We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfortable beds and excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel has by far the most comfortable beds of any on our stay in Japan.

We were lucky to get a room (one night only, transferring from the also fine Century Royal Hotel next door) as a last minute booking on Golden Week and were pleased to learn that the hotel offered an onsen (communal hot baths) on the 22nd floor. More of that in a moment.

Our 24th floor room was spacious, clean, with all the amenities one expects from a first class Japanese hotel, including free WiFi. Also, great views over Sapporo, almost a good as those from the (paid for) T38 observatory in the same building. There's a huge range of shops and restaurants on the lower floors too, including what is reputedly the best sushi bar in Sapporo (the only one we tried in that city but certainly the best sushi we've ever had, anywhere!) and a superb shabu shabu restaurant, 1, 2, 3, where we enjoyed a veritable banquet for less than the cost of an averagely mediocre meal in London.

Our only quibble is over the eagerly anticipated onsen, where the ambiguously worded info sheet in the room suggests that it is free to hotel guests on their first visit. Assuming the meaning may have been contorted in translation, we checked with the front desk beforehand and they confirmed our interpretation.

However, the management of the (independently run?) onsen disputed this and requested a charge for us both. Following a lengthy and confusing discussion (we speak little or no Japanese and they little or no English), the manager eventually had the good grace to accept that the mistake (in the wording) was entirely theirs and literally tore up our bill in front of us.

This may have the effect of prompting the hotel to amend the info sheet in future (I'm guessing they don't have a lot of Anglophone westerners attending the onsen) but if so, I would say it is still well worth the money, as the onsen (separate spas for men and women) is equipped with several hot mineral baths of various sizes and depths, a steam room and sauna, as well as showers for washing oneself before entering the bath (very important!), plus seating to take in the view from the 22nd floor.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors, with corner windows, afford excellent views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cavalli-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel directly over the JR Sapporo station and the subway. There are so many restaurants and shops within a one block radius that you could stay here for a year and never repeat one. You can easily get to anywhere in the city using public transportation from the station or you can walk via underground passages containing more shops and restaurants. The point is, this is where you want to be!

The rooms are on the 23rd-34th floors, so there are spectacular views from all of the rooms. I booked a corner twin for four nights. It wasn't huge, but it was well designed and comfortable for two people. The bathroom was nice with all of the amenities you expect from a high end Japanese hotel. Best of all, the air conditioning actually worked. Even if a Japanese hotel says it has A/C, that doesn't mean it is turned on unless it is very hot outside. Since the windows don't open here, A/C is essential in my opinion, so I'm glad the hotel agrees. The free wireless internet worked fine. The room showed some wear, but it was very clean. I never smelled smoke anywhere in the hotel.

The breakfast buffet in the restaurant on the top floor is top notch with a wide variety of Asian and Western selections. Some items changed every day so it didn't get tedious like other buffets did during our 5-week trip through Japan. The staff in the restaurant was always very friendly and helpful.

Enough English is spoken by the staff at the front desk and in the lobby to answer most questions. There was always someone available who was fluent in English. Everyone was extremely eager to help. I lost a camera and Yuki at the front desk called around to every taxi company and JR station she could think of to try to find it. She went way beyond the call of duty and was always very nice.

I would definitely stay here again. We stayed four nights and didn't want to leave. Loved every minute of the hotel and the city of Sapporo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

It is an awesome hotel. Includes an amazing breakfast. Next to the JR train station. Takes 38 min to CTS airport. Used train and subway to travel around.
The hotel is walking distance to main city attractions and to Hokkaido University.
The room is perfect for my work. Good WiFi connection.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Linacsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel was a good place for a stopover in Sapporo for a couple of nights before heading to Niseko. It took under 30 minutes from the New Chitose airport to the hotel (door-to-door) and literally 5 minutes walk from the train station to the hotel lobby. The Hokkaido Resort Liner bus stopped right at the front of the hotel. The bus driver would come to the lobby to collect passengers and the concierge would take care of luggage and skis. Very convenient!

The room was very clean and comfortable and had all the modern facilities - wifi, flat screen TV, in room safe, dehumidifier etc. The bathroom was a bit small but functional including a warm toilet seat.

Planning to stopover next year for the ice sculpture festival. Not a lot to see or do in Sapporo in winter time so one full day will be more than sufficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy. We just took the JR line and it was a 3 minute walk from the station once we reached Sapporo. We arrive Sapporo in the morning, so it was too early for check in, so we left our luggage at the hotel and went shopping. Being mid January, the weather was freezing, but no problem as all the shops were within walking distance and connected to the hotel. We practically did not even have to go outside. Rooms were a bit small, but then, this is Japan and all the rooms are small. We took the corner room and had a very good view of the city from our room. Also plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Corner rooms for a nice city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BurmaTraveler1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Got the non peak rate of about 200 USD. Room faces north Sapporo. 25th floor. They even have a map of the scenery. I have been to NIKKO San Francisco. Looks like this brand is consistent and classy. For this price, very good value. Paid 180 USD for Sapporo Grand a few nights ago. Delighted to pay 20 bucks more but could not get rooms. Stayed at 3 properties in Sapporo this trip. This is the best.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AlvinCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stay here for company vacation. Good location, near the shopping mall. Rooms is reasonable size, nice staff (can speak English). Breakfast is average, (compare with few years ago, they are excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#14 of 171 in Sapporo
1,559 reviews
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#8 of 171 in Sapporo
1,237 reviews
Ibis Styles Sapporo
#2 of 171 in Sapporo
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
#10 of 171 in Sapporo
995 reviews
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#6 of 171 in Sapporo
1,208 reviews
Century Royal Hotel
#11 of 171 in Sapporo
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo

Address: 2-5 Kita 5 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0005, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Jouzankei Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sapporo
#1 Business Hotel in Sapporo
#1 Spa Hotel in Sapporo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sapporo
#3 Family Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range: £110 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jr Hotel Nikko Sapporo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing