We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dahua Hotel makes me feel at home”
Review of Dahua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dahua Hotel
Ranked #50 of 2,428 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Dahua Hotel has since year 2000 been my favourite hotel in China. After a long day of business meetings in Hangzhou I feel like coming home. The staff take good care of their guests, and for some reason they have always given me the same room, "my room", in the second floor facing West Lake. No traffic to be heard, and I wake up every mornings to the birds singing outside my window. The coffee bar is cosy and the coffee is perfect, always served with a plate of fruit and bisquits. I have often invited business friends for dinner in the restaurant, where the food and service is excellent. "Hello Ms Marie, welcome back to us, we have missed you!" I hear every time I return to Dahua Hotel. No wonder that I feel at home!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinatrotter868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2010

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We loved it. The location is superb, being right by the lake, not even across the street from the lake, as with Hyatt.

We had a family room, like a junior suite. Our room although has a traditional Chinese decor, it is actually quite modern. The bathroom was spacious, we had a large shower and a large separate tub. We also had a sitting area surrounded by lake view. They also provide free internet. When we walk outside, there are nice walking paths, lots of shops, restaurants, and coffee shops nearby.

The house keeping service was excellent, the maids were very nice and helpful. However, I didn't get it 5 stars, because not all the front desk people were as nice. I thought they could be more friendly and service orientated. Especially, since we checked out after 3 nights, left Hangzhou for one night, and came back for one more night. We ended up in the same room, but they refused to honor our old price, and charged us more for the same room, while refusing to give us the extra bed (unless we pay more for it). But the maid was nice, she saw us returning, and came to set up an extra bed in our room anyway.

This hotel does mostly cater to domestic crowd, they have a mostly Chinese styled breakfast, but there were bread, butter, and coffee etc. And the breakfast room has a lovely view of the lake all around. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveler852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

This is a very beautiful hotel indeed, especially if you like Oriental-style decor and furnishings. I can sense the history of this place, and the location literally on the bank of the West Lake and very near the Xihu Tiandi just adds more panache to this hotel.

Sadly though, the facilities are getting a bit wanting. Perhaps the age of the hotel meant that you cannot get new, fresh stuff in the size of your room and bathroom. They are still very much trapped in 1950s, 1960s style and the software (i.e. service standard) still state-owned enterprise style.

Not that they don't try, but the small, little incidents like not being able to find your booking when you'd actually booked with them directly on phone (they were looking for my Chinese name when my name is officially in English on my passport), and the breakfast being Chinese style with hardly any Western offerings meant that this hotel is still very catering to the domestic crowd.

And in terms of business amenities, the small business centre and its old photocopy machine meant that it was clear at the onset that this outfit is not truly catered for the business crowd. Fortunately, the internet speed in my room was adequate and I did not need to print anything.

I think if you're on a strict budget and yet still want to be near the scenic West Lake, then it's good choice to stay at the Da Hua. However, if you can afford more and want more slick facilities and more polished service and still be near the West Lake, you may wish to consider the Shangri-La or the Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal the Fat Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 3315 (ungerade) aufwärts und 1314 (gerade) haben einen schönen Blick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 23 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul_Corcuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
610 reviews
Wuyang Holiday Hotel
#83 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
57 reviews
Xihu Resort
LiuYing Hotel West Lake Hangzhou
LiuYing Hotel West Lake Hangzhou
#47 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
#33 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
202 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#8 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
947 reviews
Chaptel Hangzhou
#39 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dahua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahua Hotel

Address: No.171 Nanshan Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310002, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Xihu Resort , Xihu District , Shangcheng District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 2,428 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: £123 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dahua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dahua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing