We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast & room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
Ranked #10 of 165 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast & room!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have 2 choices of restaurants(G/F or top floor) for breakfast. With soft music & nice view, we can enjoy very much for the high-quality of food especially milk & yogart. Besides, the room is relatively large compared with other ordinary room in Japan. The location is only 10-min walks from JR Sapporo station. However we need to pay extra money for using fitness centre & swimming pool. Overall it is enjoyable to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: High-floor to have a nice view for the whole city. Also, higher the floor, bigger the room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KcLi8833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH011, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for staying at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo. We really appreciate your kind words regarding your stay at our hotel. We strongly recommend our breakfast restaurants because it offers a very good selection of many kinds of Hokkaido products. And also, the room size is always being a competitive reason for choosing the hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay this time. We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    508
    145
    23
    10
See reviews for
301
139
152
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good location, only 5 mins' by walk to Sapporo JR Station, it got also a toyota rental car return parking for hotel guests

The room is fully equipped, little small though (couldn't have my 2 suitcases opened at 1 time) Hotels in Japan are known to be tiny but having paid US$150/night I was expecting slightly more.

Helpful staff. I got my online shoppings pre-delivered to the hotels and they had all my boxes ready the second I showed my passport. They would also take care of the luggage and show you to the room upon check-in.

Tip for shoppers: The courier counter on lobby floor could sent your luggage directly to the airport or your next stop, at reasonable $$. Despatch them by 10 am and everything arrives by 2 pm at New Chitose!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH011, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for staying at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo. We appreciate your nice review regarding your recent stay with us. And also, it was a great pleasure to serve you and it is very nice from you to mention our staff
Toyota Rental Car is located on the basement floor of our hotel, so it is quite easy for staying guests to rent or return.
Once again, we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Big hotel, walking distance to the JR Sapporo station.
the single room is very small. Winter time the room is very dry.
Breakfast coupon can use for lunch..
From the JR station walk back to hotel, try to not use the underground pass because it is very confusing. I tried 3 times all get lost, so give up... walk from the ground.
Free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yszydx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH011, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for staying at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo. We appreciate your valuable comment. We understand the underground pass to JR station is little complicated because they do not have enough direction support with English Language. Our hotel has prepared the English direction guide for main area of Sapporo city. Please stop by at our front reception desk for information. Thank you once again for your comment. It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Room was small but fully-equipped. The bathroom was spacious and filled with amenities. It was so thoughtful for the hotel to provide bathing salt for the guests and a massage chair in the guestroom. It is a relatively big room comparing to the hotels i have stayed in Japan.
Service was great in the Glass House restaurant.
Hotel is located nearby Sapporo station. Will definitely return for my next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH011, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, responded to this review, 8 April 2016
Thank you for staying at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo.
We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback.
The size of the rooms has always been the biggest challenge for hotels in Japan; however, we would like to reflect your advice for our next renovation.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. The restaurant offers over 80 different dishes with carefully selected local ingredients, as we believe that breakfast plays an important role in starting a fine day.
Thank you once again for your comment. It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is an excellent business hotel and also great for vacationing families of up to 2 adults and 2 children below 17.

If arriving at New Chitose Airport, head down to the basement level, get tickets for the express and you are set. If you are not arriving with an entire horde, you can go with an "unreserved" ticket which will give you access to ANY train car except "Reserved" train cars. The staff at the JR Information and Ticket Office speak excellent English, which means just that much less anxiety for travelers with little or no Japanese, and a very pleasant start to your visit to Hokkaido!

The stop that you want for central Hokkaido and access to the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo is NOT the Shin-Sapporo station, but the Sapporo station. Look for the South Gate or South Exit. Exit the South Gate and you will find yourself in the grand piazza shared by JR Tower and Daimaru. The road right in front of you across the piazza is Kita-Dojo Teine Dori (北五條手稲通). Exiting the South Gate and turning right, walking along Kita-Dojo Teine Dori, crossing exactly 3 intersections, you arrive at the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo.

It is a few blocks from the central garden, the famous "clock tower" and the radio tower. All easily accessible by foot from the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo. This is useful for your first day in Sapporo whether you are on business or leisure and a good way to get your bearings and get your blood flowing at the end of a very long flight or even series of flights. You'll also easily check on "seen sights of Sapporo" on your list of things to do. Don't forget to visit ESTA which is a huge shopping mall right next to JR Sapporo station. You won't miss it, it is one of the malls fronting the grand piazza in front of JR Sapporo station. Level 10 houses a faux alleyway of ramen stalls. Do drop by for a visit. My personal recommendation is Ajisai ramen, their house specialty, the curry ramen runs out fast and there's only a limited quantity available daily. This is a nice hearty, thick, curry based bowl of spicy goodness. Perfect for a wintry day in Sapporo.

The bell staff at the hotel deserve the most praise. A particular O-san (王) was fluent in English, Japanese and Mandarin. This was most impressive, and kudos should go to the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo for employing such capable members of staff! Every member of the bell staff is knowledgeable, self-starting, capable and an outstanding ambassador for the Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo.

Toyota Rentals has an office in the basement of the hotel if you need a rental. The rental office closes at 2000hrs.

The hotel restaurant serves an outstanding buffet breakfast spread, which covers the usual gamut of Japanese, Chinese and Western breakfast options. Be sure to try the cappuccino!

The rooms are clean and neatly appointed and quiet. The air-conditioning could be a little weak if you require arctic conditions for a good night's rest. The beds and pillows provide an acceptable sleep quality. The sheets are clean and crisp. An ironing board and iron are available on request; not being available en suite. There are no in-room safes. Shower quality is acceptable with comfortable water pressure and good quality bath products. The shower-bathroom combo is reasonably-sized by Japanese standards. We had a room that had 2 shower-bathroom combos in the room which was a huge plus. A small refrigerator is available in each room.

There is free wifi throughout the hotel.

Overall, this is a very good hotel. Competent and helpful staff and the location are prime reasons for recommending this hotel. Amenities are good and well-maintained.

Room Tip: You can request a single room with 3 twin beds which will comfortably fit 2 adults and 2 young child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH011, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for staying at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo. Thank you also for your feedback on our hotel as well as our city, Sapporo. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel this time. And also, we guess that you fully enjoyed sightseeing in Sapporo City. Mr. O(王), bell staff, feels happy to get kudos for his service. We will very welcome you for next time you come to Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo again. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A bit Disappointed - Request for non-smoking room but turn out only smoking room is available. We are non-smoking family and sensitive with smoke...
Other than this, overall is not bad. Spacious room and washroom. Only twin beds is available but I make it as one bed for my family :)
Sufficient parking space, you do not worry you cannot park at the hotel as some Toyoko hotels which have limited parking space.
Location is good. It is convenient to grab food and drink nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MakSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH011, 営業ディレクター at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for staying at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo, and for your valuable advice.
We sincerely apologize for causing disappointment and discomfort for your family as we were unable to arrange you non-smoking rooms. Since November 2013, we have been increasing the number of non-smoking rooms in order to meet more requests from our guests.
Thank you once again for your feedback. It is greatly valued and helps us improve ourselves.
We hope to welcome you back again at Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

we have requested 2 non smoking rooms with special request for connecting rooms. When arrived, front staff informed us in limited English language there were only 2 rooms left which were not connected. It turned out to be smoking room, very small, dated. We insisted that we have requested non-smoking rooms because my kids have asthma. Had to wait for 20 minutes for new rooms which were non-smoking with nice space, clean and new and most of all connected! This meant that front staff had lied to us about availability of the rooms in the first place. I would not recommended this hotel to our friends because of the insincerity of the staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadhawan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#15 of 165 in Sapporo
1,499 reviews
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#7 of 165 in Sapporo
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 165 in Sapporo
1,148 reviews
Century Royal Hotel
#9 of 165 in Sapporo
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo

Property: Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
Address: 7-2-1 Kita 5 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0005, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sapporo
#20 Family Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Rakuten, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Sapporo
Sapporo Keio Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing