We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of SSAW Hotel Hubin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SSAW Hotel Hubin
Ranked #919 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 3 March 2014

SSAW Hotel Hubin in Hangzhou is at 221 jie fang road. You are minutes walk to the Wushan Night Market and Zhejiang University First Affiliated Hospital. This hotel is about 10min walk to the West Lake Yintai Shopping Mall and Xihu Tiandi.

they have complimentary wired Internet access. A LCD, minibar, a coffee/tea maker, and a refrigerator. The shower is very basis with a handheld showerhead. A/c, complimentary bottled water plus the normal toiltteries.

the furniture are a bit old and the room is a bit dark with only a few bulbs.

Reception can only speak very basis english. The only good thing about this hotel it is near the west lake. it is about 10 min walk.

Breakfast is on the 7th floor. They have a wide spread for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff1955malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Good location, but tired rooms. Odd layout with glass-fronted bathroom and toilet (so that it is visible from the bedroom!). Staff aren't very helpful - I asked earlier in the day how long it would take to get to the Westlake Impressions show by taxi, and was told it would be quick and I could flag a taxi easily across the road from the hotel. But when it actually came to getting a taxi, it was near impossible. Ran back and forth to reception to ask them to help, but the reception was really laissez-faire and tried to called one cab firm which was engaged, so she gave up. Eventually managed to flag one, no thanks to the staff at the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzamataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hotel room is big, spacious and comfortable. Heating is not sufficient to cover the huge room though. We booked a room with a lake view and realised the view is only a "window-peep" view of a small part of the lake. There is only one room with a lake view in each level (we were told by the hotel staff). Staffs at reception were unfriendly, unhelpful and lacks professionalism compared to SSAW Shanghai. Breakfast is served at the 6th or 7th floor (you need to take the lift to one floor below and climb one floor up). The spread was very generous though quality of food were not great and more suited to the tastebud of the local Chinese. Staffs at cafeteria served with the same grouch and long faces as those at the reception (seems untrained). The location of the hotel is NOT a short walk to the lake as it seemed on the map (not in winter when it is cold, could be better in other seasons). It is true the hotel staff could not help the guests book taxi to any locations other than the airport! Poor wifi.

Room Tip: One room per floor with lake view but lake view is only a "window-peek" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were looking for a central hotel that was relatively close to West Lake and other sites. SSAW is a short walk from major bus routes and it's easy to catch a taxi in front of the hotel to go anywhere you want to go.

The rooms are small, but comfortable. Because the hotel is offset from the street there isn't any traffic noise. Some noise does carry from room to room.

Breakfasts were nice, a variety of hot and cold foods.

Overall, it's a good value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel has its positives and negatives. For the price it is probably good but if looking for a relaxing place to stay while visiting the lake, then maybe one needs to spend more.

Positives are location, clean room, efficient staff
Negatives are noisy, polluted area. Tiny entrance therefore often crowded.

Breakfast tasted good but lots of people.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

For the trip to Hangzhou, I wanted to stay near the West Lake. After much research and reading reviews from guests, I booked SSAW Hotel Hangzhou Hubin. Booked 2 Deluxe King Bed rooms for 3 nights from Agoda.

Hotel is located on Jiefang Road and within 10 – 15 minute walk to the lake and the musical fountain. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel. There are plenty of eateries nearby such as the famous Grandma’s Kitchen (外婆家), Green Tea Restaurant (禄茶) and Kui Yuan Guan ( 奎元馆). In fact there is a 24-hour KFC 2 doors away. For those who like to shop, 2 shopping malls are also within a 10 minute walk away.

We stayed in a non-smoking room which we requested during booking. I was really worried about stale cigarette smoke smell in the hotel and especially the room. Smoking in public enclosed spaces is still widespread in China as many premises still allow it. As we stepped into the hotel and the room, my worry was unfounded. There was not a trace of smoke in the hotel and also the room.

The room size is adequate with a small open wardrobe, a long writing table, a small coffee table and sofa. The king size bed is more like a queen size bed but it was comfortable. Sound proofing was adequate and we had good night’s sleep.

There is small kettle in the room but no fridge. TV in the room has mostly Chinese language channels, an English movie channel and BBC. The non-secure (open) WiFi signal was good with decent internet connection speed – however the internet service was flaky as censorship in China is rampant. The Hotel also provided a LAN cable for those who prefer better security.

The room and bathroom were clean and we had good housekeeping throughout our stay. 2 bottles of mineral water and Chinese tea bags were provided daily. Room has 2 power sockets.

Front office staff are quite helpful but I spoke to them in Chinese, so not sure if they are able to speak English. I booked the West Lake Impression show tickets from the hotel with no additional charge.

Check-in and check-out was easy and fast. The only complain I had was on the day we left for Beijing, I asked the front office to help us book a taxi to the railway station. The front office staff just told me to flag a taxi at the bus stop but she did tell me that they only book taxi for guests to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lwk-my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We are regular Ssaw patrons and first time at this Hangzhou hotel. Great location but the rooms are very tired, and the air con really noisy. Staff very unhelpful and breakfast hot meals were cold. Could not recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ecotravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#32 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
330 reviews
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
628 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
967 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#28 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Hotel Hubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Hotel Hubin

Address: No.221 Jiefang Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310007, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: £28 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Hotel Hubin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star hotel in Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China overlooking the West Lake. Located near Hubin Walk Street and Nanshan Leisure Avenue, it features plush guestrooms with goose down quilts and pillows, cable TV, DDD/ IDD phone, and private bath. Two (2) conference rooms provide ideal venues for meetings. A restaurant, fitness center, concierge and tour desks, and 24-hour security offer all-around convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SSAW Hotel Hubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ssaw Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing