We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Hangzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hangzhou Scholars Hotel
Ranked #182 of 2,422 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here with a small tour group in June 2013, and were very pleased with the rooms and level of service provided. Lots of nice small touches in the rooms and public areas, such as calligraphy mats in the rooms and chinese chess sets in the lobby, and lots of books available to borrow throughout (though mostly in Chinese). The rooms were clean, updated, and comfortable, though not particularly large (which is pretty common in China!). The only real downside is that it was a little far from the West Lake area (10-15 minute taxi ride to the north side of the lake), and there was subway construction along the main E-W road next to the hotel, which undermined what otherwise would have been a nice neighborhood. Our family of four did need two rooms (2 adults and 2 teens didn't really fit into two double beds), but that's not uncommon. We wouldn't hesitate to return, and think it will be particularly nice once the subway line is complete and construction finished.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjdprods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Hangzhou Scholars Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel isn't in the midst of the West Lake hustle and bustle, but for us, that was a point in it's favor. It's an easy taxi ride from the lakefront, 15-25 yuan depending on traffic. When you enter the lobby, there is a cool, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, with a small Chinese language library and an intriguing desk/counter with a large scroll and several brushes. The front desk had a clerk who spoke English well, and allowed us to check in mid-morning. We had a king-size room, which was a bit smallish, but had almost everything we needed, including excellent internet access (not wifi, but cable). The bed was comfy, lots of pillows, with two nightstands, good lighting and a flat-screen TV. Along one wall, under the windows, was a window-seat with a small table built in that held a fan, small ball of fruit with two apples and some cherry tomatoes. There was an ashtray and matches in the room, but we detected no smoke smell (and we are finicky about smoke). The bathroom was small, but very modern and squeaky-clean, with a marble and glass shower with a rain-head and a hand-held shower head. Toothbrushes, toothpaste and a comb were provided in a clever little hanging bag by the sink, along with complimentary bottled water. There was no ironing board and iron, and the closet was shallow, as you often see in China, but there were terrycloth robes and slippers, and a basket to leave your shoes for shining.

The desk had a open scroll on it, along with a brush and an "ink well" filled with water. It wasn't until we saw another guest playing with a similar scroll on the counter in the lobby that we realized what it was -- a practice scroll for calligraphy. The scroll was moisture-sensitive, so you could dip a brush into the water and try your hand at calligraphy, and your attempts would disappear when the water evaporated. It was fun to try, and certainly gave me an appreciation for the artistry involved.

When we wanted to visit an attraction, we asked the desk to write the destination for us in Chinese for the taxi driver. She went one step further, and called a taxi -- however, she had connection problems, and sent the bellboy out to hunt us down a taxi. That young man went above and beyond and finally snagged one for us, sprinting across the street dodging cars to catch one going the right way when he was having no luck with taxis on our side of the street. He gave the driver our destination, argued with him a bit when the driver was reluctant to go all the way out to the temple, and finally got us on our way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stuck in Hangzhou due to unavailable connecting trains, I asked my regular hotel to help out and they booked me into the Scholar.
The reception has a small library - mostly Mandarin books.
The room has strategically placed Chinese artefacts and works of art and dishes instead of frames. The beds and the wash room is neat and clean and for RMB 300 you get breakfast thrown in. Both western breakfast and a Chinese breakfast were available.
High quality at a great price.

Room Tip: browse through the library near the reception
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I was impressed with the lobby as soon as I walked in. Very stylish with calligraphy paraphernalia to try. Coffe and tea in lounge area.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean.
There was a safe in our room. I had a problem with my safe (my fault) and the staff had it fixed within minutes.
There was construction across the road and being on a busy intersection there was some noise.
The buffet breakfast was delightful. There was a large range of cuisine and so nicely presented.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Hotel is located in quite close to city centre.

Lobby looked very stylish with Chinese calligraphy and ink wash painting, also a tea house for customer. Room was very clean and tastefully decorated, it however was not very practical because there was very limited storage space for you to hang your clothes, if you are travelling with lots of luggage, you will be forced to lay it out and scatter your stuff everywhere. Bathroom was also very small given its room size. A point to note that there was no in room safe to store your belonging either.

Bed however, was very comfortable and one of the better bed for local hotels, got double galzed glass but unfortunately noise was still slipping through since there were some construction work nearby.

Cleanliness was very good, everything was spotless in the hotel.

Got the room at around RMB 300 range, for the price this hotel is a very competitive choice for its nice decoration, comfortable bed and efficient staff

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Very clean hotel the beds where very comfortable. Took a long time for emails to be sent out internet very slow. Very nice neighbor. The employees where very friendly and pleasant. Has a great buffet breakfast that you will not feel hungry when you leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zerocdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Culture Plaza Hotel Zhejiang
#273 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
135 reviews
Landison Plaza Hotel
#24 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#9 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou Scholars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou Scholars Hotel

Address: No.246 Moganshan Road, Hangzhou 310005, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 2,422 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: £36 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hangzhou Scholars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hangzhou Scholars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing