount).

Wake-up calls, check out and fetching a taxi were handled without fuss. All in all this is a very reasonable business hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JMBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank maf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
3 mi away
Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang
Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang
#902 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
189 reviews
2.5 mi away
Huachen International Hotel
Huachen International Hotel
#31 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Huanglong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou
Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou
#54 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
172 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou CBD
Holiday Inn Hangzhou CBD
#60 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culture Plaza Hotel Zhejiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culture Plaza Hotel Zhejiang

Address: No.38 Wen'er Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310012, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: £37 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Culture Plaza Hotel Zhejiang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culture Plaza Hotel Zhejiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing