We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Price is Right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manxiang Theme Hotel
Ranked #146 of 2,486 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 24 March 2013

For the low cost by Western standards, this hotel offers a clean, comfortable room in Hangzhou. As others have mentioned, it is a 15-minute walk from West Lake. If you're adventurous, there are plenty of local restaurants and convenience stores nearby. Check-in and out was easy but we had to leave a deposit of 2x our room rate for a 1-night stay. It was refunded upon check-out, but beware.
The room was average size, nicely appointed and clean, though showed some wear. There is a safe, iron, mini-bar and typical toiletries in the room. Our non-smoking room smelled of cigarettes and there was a (clean) ashtray and matches in the room, so I suspect that the smoking/non-smoking designation may change with each guest. You can open the window. Water pressure was good and the Internet worked fine. You can hear other guests easily. The tv had very few English channels. The is no fitness center at the hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RickyBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is a standard business hotel with Western style interior. The furnishing was in a good condition and the cleaning was actually much than the average for Chinese hotels (which can be quite appalling). We were a little surprised at first by the size of the room deposit, as we were only staying there for two nights, but it was returned in full on check out. The hotel is close to the train station, main walking street and the West Lake, and so worth definitely worth considering if staying in Hangzhou for a few days for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is in a great location which is just about 15 min walking to the city center. And about 20-30min walking (if I had got the right direction) to hte most properous street - Qinghefang. Because I was a buget visitor so I thought walking in a distance to the street was fine.

The view from the room was so so because the room I got was a street-view room. While the facilities and the service there were good. Clean enogh and convinient to get essential accommodate things easily. The price was reasonable during my accommodating time (2012 Jan). The breakfast was not very well in a less choice, anyway could be eaten but not delicious.

Room Tip: Good-viewed room needed to be asked to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin1982-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stood there just for one night, good place, friendly staff and elegant room. We were lucky to stay in a corner room, so with all curtains opened we could see the town at our feet, great sensation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Very spacious and comfortable room, good location in the center, but not 'closed' to the lake. Friendly staff with poor English skills. Tasty food in the restaurant, but interior and waiters are so messy (extremely dirty clothes, nails...), that you don't want to think how the kitchen looks like. However no food poisoned even if eating there two lunches (only reason - business meeting in the hotel).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We knew this hotel wasn't near the lake, but thought there's be more eating options "in town" than by the lake - turns out that probably wasn't a good assumption! In my mind I'd imagined that there'd just be a handful of overpriced tourist trap restaurants near the lake, which was also not a correct. In hindsight, I'd probably stay near the lake if the price of the hotel wasn't too expensive.

Check in started ominously, as we'd specifically chosen this hotel as it claimed to have a gym and we're both keen gym-goers. Upon checking in, we learned that their gym is closed for renovation which was a big blow for us. Thankfully the hotel across the road has its own gym nearby which allows casual users for a fee, so we had that requirement met in the end. The room was nice and spacious, the bathroom also good. Bed comfortable and shower pressure good. I don't know what it is about the air conditioning in hotels in China, but the systems seem to just push the air from room to room while heating/cooling it and you could definitely smell cigarette smoke coming in through the a/c vents which I really disliked. Not much you can do about it though, it was very cold so we had to have the a/c on. That aside, the breakfast was pretty good, and the manager that was on duty most of the time we were there is very friendly and helpful and speaks very good english. Once or twice in the evenings we wanted to eat in the hotel restaurant, but no staff spoke english and the restaurant menu was all in chinese so it wasn't easy, until I remembered that there is a room service menu in our room which is in chinese with english translations so we'd take that into the restaurant with us and order from that, worked a treat (we didn't want to eat in our room).

In terms of other restaurants nearby, pickings are slim in terms of those that offer menus with pictures, or an english translation. Very slim. Best bet is to walk (20 minutes at the most) to the lake and you'll find something on the way, and there is certainly quite a lot of choice once you get there.

One thing I would add, the carpet in our room was FILTHY! Not just stains (that I can kind of overlook to a degree), but there was a lot of loose human hair, and other small bits all over the carpet. It was like it hadn't been vacuumed in months. I'm not a fusspot, believe me, but I was a bit shocked at how dirty it was. A real shame as the room was otherwise really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Not great for Westerners as few people spoke English at times (depends who was on the shift). The room was quite large and very comfortable. The location is not near the lake and finding decent food that is recognizable was not easy. The staff are very nice and try their best to help, but if the English speaking crew is not on shift, you are on your own.

Our price included breakfast buffet which was limited (but good) for Westerners and extensive for Asian groups (after all, this hotel is in China and it does not cater to English speaking clients). The sights of this city are memorable and although different than Suzhou, we preferred Hangzhou.

Room Tip: Higher floors are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
0 mi away
Zhejiang Business Hotel
Zhejiang Business Hotel
#157 of 2,486 in Hangzhou
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zhejiang International Hotel
Zhejiang International Hotel
#43 of 2,486 in Hangzhou
128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cosy Park Hotel
Cosy Park Hotel
#21 of 2,486 in Hangzhou
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
1.4 mi away
Hangzhou Hotel
Hangzhou Hotel
#76 of 2,486 in Hangzhou
121 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou
Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou
#50 of 2,486 in Hangzhou
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manxiang Theme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manxiang Theme Hotel

Address: No.131 Jiefang Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310009, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 2,486 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: £53 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manxiang Theme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manxiang Theme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing