We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money, but out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Emisia Sapporo
Ranked #53 of 170 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Sheraton Sapporo. Overall, this is a nice hotel with all what one would expect from the Sheraton brand. I believe this hotel is very good value for money, because for a 5-star hotel it is much cheaper than other hotels in the city centre. And although it is not near the city centre, it is less than 500m away from the Shin Sapporo train station, from which a train would take you directly in 8 minutes to the Sapporo station (downtown); trains are frequent throughout the day / evening. The downside however is that dining venues at that hotel are relatively poor, and their bar on the top floor is ridiculously expensive (that bar even have a cover charge, I guess for the "privilege" of spending time in a desolate, empty place!). But besides the F&B issues at that hotel, it is nevertheless a great place to stay and value for money for basing yourself when visiting Sapporo and for taking the sights and sounds of that city.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Patrick0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirai, Director of Rooms at Hotel Emisia Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel and thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We take your feedback seriously, and will try our best to improve our service qualities including F&B venues.

Again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Toshiko Hirai
Director of Rooms
Sheraton Sapporo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

I recently stayed at the Sheraton. I was there for 15 nights and was upgraded from a single bed to king size bed room, despite not being a member of their rewards program. This was much appreciated considering the length of my stay. As others have mentioned, the rooms are a little dated but they clean and comfortable, so really, it wasn't an issue. The view from the hotel was amazing.

I found the staff to be fantastic. The warmly greeted me every day and were very helpful with all of my requests. I also enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet. The location is great and despite the heavy dumping of snow, easily found my way back and forth from the station.

However, my happy stay took a turn for the worse when one day I saw something that left me speechless. A few days before my departure, I was using one of the two computers in the business centre. The other was occupied by a middle aged man close by, and with the screen within easy viewing of my own. I turned around, hearing some voices near the elevator and saw the man on the other computer viewing simultaenously a number of videos/photos of what can only be described as extremely close up shots of the female anatomy being penetrated by different men - porn. Suffice to say, I was shocked!!

Clearly, the Sheraton in Shin Sapporo, does not use filters on the public computers. I recommend that they do, as my own experience has left me serious considering every staying at a Sheraton again.

Sharon

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirai, Director of Rooms at Hotel Emisia Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel and thank you for your feedback.
We took your comments seriously, and the program for filtering screen will be installed within few days. We do apologize for making you feel bad with this experience.
We do our best to improve this matter as soon as possible.

Please accept our sincere apology and we look for ward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Toshiko Hirai
Director of Rooms
Sheraton Sapporo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Staffs treat you very well, very helpful and polite. SPG members are well recognized. Self services laundry available at ground floor (500 yen). Breakfast not great. Some rooms are too small for non Japanese.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aziz-Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirai, Director of Rooms at Hotel Emisia Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel on you last trip to Sapporo. And thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.
As Sheraton Brand Hotel, we beleive that connection with guest is most important. So, we keep trying to provide best service with big smile.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel in the near future.
Wish you all the best for a new year.
Toshiko Hirai
Director of Rooms
Sheraton Sapporo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Arrived at the Sheraton after 10days skiing in Niseko, to a welcome smile and superior service.
We were well attended to and all our questions were answered promptly.
The in house cafe accommodated us for a late breakfast and the bakery had exceptional pasties!
Room had super comfy beds and a humidifier which helped with the a/c running all night.
Positioned out of the city which is nice but still only one stop from all the action that branches off from Sapporo JR station!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirai, Director of Rooms at Hotel Emisia Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel. We are very happy to hear your warm comments that make us motivate and inspired. We keep continue to provide best service with big smile. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Toshiko Hirai
Director of Rooms
Sheraton Sapporo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A friend and I stayed at this hotel from October 25-30, 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We arrived in the evening after spending a few days in Shibuya and were graciously welcomed by the front desk staff. We immediately went up to our room to drop off our bags and went down to have dinner at their japanese restaurant in the lobby. I ordered the set menu for dinner and my friend had the chirashi. We also ordered some sushi. The food was not only tasty but beautifully presented too. The dining room seemed understaffed as the service was not fast and efficient but we enjoyed our first night dinner. The room was larger than the hotel room we had in Shibuya. There was no internet in the room as we only had an IPad and had to go to the lobby to get wifi (for free) which was a bit inconvenient. Our room was on the 19th floor and on a corner with 2 windows overlooking the city. The room was very comfortable. The hotel is located very close to the train station and we went out each morning to go on tours. Very convenient as far as getting around from the train station or subway. The weather at times was a bit cold but comfortable and it was nice to see all the foliage turning yellow and orange. We had breakfast in the lobby restaurant one morning and enjoyed that meal as well. It was a buffet with many japanese items on the menu as well as spaghetti?, made to order omelets and miso soup and fish.
Overall, we enjoyed our time at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyhawaiian004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirai, Director of Rooms at Hotel Emisia Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your last trip to Sapporo.
Also, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback.

We will share your comments with concern departments and will try our best to provide best service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Toshiko Hirai
Director of Rooms
Sheraton Sapporo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a comfortable room on the 23rd floor - so had a good view. A buffet breakfast was included as my husband is SPG Platinum. The hotel is a very short walk to the Shin Sapporo station which is an easy ride to downtown Sapporo, or to the airport 30 minutes away - one tip - book a seat for the return journey as the airport train is full by the time it reaches Shin Sapporo. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirai, Director of Rooms at Hotel Emisia Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel.
We received your feedback that is making us motivate.
Thank you for your time to sharing your feedback with us and we do try our best to provide best service as Sheraton Brand.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel in the near future.

Thank you again and best regards,
Toshiko Hirai
Director of Rooms
Sheraton Sapporo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I attended a conference held at this hotel and stayed there for that reason. As Sheratons go, I would have to rank this one toward the bottom of the ones I've experienced. There is no gym or in-room wifi. While you can get wired Internet in-room that is small consolation for MacBook Air users who have no Ethernet port. Even though the breakfast was free, I ended up going to an outside cafe to get something decent. Terrible coffee. The room itself was OK, if a bit dated and worn.

On the plus side, it is located within easy walking distance to Shin Sapporo station. Unfortunately, there isn't really much else around so that's a pretty small plus.

Room Tip: Bring an Ethernet adaptor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalTravelNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirai, Front Office Manager at Hotel Emisia Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel on your last trip to Sapporo. We do apologize for your inconvenience.
We will try our best to improve our facility condition as well as service quality.
Thank you for your time to share your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Sapporo Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Toshiko Hirai
Senior Front Office Manager
Sheraton Sapporo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Sapporo Station
Hotel Gracery Sapporo
Hotel Gracery Sapporo
#30 of 170 in Sapporo
653 reviews
Sapporo Station
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
#20 of 170 in Sapporo
838 reviews
Sapporo Station
Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 170 in Sapporo
1,189 reviews
Sapporo Excel Hotel Tokyu
#35 of 170 in Sapporo
580 reviews
Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo
#41 of 170 in Sapporo
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emisia Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emisia Sapporo

Address: 5-5-25 Atsubetsu Chuo 2 Jo, Atsubetsu-ku, Sapporo 004-0052, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sapporo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range: £41 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Emisia Sapporo 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emisia Sapporo, the place where smiles and happiness overflow! Experience the beauty of Hokkaido in any season and experience the type of sophisticated Japanese-style hospitality which only our hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Emisia Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sapporo
Sapporo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing