We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Solid Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is an excellent business hotel and also great for vacationing families of up to 2 adults and 2 children below 17.

If arriving at New Chitose Airport, head down to the basement level, get tickets for the express and you are set. If you are not arriving with an entire horde, you can go with an "unreserved" ticket which will give you access to ANY train car except "Reserved" train cars. The staff at the JR Information and Ticket Office speak excellent English, which means just that much less anxiety for travelers with little or no Japanese, and a very pleasant start to your visit to Hokkaido!

The stop that you want for central Hokkaido and access to the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo is NOT the Shin-Sapporo station, but the Sapporo station. Look for the South Gate or South Exit. Exit the South Gate and you will find yourself in the grand piazza shared by JR Tower and Daimaru. The road right in front of you across the piazza is Kita-Dojo Teine Dori (北五條手稲通). Exiting the South Gate and turning right, walking along Kita-Dojo Teine Dori, crossing exactly 3 intersections, you arrive at the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo.

It is a few blocks from the central garden, the famous "clock tower" and the radio tower. All easily accessible by foot from the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo. This is useful for your first day in Sapporo whether you are on business or leisure and a good way to get your bearings and get your blood flowing at the end of a very long flight or even series of flights. You'll also easily check on "seen sights of Sapporo" on your list of things to do. Don't forget to visit ESTA which is a huge shopping mall right next to JR Sapporo station. You won't miss it, it is one of the malls fronting the grand piazza in front of JR Sapporo station. Level 10 houses a faux alleyway of ramen stalls. Do drop by for a visit. My personal recommendation is Ajisai ramen, their house specialty, the curry ramen runs out fast and there's only a limited quantity available daily. This is a nice hearty, thick, curry based bowl of spicy goodness. Perfect for a wintry day in Sapporo.

The bell staff at the hotel deserve the most praise. A particular O-san (王) was fluent in English, Japanese and Mandarin. This was most impressive, and kudos should go to the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo for employing such capable members of staff! Every member of the bell staff is knowledgeable, self-starting, capable and an outstanding ambassador for the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo.

Toyota Rentals has an office in the basement of the hotel if you need a rental. The rental office closes at 2000hrs.

The hotel restaurant serves an outstanding buffet breakfast spread, which covers the usual gamut of Japanese, Chinese and Western breakfast options. Be sure to try the cappuccino!

The rooms are clean and neatly appointed and quiet. The air-conditioning could be a little weak if you require arctic conditions for a good night's rest. The beds and pillows provide an acceptable sleep quality. The sheets are clean and crisp. An ironing board and iron are available on request; not being available en suite. There are no in-room safes. Shower quality is acceptable with comfortable water pressure and good quality bath products. The shower-bathroom combo is reasonably-sized by Japanese standards. We had a room that had 2 shower-bathroom combos in the room which was a huge plus. A small refrigerator is available in each room.

There is free wifi throughout the hotel.

Overall, this is a very good hotel. Competent and helpful staff and the location are prime reasons for recommending this hotel. Amenities are good and well-maintained.

Room Tip: You can request a single room with 3 twin beds which will comfortably fit 2 adults and 2 young child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH011, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo. Thank you also for your feedback on our hotel as well as our city, Sapporo. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel this time. And also, we guess that you fully enjoyed sightseeing in Sapporo City. Mr. O(王), bell staff, feels happy to get kudos for his service. We will very welcome you for next time you come to Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo again. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

A bit Disappointed - Request for non-smoking room but turn out only smoking room is available. We are non-smoking family and sensitive with smoke...
Other than this, overall is not bad. Spacious room and washroom. Only twin beds is available but I make it as one bed for my family :)
Sufficient parking space, you do not worry you cannot park at the hotel as some Toyoko hotels which have limited parking space.
Location is good. It is convenient to grab food and drink nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MakSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH011, 営業ディレクター at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for staying at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, and for your valuable advice.
We sincerely apologize for causing disappointment and discomfort for your family as we were unable to arrange you non-smoking rooms. Since November 2013, we have been increasing the number of non-smoking rooms in order to meet more requests from our guests.
Thank you once again for your feedback. It is greatly valued and helps us improve ourselves.
We hope to welcome you back again at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

we have requested 2 non smoking rooms with special request for connecting rooms. When arrived, front staff informed us in limited English language there were only 2 rooms left which were not connected. It turned out to be smoking room, very small, dated. We insisted that we have requested non-smoking rooms because my kids have asthma. Had to wait for 20 minutes for new rooms which were non-smoking with nice space, clean and new and most of all connected! This meant that front staff had lied to us about availability of the rooms in the first place. I would not recommended this hotel to our friends because of the insincerity of the staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Nadhawan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Small rooms close to the Sapporo railway line which runs at the back of the hotel. It can be noisy very late and very early. There is not a place to sit in the foyer where you can chat even though there is a lot of space for some comfortable chairs.
It is very close to Sapporo station which is a plus.
The service from the staff was very good.
For the price I think you might find some better value.

Room Tip: Avoid the railway line at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH011, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo. Firstly, we apologize for the unpleasant moment you had during your recent stay at our hotel. On the north side of our hotel, the guests can see the railway and Sapporo station. We would like to express our regret for the sounds of train caused you. And also, we have few chairs around the front desk just as you say. We would deeply think about the space in a lobby area.
We really appreciate for your variable comments. We are waiting for the next time you come to Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Hotel is older but rooms well sized, beds great, very clean and ideally located for easy walk from station and as a base for a visit to Sapporo. Staff were excellent, plenty of restaurants, close to main shopping. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 255060Paul6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Booked 2 rooms as there are 5 of us. It's about 5 mins walk to JR station, so location wise it's great. A 7-11 opposite the hotel also add to the convenience in case you need to buy some necessities.

Room wise, the room size are quite standard kind of small as in most part of Japan. Design wise it's also quite dated and basic. Otherwise not much of a complaint.

Did not have any food at the hotels so no comments here. We had most of our meals at the huge underground mall at JR station.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icewolfmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We chose this hotel because of its convenient location, reasonable price and friends' recommendation.

It is close to JR station which connects directly to the airport and the ski bus stops right in front of the hotel. Although it is 7-8 mins on foot to JR station and 10-15 mins with luggage, we can deal with that and prefer the ski bus picking us from the hotel.

There are tons of shopping and dining options within walking distance. There are 7-11 and Family Marts near by for stocking up groceries/ necessities.

Hotel is not new but so are others in the city. We stayed in the hotel 2 nights, 1 before going to Niseko for skiing and another night after returning from Niseko. On our 2nd night, hotel upgraded us to a bigger room where we have separate space for table and sofas and can open two big suitcases on the floor. Bathroom was also bigger with separate area for washing/ make up.

Concierge staff was friendly and greeted us even outside hotel maindoor to help us with out suitcases as soon as they saw us/ when we alighted the ski bus.

Bed was comfortable though pillows could be a bit bigger.

Housekeeping was also very responsive to our request of extra towels/ toiletries.

Our overall impression was good and would return next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#14 of 171 in Sapporo
1,560 reviews
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#6 of 171 in Sapporo
1,210 reviews
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#9 of 171 in Sapporo
1,239 reviews
Sapporo Station
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
#17 of 171 in Sapporo
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo

Address: 7-2-1 Kita 5 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0005, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sapporo
#20 Family Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range: £60 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Sapporo
Sapporo Keio Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing