We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Premier Hotel -TSUBAKI- Sapporo
Ranked #29 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The hotel left up to our every single expectation. The location was very good for quiet stay. The rooms were basic, but well kept and clean. There is free wi-fi in the lobby and in rooms.

The hotel has a free shuttle bus/guided tour around the city which is also conducted in English. Booking for it are recommended, but given that most visitors to Sapporo are Chinese and Koreans, it was not an issues to get an English-speaking guide.

In the evening, I tried the traditional onsen-Japanese sauna at the hotel. The staff explained the rules about its usage very in detail and very professionally.

Very nice hotel for a short stay

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariyaUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    220
    78
    12
    10
See reviews for
141
111
42
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I tend to use hotels from the Marriorr chain whenever possible. This one is on par with other Renaissance properties. Although the exterior may look boring, the interior is very classy.

I arrived late at night and didn't know where the shuttle stop was (north exit by the way), so I got a taxi to the hotel. It was snowing hard but no problem getting to hotel. 1250 yen total. Note: bring the name or address of hotel written in Japanese since taxi drivers in Sapporo don't really understand English. I recommend goggling for 'Renaissance Sapporo" and printing the main page of the hotel (not the one from marriott.com!)

There is a convenience store four blocks away (about 7 min walk) and a post office with an ATM machine that accepts international credit card. Note not all ATM machines in Japan accept international credit cards, especially those located on convenience stores. Ask for a map at reception.

Shuttle is alright. There is no space for luggage, so passengers just bring them on board, occupying the space that could be used by other passengers. It takes about 36 minutes from hotel to JR station despite being a short distance. It does stop at several places on the way, what increases the travel time. So, make sure you factor that in you planning.

There are two executive floors and an executive lounge. No wifi at the lounge or rooms, just wired connection (free by the way).

Breakfast was included and excellent at the Californian Restaurant. There is also a chinese restaurant (which also serves Dim Sun), but I didn't try it. I preferred to buy pre-packaged food and beverage at the local convenience store. Much, much cheaper than dining at the hotel.

Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank grumia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Comfortable hotel just across the river from Sususkino. The hotel shuttle bus runs infrequently so it's important to factor in either the bus (from outside the hotel), taxis or the subway (about a 5 minute walk) into travel plans. Staff tried to help, but our Japanese and some staff's English was limited. Great toboggan hill down to the riverbank nearby!

Like most hotels, paid access to indoor swimming pool.

Comfortable stay for our family - would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sariban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I attended an international technical conference that was held in the Sapporo Renaissance Hotel this past week. I had heard good things about the hotel from this site prior to arriving there - but I was blown-away by the rooms and service of the hotel. The rooms were quite spacious - even by American standards - luxurious full size bath, large bed, nice sitting area with a desk. And the staff worked very hard to satisfy your every need - even if their english was limited. I had a great time!

Yes - it was a walk to the downtown area and restaurants - but only about 15 mins worth. And the walk felt quite safe.

One note of caution - costs of food and liquor in the hotel are very high (as compared to what you can find downtown). A single beer can easily set you back $16 (US) or so. We found a "500" yen bar downtown. All drinks there were roughly $5.50 US. - Well worth the walk.

Also while they had a health club and pool - that too was expensive to use (on order of > $20 US for a single usage - even for just the pool).

I would definitely stay there again if I were visiting Sapporo.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel_WhenICan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The hotel is a little bit outside the main Sapporo, but the rooms are really large (specially when compared with other Japanese hotels in the area), and with both shower and bathtub in the same toilet! (as big as some other rooms in the area!)

Service does not know very good English (specially painful at the reception desk), but things get done.

The breakfast buffet is not great, but sufficient, and in any case the quality/price ration is quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juandesant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We chose to stay here as we had a heap of Marriott Rewards points which meant we could claim for four nights' stay free of charge.

Positives

- Rooms are larger than many Japanese hotels we stayed in during our fortnight's holiday. The room had a work-desk and free (wired) internet which proved useful for us to check train times etc.

- Bathroom was spacious and had a separate shower cubicle and the typical hi-tech toilet.

- The free shuttle bus into town was frequent (roughly every 30mins) and we were always able to get a seat with no problems. Although it does call at another hotel en route into town it makes intermediate stops at the 'night life' zone (Susukino) before stopping at the JR station. If you email the hotel before you arrive they'll send you the timetable and pick-up location from the JR Sapporo station which will save you about ¥1700 if you're arriving by train.

- Breakfast was provided in a large and bright restaurant called the Californian and was self-service. There was a wide selection of specicially Japanese-style items (eg rice, miso, fish, pickles), but also other items including fresh fruit, yogurt and eggs. Our rate didn't include breakfast and was ¥1800 each, which seemed pretty typical and not unreasonable for the amount of choice etc.

- All staff that we interacted with had enough English competence to get by with everything we needed. However should you have any tricky or non-standard requests of the staff, then I reckon some of them may well find it difficult to assist you.

Negatives

- Fitness Centre was chargeable. The fee sheet was entirely in Japanese so couldn't work out the different prices, but the lowest price was ¥1000. I think paying for fitness centres / pools is common in Japan though, at least one other hotel we stayed in during the two weeks had an additional fee for use of the pool. I put it this in the 'negatives' because I am not used to paying extra for these services. Other Marriott hotels in Europe and USA offer the fitness/pool facilities on an inclusive basis. Having said that the river that runs immediately adjacent to the hotel offers an attractive jogging location.

- Other reviewers have mentioned the distance from 'downtown' Sapporo and Susukino. We stayed during Summer and so didn't really resent the 15-20 minute walk to the Susukino district for dinner each night. However during the winter when temperatures are sub-zero you may find the walk rather unattractive particularly if the shuttle bus is full.

Summary - a perfectly good hotel which meets Marriott's general standards. The outdoor appearance of the hotel is rather dirty and drab. However once inside the hotel is spotlessly clean and sparkly. I can only guess that the harsh winter weather in Hokkaido takes its toll on the buildings there. My evaluation should be read in the context that we did not pay for the stay with cash, rather we used Marriott Reward points.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I always stayed at this hotel for my business trip. Renaissance service was excellent, compared to the recent open french hotel. Their positive attitude and hospitality service could be the best in Sapporo. Many staff tried to understand English and meet my expectations. The room size was average, but better size than others in Sapporo. They had an Olympic size pool and jacuzzi. The Italian restaurant, CALIFORNIAN, served good breakfast and lunch. The location is beside the river. You can take a walk and enjoy jogging along the river. Internet is free of charge in room. Lovely Marriott hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100BAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Sapporo Park Hotel
#3 of 163 in Sapporo
455 reviews
Nakajima Koen Station
Premier Hotel Nakajima Park Sapporo
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 163 in Sapporo
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Sapporo
#2 of 163 in Sapporo
334 reviews
Sapporo Station
Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#6 of 163 in Sapporo
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel -TSUBAKI- Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel -TSUBAKI- Sapporo

Property: Premier Hotel -TSUBAKI- Sapporo
Address: 1-1 Toyohira 4-Jo 1-Chome, Toyohira-ku, Sapporo 062-0904, Hokkaido (Formerly Renaissance Sapporo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Hosui Susukino Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sapporo
#26 Business Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Premier Hotel -TSUBAKI- Sapporo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and relaxing, each room features specially spacious, commissioned antique furniture and exceedingly comfortable beds. Premier Hotel -TSUBAKI- Sapporo is the only hotel putting outstanding Japanese, Chinese, and European restaurant. Restaurant promise a culinary experience as original and memorable as its setting. Atrractive paiting on the ceiling at the Lobby will be discovered the Land of Japan, we welcome with meticulous "omotenashi"-Japanese hospitarity and tribute quietly luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Rakuten, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel -TSUBAKI- Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sapporo
Sapporo Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing