We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel in good setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel
Ranked #29 of 2,351 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average hotel in good setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel was in a picturesque setting although my room looked out at a wall, others had very nice rooms looking out over the water. The setting is on the side of a lake surrounded by mountains. There is a trail around the lake which I walked numerous times.
Breakfast was served overlooking the water and had a good variety of food.
My room was common, nothing outstanding. The bathroom was small and had common fixtures. Cabled internet was available in the room. The room overall was clean and comfortable.
The hotel was large and spread out. There was a separate fitness center which I never used. I preferred to walk around the lake and enjoy the outdoors.

Room Tip: Get a room that over looks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicanRumCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betty f, Public Relations Manager at Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear ***,
Thank you for your saty with us at Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort.
We were pleased to note that you appreciated the swan lake of our hotel, we look forward to your next stay with us and stay in lake view room as you metioned in the near future , better have a balcony in the room .Thank you !
Sincerely,
Betty fang
Assistant MarCom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    109
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
36
11
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and think with some care it would be a nice facility. The carpet in the halls and rooms need to be replaced. If not replaced, at least cleaned and re-stretched. If a person request a non tobacco user room they should receive one. I did not and suffered due to the tobacco fumes/odors. The room was not clean and the bath had a great deal of mildew. The dust ruffle had very gross looking stains all over it. The breakfast did not have many Western options and the wait staff was not friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Located about 10 Kilometers (6 Miles) from the center of Hangzhou, this hotel is a sanctuary from the bustle of the city. It sits on an artificial lake complete with both black and white swans and an old style Chinese arch bridge lit up at night nicely. The lake was created with a curving shore line adding to the beauty and the hotel side has attractive flora.

The hotel is not set up for the business traveler in that the gym doesn’t open until 9 AM and the spa is almost deserted in the evening and coming in for a foot massage in the evening required some scurrying to rouse the personnel to come promptly. Normally a foot massage in China is a pleasant experience but my wife had one young woman who didn’t seem to understand the concept of soothing and caressing the feet and attacked my fragile wife’s feet as though they were a punching bag.

In general the staff is not adept in English with a few exceptions. When you encounter a staff member who has difficulty understanding, they must hand you over to someone who can help you.

During our 7 night stay we noticed several busloads of foreign tourists who seemed to stay just one night. This seemed strange for a place designed for relaxation. Perhaps the hotel finds it necessary to offer discounts to attraction these in and out visitors.

Breakfast was very good offering a wide variety of food and the staff was on the ball with coffee and clearing of plates, etc. Our last night, our reliable restaurant was closed to the public due to a wedding. The restaurant provided us with our worst Chinese food in all our many trips to China ever and marginal service. Not a good lasting impression.

The building we were in was possible to be smoke free, but there was a faint smell of tobacco in our room (not enough to be objectionable) and next to the elevator was an ash tray with butts in them
.
Still Hangzhou is one of the most vibrant cities that attract many, many Chinese tourists as well as foreign tourist due to its many lakes and attractions.

Room Tip: Building four is non-smoking building. Choose a lake side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel grounds are very nice, well manicured. It sits on beautiful lake full of swans; friendly to feed. A getaway from the hetic city life. Over all hotel has a nice environment, food was ok, service was very good, enough English to satisfy. Room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Very close to West Lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

First night at the CP Xanadu and I have to say that the hotel grounds are stunning. The whole environment is very much a getaway from the hectic pace of city life, which is exactly what I was looking for.

Service is great and everyone greets you with a smile. All the people we spoke with were very helpful with things to do around the hotel.

Unfortunately, this beautiful setting is marred by 2 major faults: The food and the rooms.

Do not expect a nice newly renovated room as what you will be greeted with are some very spacious but tired accommodations. The rooms are well furnished but the quality cannot even stand up to those of a Holiday Inn. Our carpet was stained and threads/ strings could be seen littered around the room as in indication that is was not well vacuumed. Points to the reception for getting the Housekeeping to come in and clean up immediately once it was pointed out.

Dinner at the Western restaurant was a fiasco only saved by the mediocre Brazillian buffet that was edible. The seafood was not fresh ( this was the first time that I did not see a line in front of the sushi/ sashimi counter) and hot dishes were neither hot nor worth the 198 RMB/ person that they charge. The selection was bland and comparable to basic street food that I can get in Shanghai for 5 RMB a box. The soft drinks were literally sugar water and beverage canisters were 1/3 empty.

Dirty plates and food stations that were not filled capped off a very testing evening. For those with a picky palate, do not even consider staying here as you will not find any alternative restaurants within walking distance.

If you can accept sub-par rooms and ridiculously sub-par food, this place would probably be great for you. It really is a huge shame as this hotel has the potential to be one of the best that IHG has in China.

Most of the previous positive recommendations probably overlooked the rooms and dining quality for the superb environment and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachy Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

A must see resort because of the swan lake situated in the back of the resort. They have both black and white swans that will swim up to you if you wish to feed them. Many of the rooms overlook the swan lake which inspired many Chinese fairy tales. The buffet breakfast is excellent and offers both Chinese and western selections. They also offer cappuccino in the mornings. The distance to the rooms can be quite far from the check in desk and the corridors are carpeted which can make it difficult to pull heavy suitcases. If you are an IHG member you will receive a free drink voucher when you present your rewards number upon check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeer_in_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I spend one night at the Crowne Plaza Hotel during our 17 day trip through China. This is a large hotel complex situated on a scenic lake but far away from the city center. The grounds were beautifully manicured and the lobby and restaurant were impressive. Our room was comfortable with attractive furnishings, a mini bar, a flat screen TV and an in-room safe. The bathroom was spacious with a combination bathtub and shower and a variety of bath products. The breakfast buffet was okay but not memorable.The hotel was clean and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betty f, Public Relations Manager at Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Shuuz1,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort .
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.
Thank you !
Sincerely ,
Betty Fang
Assistant MarCom Manager - Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
7.2 mi away
Grand Parkray Hangzhou
Grand Parkray Hangzhou
#24 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
6.2 mi away
New Century Grand Hotel
New Century Grand Hotel
#27 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Cosy Park Hotel
Cosy Park Hotel
#21 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
10.2 mi away
Landison Plaza Hotel
Landison Plaza Hotel
#20 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
11.1 mi away
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#8 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel

Property: Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel
Address: No.3318 Xianghu Road, Wenyan Town, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311258, China (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort)
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#27 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Wenyan Town, near the junction of the Qiantang, Fuchun and Puyang Rivers, the Resort presents an idyllic natural environment and incorporates the Xiang Lake tourism area, an official venue for the World Leisure Expo 2011. Hotel covers an area of 94,000 square meters; forested 28,221 square meters. Situated by Tiger Mountain, the hotel has its own Swan Lake, where the Swans, Ducks and Mandarin Ducks are dwelling. In the hotel, you will enjoy the natural beauty away from the modern life. Having a meeting or on a trip – whatever your purpose is, our hotel will provide every convenience to guarantee your trip is a success. Our hotel can be used as an extension of your office. We have 301 distinctive rooms, including 19 suites, 62 Crowne Plaza Club rooms. All rooms are well-designed with the minimum size of 40 square meters; some rooms even have a feature balcony for you to enjoy the stunning view of the lakes and mountains. Zest CaféZest Café located on the first floor of Conference centre, the elegant and stylish lake-view International restaurant, you can order exquisite food delicacies cooked by our hotel chef. It also serves International buffet, with seafood selection, authentic Brazilian barbecue, cocktails and desserts, presenting you a feast of delicacy.Waterfront Terrace Waterfront terrace on the Swan Lake can be used for various outdoor parties and is an ideal choice for private gatherings, weddings, product promotions, cocktail receptions and company meetings.Tao Yuan Chinese RestaurantIn a luxurious and elegant atmosphere, enjoy the modern-style Cantonese cuisine, delicate Hangzhou cuisine, local Sanjiang special cuisine and a variety of afternoon tea dim sums. 37 private rooms in diversified styles and a function room for 550 guests can accommodate functions of all sizes. Muse Lobby BarRelaxing and easy atmosphere, flavorful coffee, authentic tea, exquisite snacks and mellow wines, Muse Lobby Bar is an excellent venue for a business negotiation with your partner or a friends gathering. The resort is at the prime location of Hangzhou whether it’s for business or leisure purpose.It has 21 meeting rooms in different size and design. The impressive Xanadu ballroom offers 864 square meter of event space and accommodates up to 800 guests for a theater style meeting and 550 guests for a round table dinner set up. The 460-square-meters Xiang Lake ballroom can accommodate up to 350 guests for a classroom set up, and cocktail reception for 550 guests. The VIP Reception Centre located by the Swan Lake, it is an exclusive meeting and dining venue and ideal for private dinners, weddings, cocktails and corporate meetings. Other meeting rooms of various sizes that offer the organizers and participants ample space which can handle groups of 10 to 450 people.The resort offers meeting organizers and participants world-class meeting facilities including the latest audiovisual equipment which are supported by the services of a team of professionally trained staff. For absolute relaxation, you can unwind with an invigorating swim in our 25-meter lap pool; practice your swing at the tennis court, test your skills in the billiard chess and table tennis room, enjoy fishing and boating in the lake that commands a majestic view of the surrounding with the company of swans. The health centre features a gymnasium with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. For a moment of serenity, the jogging or bike trail provides an interesting option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Sofitel Hangzhou
Accor Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing