We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old-school comfort, service, and convenience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old-school comfort, service, and convenience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Sapporo Aspen Hotel is a quick block from the north exit of the Sapporo train station, which has a direct line to Chitose Airport. It's also close to both the university and the downtown shopping area. The hotel has a kind of retro elegance and white-glove service that really makes a visitor feel at ease and at home. Nicely appointed and large, the rooms feature comfortable beds, sparkling cleanliness, and lots of nice little amenities, including a nice deep shower/tub combination with great water pressure and the ubiquitous (for Japan) computerized toilet. Staff members' English was not the best, but communication was adequate. The bar/dining room was excellent, with both Western and Japanese choices. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with lots of Western choices as well. All in all, a very solid and reasonable choice for the business traveler. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    254
    62
    6
    6
See reviews for
193
72
83
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

excellent location nearby the train station just a few minute walk across the road. I chose wrong period to go to Sapporo as it snowed too much. Even I have been study in Europe i have not seen such as much as snow in Sapporo in Lausanne. The heater in the hotel is excellent I can not feel any cold weather in my room despite it was freezing outside. The breakfast was excellent despite we have stayed 6 nights.We are three the sofa transferred to be extra bed for my daughter but is was very comfortable for her. Nearby the underground mall was so big and unlimited shops all around we have be shopping underground nights and days.

Room Tip: I did not request any special room but for what I have had is excellent. it is a great choice of hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acharobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for only one night after a ski trip to Niseko. As others have said, the price and location are great. Literally a block and a half walk from the JR Station and all its many, many restaurants and shops. Even hauling our luggage from the station to the airport wasn't a problem as the sidewalks were snow free. I'm not sure if this is absolutely true, but I read off a website that Sapporo heats the sidewalks near the station! The service and the breakfast buffet were also excellent. The only slight disappointment were the rooms. Not bad, but definitely felt misled from the pictures on hotels.com. The furnishings could use an update. Everything felt a little old. I would personally rate this hotel two and half stars rather than three.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yiching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

200 metre walk from the JR and 10 000 Yen a night, you couldn't ask for much more. We were on a non smoking floor however our room was quite smelly, if we were staying for more than one night then it possibly would have been an issue, nothing a bit of room freshener and leaving the window open didn't fix. Staff were friendly as are all Japanese. Would stay there again, but would make sure we request a non-smoking room

Room Tip: request non smoking if you are a non smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MazandSime1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We do happy staying here. thanks to Agoda to send our request to the hotel as we got the high floor. The room is neat and tidy. Non smoking room is the true non smoking room as we don't get any smoke smell. we actually stayed here the earlier nights before back to this hotel again before flying back. will definitely visit this hotel again. thanks for all staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNBThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Was here for 3 nights. Check in process was smooth with English speaking staff. Room was as what was booked. Very clean and compact. All necessary items/toiletries were provided. More comprehensive than expected for hotels of similar ratings.

Considering accomodation prices are on the high side in Japan, this would seem like a bargain. Location makes this property even more attractive. Proximity to convenience stores, eateries, malls and the main train station makes it a plus.

Definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Me and my friends stayed there for 3 nights in Feb 2014 during snow festival. We stayed 3 persons in the room with 3 Bed. It was located very close to JR Tower Station and shopping malls. I personally like the location since very convenient to go snow festival which located in Odori Park. You just need to use underground walkaway. Along the walkaway you can find alot of shopping malls and my fav walk ever :) . Reasonalbel price for 4 start hotel . You got WIFI in the room .Bed and pillows are not comfortable at all. They provided us small pillows ( I doubt it can be called pillow) for one each. When we asked for extra pillow . the operator responded as housekeeping is closed at around9pm. :( .Staffs are not very freindly like expreience in Niseko or Otaru. Overall we were fully satisfied with so called PERFECT location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KhinLayKhaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Sapporo Station
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Station
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#12 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#6 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen

Property: HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen
Address: 4-5 Kita 8 Jo Nishi, Kita-ku, Sapporo 060-0808, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Sapporo Station , Kita Juni Jo Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen is a rare gem and a soothing retreat away from the hustle of travel or business. You will find the hotel but a couple of minutes from Sapporo JR station, making it your most convenient stay in the city. All our rooms are lovingly decorated with tapestry and Shimafukuro (owl) carvings, they also offer plenty of space, accommodating the needs of single travelers and families alike. Our restaurants also feature some of the best tables in the city and a much acclaimed breakfast buffet serving your Japanese and Western favorites, all made with love from fresh and Hokkaido produced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing