We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo
Ranked #17 of 170 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It's a good hotel. Good services. The room are big and clean, it is suitable for family very much. There are many restaurants near by. We did have happy time in Sapporo. Great place to stay would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

It`s too far from trainstation.and the frontdesk service is not good enough.
It`s too far from trainstation.and the frontdesk service is not good enough.It`s too far from trainstation.and the frontdesk service is not good enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YICHIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a bedroom with 4 beds and it's very comfortable. The hot spring at the top is also very good. The breakfast is very good with a lot of variety and the restaurant is not crowed. The staff are very friendly. There are a number of convenience store around the hotel which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed 8 nights for my holiday at this hotel, generally very good over all facilities and service,clean room,convenient location all within walking distance to major public facilities /transport and leisure area.Very helpful staff with moderate english speaking knowhow.
Since i am a smoker, would be perfect if theres 24h smoking room facility perhaps at lobby level.

Room Tip: The fridge in my room not cold enough to make ice even i turned it to max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stately old fashioned class. This is the only hotel with a decent size bathroom, out of the 6 hotels (including Hilton Niseiko) I have stayed in during my recent visit to Hokkaido. Although a bit run down, there is still a lot to be satisfied with - a good view, pajamas and cups with the hotel motif, silver cutlery, air purifier, classy banquet rooms, etc. highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Monterey Edelhof for one night in July 2013.

For a hotel that opened in 2001, you'll be pleasantly surprised if you like the feel of grand dame hotels of a century ago. The art-deco inspired (but not actually) building has offices on the lower levels and hotel at the top. The lobby and entrance are a perfect reproduction of art-deco, complete with old school (looking) elevators, tons of marble and beautiful ceiling details. The staff is also friendly and helpful.

The room itself was a bit larger than the standard Japanese hotel and the bathroom was an actual full-sized bathroom with a full sized tub (not like most Japanese business hotel bathrooms that feel like plastic compartments inserted into the room).

There was a mini-fridge, decent city views (we faced west from the 16th floor), and comfortable beds. We requested extra pillows upon check-in and they arrived immediately (one side of the pillow was padded, the other side had cut up straws for firmness).

Unfortunately, we didn't have time to explore the onsite spa/onsen (which costs an extra $12 per person). But at just $100/night for the room, I'm not going to complain.

A few blocks to the northwest is Sapporo Station, and a few blocks south is Sapporo Tower and Odori Park. A few blocks further south brings you to Susukino, packed with shopping, dining, and night life attractions.

The one negative was that in the morning I could hear noises (banging, things shutting). I couldn't quite pinpoint the source, but our room was right at the elevator banks so it could have been people leaving their rooms or the cleaning staff setting up for the day. But overnight were couldn't hear a sound.

If you are traveling through Japan and are tired of the standard business hotels, this hotel will be a welcomed relief.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We had a beautiful quiet room with a proper bathroom (rather than the capsules) which was wonderful after our previous hotel nightmare in Aomori. The staff were helpful and friendly - all the things you would expect from this standard of hotel. But along with that the breakfast was the usual over priced half cold buffet we have come to expect from this kind of establishment. Don't bother there are plenty of options within a 5 min walk.

All in all would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soosie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Sapporo Station
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
#19 of 170 in Sapporo
839 reviews
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#9 of 170 in Sapporo
1,229 reviews
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#13 of 170 in Sapporo
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
#11 of 170 in Sapporo
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo

Address: 1-1 Kita2jonishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0002, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Sapporo Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 170 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range: £47 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is designed to evoke the luxury of late 19th Century Vienna, with the name Edelhof meaning "Manor House" in German. The hotel is built on the site of the former Hokkaido Regional Forestry Office, and to this day there are many reminders of the site's history such as the big leafy trees in the hotel grounds, helping to create the ambience of a traditional Manor House garden. We hope our guests will feel part of the story of classical Vienna during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing