We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Sapporo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
Ranked #5 of 165 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in Sapporo”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights last Dec. Amazing staff and service (especially the girls at the bottom floor information stand, very nice and helpful), free hot chocolate at the lobby, and very modern room. The rooms might be a bit small but that's pretty much Japanese standard, and we paid $80usd a night so I can't really complain. The location is also great as there are tons of shops and restaurants nearby. It's 10 min walk to Odori Park which is amazing in near Christmas time with all the decorations and stuff. Overall just a very enjoyable stay at a price you can't beat. I'd come back again next time if I don't need to stay near Sapporo JR.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugolizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    541
    63
    26
    13
See reviews for
333
330
140
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very nice hotel with bigger than average sized rooms (by Japanese standards). Staff had great English and were brilliant when it came to giving directions or answering local queries. The reception is on the 3rd floor, which was a first for me, but this wont affect your stay at all. I didn't try the food or bar in the hotel so can't comment on it. The internet access was free and very good.
The location is perfect if you want to be in the heart of the city and enjoy shopping and nightlife. Its very close to Ramen Alley in Susukino, which is a collection of 17 traditional noodle bars where the food is really fantastic (and cheap) - I highly recommend having at least 1 meal there. Overall this is a great hotel with very reasonable prices (I paid about 80 euro per night for a 4 night stay).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpobyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Wide Traveller
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is quite new, and located at the entrance of the Susukinoen tertainement area, also very close to the shops and departement stores of the city.
You can enjoy a nice walk to the JR station in just 20 minutes.
The rooms are well decorated as is the rest of the hotel and the restaurant, the staff efficient, (you are nicely welcomed at the entrance as you need to check in on the third floor) and the food was quite good.
If I have to find an improvement suggestion , it would just be to change "design" of the fork and knive as you can not get a frim grip on them due to their shape....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benchmarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This place was a surprise.We weren't expecting such a modern funky hotel right in the city. Subtle entrance with reception some floors up as is common in Japan. Rooms were spacious by Japanese standards and beautifully presented. Wonderful funky bathroom and electronic toilet with auto seats and flush. Staff very friendly and helpful although some had a little trouble with english. Bar and restaurant sensational as was breakfast. Only criticism was that the beds were a tad hard,but that is a Japanese preference.

Room Tip: Get a street side room to watch the giant animated crab above the nearby restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob & Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel looks and feels absolutely stunning. it was one of the best hotels we stayed in whilst in Japan. Staff is friendly and free internet usage in lobby on their computers. It was beautifully decorated and was an excellent start of our holidays.

It is very close to Suskino Station and Ramen Alley (Old and new one) are in walking distance. plenty of restaurants around the corner. excellent location.

Highly recommend this hotel and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at The Mercure for 5 nights in a double bedroom. Everything was fine except for the air con, tried to turn it on as it got a little stuffy at night but was told by reception that it doesn't work at this time of year!! We were advised to open the window but this brought on my hay fever and had to get some eye drops and antihistamines from the chemist. As our phones didn't work in Japan, we relied heavily on our iphones to keep in touch. I asked the front desk for wifi in the room and was given a router to plug in the bedrooom free of charge for the entire stay which was good.
I booked this hotel knowing the staff speak good English (from previous reviews) and if you're still not sure then there is a French guy that welcomes you at the entrance with perfect English and French.
The hotel is very well located. A few steps from the subway. It is only 2 stops away from the main Sapporo train station and costs 200 yen. The famous Ramen Alley is just a 2 minute walk behind the hotel and there are plenty of convenient stores where you can stock up on drinks and snacks.
We found a very good sushi restaurant inside the food court of the Stella Place store, situated on the 8th floor at the end of the restaurants. Just pick from the conveyor belt and ask for an English menu so you can order other things as well. Good atmosphere and very well priced, around £20 for 14 plates(including expensive seafood plates).
The supermarkets in the basements of the department stores are brilliant, especially the Daimaru, well worth a visit. Try a fresh melon smoothy, opposite the fresh fruit section. Very refreshing.............

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We just got back from our road trip to hokkkaido. We stayed at the Mercure Sapporo for 3 nights during our last pit stop. The hotel is relatively new, a short walk away from from the JR station. Location is fabulous as the hotel is smack in the middle of a very happening street with lots of food outlets, restaurants and shopping.
We booked the 2 standard twin rooms, and they have thoughtfully provided us with interconnecting rooms. Room decor is modern. Twin beds are a sizable super single. My friend booked a family room which comes with 2 super single beds and 2 smaller single beds. Perfect for her, as she was travelling with 3 small children below age 6.
Staff there are helpful, and most of them could speak English well. So no problems in terms of communication.
Parking space was limited though if you are driving. thats probably our only grouse

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegemsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Ibis Styles Sapporo
#3 of 165 in Sapporo
380 reviews
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#7 of 165 in Sapporo
1,197 reviews
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#14 of 165 in Sapporo
1,498 reviews
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
#10 of 165 in Sapporo
954 reviews
Sapporo Park Hotel
#8 of 165 in Sapporo
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Sapporo

Property: Mercure Hotel Sapporo
Address: 2-2-4 Minami 4 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 064-0804, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 165 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Sapporo 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Rakuten, ACCOR, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing