We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected museum”

Former Hokkaido Government Office Building
Ranked #13 of 334 things to do in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“Unexpected museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Initially we thought we were only going to stroll round what is a massive red brick building with a lot of impressive architecture dating from 1888 for a photo opportunity. In fact you can go in for free, to see a fairly basic exhibition relating to the relationship between the regions of Hokkaido and Sakhalin - much of it more interesting than it sounds. There are pamphlets in English for an explanation as to what is in each of the rooms.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    754
    292
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dark and dingy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Went at the end of a walking tour of Otaru and Sapporo. The grounds are nice (cherry blossoms were out) but the inside of the building/museum is dark and dingy with few interesting artefacts. A new museum is due to be opened next year I believe, which will hopefully provide a better platform for displaying the interesting history of Sapporo and the Ainu people.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank benchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The building is beautiful!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I went there for once when i traveled to Hokkaido on Feb. There are snowing everywhere and super cold, i remembered that was -6 Degree Celsius. But i still can see the beautiful architecture of Former Hokkaido Government Officer Building. It's worth to go and took some pictures there. There is an exhibition inside the building introducing Hokkaido.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Nice red building surrounded by snow.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Scenery is beautiful in winter with snow covered ground. Otherwise just a red European style building with well manicured garden and lake.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrClementLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“also known as Akarenga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

"The red bricks" reveals an interesting colonialist history in Hokkaido. Museum is not large, but well-done. The building itself is really worth seeing. This type of architecture is rare in Japan.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MtlFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Former Hokkaido Government Office Building also viewed

 

Been to Former Hokkaido Government Office Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing