We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short business trip to Hangzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel
Ranked #72 of 2,422 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was the first time i traveled to Hangzhou. No clue about the city or the whereabouts, i was pleasantly surprised. What a nice interesting place. I was recommended West lake golden plaza by the colleague i was to meet and do business with. Its central (of course depends on where your area work lies) and that a plus plus. Nice clean hotel and very Chinese in nature (which is not a bad thing in any way). Just language issues may crop up at instances, but they make all the effort to make to feel comfortable. The rooms are a little dated but in no way uncomfortable. Breakfast has a decent fare to offer , but more inclined on the Asian side than international. If you not averse to Chinese food (i am not) try the veggie offerings on the menu, some awesome surprises are in store, very very nice mushroom, broccoli , spinach, asparagus .....dishes, KFC, Mac D are in the neighborhood just in case breakfast does nothing for you.
stay was good, staff good, comfort that a business traveler needs is surely there. Another point may not be important for a business traveler , the West Lake is near by, pleas do go there once walk along the lake, try restaurants there , some have live band too. Over all a nice experience. Nothing to write home about, but no discomfort or issues as such.

Room Tip: rooms are all ok , dont expect a view, try and get the front rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looknfeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

For the low cost by Western standards, this hotel offers a clean, comfortable room in Hangzhou. As others have mentioned, it is a 15-minute walk from West Lake. If you're adventurous, there are plenty of local restaurants and convenience stores nearby. Check-in and out was easy but we had to leave a deposit of 2x our room rate for a 1-night stay. It was refunded upon check-out, but beware.
The room was average size, nicely appointed and clean, though showed some wear. There is a safe, iron, mini-bar and typical toiletries in the room. Our non-smoking room smelled of cigarettes and there was a (clean) ashtray and matches in the room, so I suspect that the smoking/non-smoking designation may change with each guest. You can open the window. Water pressure was good and the Internet worked fine. You can hear other guests easily. The tv had very few English channels. The is no fitness center at the hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RickyBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is a standard business hotel with Western style interior. The furnishing was in a good condition and the cleaning was actually much than the average for Chinese hotels (which can be quite appalling). We were a little surprised at first by the size of the room deposit, as we were only staying there for two nights, but it was returned in full on check out. The hotel is close to the train station, main walking street and the West Lake, and so worth definitely worth considering if staying in Hangzhou for a few days for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is in a great location which is just about 15 min walking to the city center. And about 20-30min walking (if I had got the right direction) to hte most properous street - Qinghefang. Because I was a buget visitor so I thought walking in a distance to the street was fine.

The view from the room was so so because the room I got was a street-view room. While the facilities and the service there were good. Clean enogh and convinient to get essential accommodate things easily. The price was reasonable during my accommodating time (2012 Jan). The breakfast was not very well in a less choice, anyway could be eaten but not delicious.

Room Tip: Good-viewed room needed to be asked to the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin1982-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stood there just for one night, good place, friendly staff and elegant room. We were lucky to stay in a corner room, so with all curtains opened we could see the town at our feet, great sensation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Very spacious and comfortable room, good location in the center, but not 'closed' to the lake. Friendly staff with poor English skills. Tasty food in the restaurant, but interior and waiters are so messy (extremely dirty clothes, nails...), that you don't want to think how the kitchen looks like. However no food poisoned even if eating there two lunches (only reason - business meeting in the hotel).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We knew this hotel wasn't near the lake, but thought there's be more eating options "in town" than by the lake - turns out that probably wasn't a good assumption! In my mind I'd imagined that there'd just be a handful of overpriced tourist trap restaurants near the lake, which was also not a correct. In hindsight, I'd probably stay near the lake if the price of the hotel wasn't too expensive.

Check in started ominously, as we'd specifically chosen this hotel as it claimed to have a gym and we're both keen gym-goers. Upon checking in, we learned that their gym is closed for renovation which was a big blow for us. Thankfully the hotel across the road has its own gym nearby which allows casual users for a fee, so we had that requirement met in the end. The room was nice and spacious, the bathroom also good. Bed comfortable and shower pressure good. I don't know what it is about the air conditioning in hotels in China, but the systems seem to just push the air from room to room while heating/cooling it and you could definitely smell cigarette smoke coming in through the a/c vents which I really disliked. Not much you can do about it though, it was very cold so we had to have the a/c on. That aside, the breakfast was pretty good, and the manager that was on duty most of the time we were there is very friendly and helpful and speaks very good english. Once or twice in the evenings we wanted to eat in the hotel restaurant, but no staff spoke english and the restaurant menu was all in chinese so it wasn't easy, until I remembered that there is a room service menu in our room which is in chinese with english translations so we'd take that into the restaurant with us and order from that, worked a treat (we didn't want to eat in our room).

In terms of other restaurants nearby, pickings are slim in terms of those that offer menus with pictures, or an english translation. Very slim. Best bet is to walk (20 minutes at the most) to the lake and you'll find something on the way, and there is certainly quite a lot of choice once you get there.

One thing I would add, the carpet in our room was FILTHY! Not just stains (that I can kind of overlook to a degree), but there was a lot of loose human hair, and other small bits all over the carpet. It was like it hadn't been vacuumed in months. I'm not a fusspot, believe me, but I was a bit shocked at how dirty it was. A real shame as the room was otherwise really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Lake View Hotel Hangzhou
#54 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
17 reviews
Huachen International Hotel
#37 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
317 reviews
Cosy Park Hotel
#16 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
#42 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
330 reviews
Landison Plaza Hotel
#24 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
225 reviews
Xihu District
Tea Boutique Hotel
Tea Boutique Hotel
#33 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel

Address: No.131 Jiefang Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310009, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 2,422 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: £39 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing