We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/21
Booking.com
US$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/10/21
Hotels.com
US$208
View deal
PricelineUS$220
CheapTicketsUS$208
eDreamsUS$214
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,824)
Filter reviews
1,824 results
Traveller rating
1,028
644
112
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,028
644
112
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jr tower train station chitose airport excellent location convenient location buffet breakfast perfect hotel daimaru department store cold weather other hotels western food the heart of the city spa shopping floor concierge hokkaido
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,824 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2019

This was the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel. We were impressed by the excellent services during our 1st stay in 2017 and it was naturally our 1st choice for our re-visit to Sapporo despite the relatively high rates. Location was good. Rooms were clean. Supplies were abundant. Onsen was nice and clean. Buffet breakfasts were fairly good. We stayed at this hotel on a few nights in late June and then on 2 July (we stayed in an onsen ryokan in Toya in between). To our disappointment, when we requested the concierge to book a restaurant for us for a meal on 1 July, she refused on the basis that it was their hotel's policy NOT to provide (such & probably any kind of) services to us because we would not be staying at their hotel on 1 July. This gave us a bad impression about the hotel, making us re-consider whether we should stay at this hotel again during our next visit to Sapporo. I suggest the hotel should abolish this policy and the like, and should improve the flexibility in implementing their policies and restrictions.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank CherylL2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail805122, フロント オフィス マネージャー at JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2019

Thank you very much for staying at JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo. We are pleased that you are happy with the convenience of our hotel's location adjacent to the Sapporo station, the SKY RESORT SPA "PULAU BULAN" the amenities in your room, as well as the breakfast at our hotel. However, we are very sorry to hear that our concierge staff has caused you considerable discomfort. We humbly accept your feedback, which we will retain for future reference.
While we still have much room for improvement, we endeavor to continue improving our service standards based on the feedback of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2019

I stayed for 1 night in a moderate single room which included spa access. The hotel is located adjacent to JR Sapporo station making it ideally located to get into and out of Sapporo. I was able to check-in early after arriving at 12:30pm and offered a complimentary late check-out to 12pm the following day. Although the room is small, it is well maintained with a relatively spacious bathroom. I did not eat in the hotel (there are a multitude of options available in the station) but I did visit the Sky Spa (onsen) which was very relaxing and worth paying extra for. I think this would be an ideal location if you are short of time while visiting Hokkaido (which I was).

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail805122, フロント オフィス マネージャー at JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing time during your visit to the 22nd-floor sky resort spa Pulau Bulan, viewing the entirety of Sapporo city while soaking in a natural hot spring unearthed from 1,000 meters beneath the South Exit of JR Sapporo Station.
We would be delighted if you consider staying with us again during your next visit to Sapporo, and we look forward to the day when we can welcome you on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2019

One of the few perks of jet lag is that after passing out on arrival you can be first in line for the hotel breakfast buffet the next morning. And for our first few days at JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo that’s exactly what happened. But then, the tour buses came.

Location

My girlfriend and I are actually in disagreement about this; she would rather have stayed in Susukino (where the nightlife is) whereas I was quite happy to have four shopping centres and two electronics stores only steps away from our hotel’s front door.

One definite advantage is that you won’t have to transfer to a subway or taxi if taking the train in from the airport. And with the underground city you could walk to Susukino in about 20 minutes, or take the subway and get there even sooner. Either way you wouldn’t have to worry about the weather, since it’s all indoors.

Room

One thing we did agree on was the room: it was far too small. It wouldn’t be so bad had we not paid extra for an upgrade, to an Executive Double (#3432). Even for one person, this room would be a tight fit. For a couple? We barely had enough room to hang up our jackets in the comically-small closet.

It didn’t help that the bed was facing the large window, instead of the TV. To watch the latter we both had to crane our necks to the right, and because our room faced east our curtains were drawn pretty much all day to shield us from the bright sun outside. It’s probably also worth mentioning that the sun rises at about 4:30am here.

Although we wouldn’t call the bathroom large, it was certainly more befitting of a five-star hotel, and came stocked with a dizzying array of soaps, lotions and other amenities.

WiFi

A sample speed test of the in-room WiFi yielded average latency, slow download but decent upload speeds—altogether fine considering our high floor.

Breakfast

On a good day, of which there were a few, we indulged in a delicious and expansive buffet of eastern and western dishes, all while leisurely sipping coffee and marveling at the sprawling city laid out below. But on a bad day, of which there were several, the restaurant was almost completely overrun by a large group of seniors on tour from the UK.

While it was certainly amusing to watch their expressions while stumbling through the serving areas (“fish for breakfast…?”) they were so many in number that on several mornings we had to wait for an available table. And this at six-thirty in the morning!

Verdict

For its tactical location and five-star service we would still recommend this property, with a few notable caveats: If you’re travelling as a couple get the largest room category that you can afford, and try to get a room that’s not facing east. Also, aim to hit the breakfast buffet after the 6:30 am crunch, or even skip it altogether.

Room tip: Book as big a room as you can afford, and ask that it doesn't face east—the sun starts rising at 4:30am here!
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail805122, フロント オフィス マネージャー at JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2019

We thank you for your recent stay with us at the JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo. We were most honored to hear that during your stay you were pleased with our staff's conduct and our convenient location, with its direct connection to Sapporo Station. We would also like to express our gratitude for the valuable opinions you have provided regarding the size of our guest rooms. Regarding the several days of congestion you experienced over the course of your stay during breakfast at our Restaurant & Bar "SKY", we ask that you please accept our humble apologies.
We will continue to do our best to further improve our services in order to provide a pleasant stay for all of our guests. We eagerly look forward to serving you again upon your next visit to Hokkaido.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Nikko for two nights. Our room was on the 29th floor and had an nice view of the city.

The breakfast we got was excellent - the Japanese option was better than the buffet.

The location was excellent - good for public transport options. The only minus was the room was a bit Smokey even though it was a non smoking room. Also the internet was very patchy.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vegemitelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail805122, フロント オフィス マネージャー at JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Thank you very much for staying with JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo. We are glad that you were pleased with the view from the higher floors, breakfast and direct connection to Sapporo train station. However, we are sorry that the cigarette odor and internet connection in the room was not in line with your expectations. Through learning from our shortcomings, we strive to be a hotel loved by everyone. We sincerely look forward to your patronage and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2019 via mobile

Hotel is in JR Sapporo Station but not necessary easy to find the first time. As it takes quite a walk around to get to the entrance. Staff is friendly and often quit ok in englisch. Rooms are in my opinion for the price they charge quite small. Bathroom the same. However well equipped. The view is fantastic over the city and the surrounding mountains. I also loved the feature, that the room has a fresh outside air inlet. In this agreeable climate I prefer fresh air over airconditioning. For me it is always amazing how the japanese come up with small improvements to enhance creature comfort!!!
Sure will consider the hotel again for my future trips to Hokkaido

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Luxury6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail805122, フロント オフィス マネージャー at JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Thank you very much for staying at the JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo.

We are very happy for your praise of our staff, guest room facilities, and especially the ventilation system.
In addition, we will take in your valuable feedback regarding the guest rooms' and bathrooms' width as reference during renovations.
We and our staff will continue our efforts in making sure our customers get a pleasant stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews