We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but I'd pay extra to stay elsewhere next time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Hiroshima Heiwa-Odori
Ranked #45 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location but I'd pay extra to stay elsewhere next time”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We got a very good deal for a semi-double room for one night (approx $65 AUD) so we decided we would give it a shot as it was only a short stay. Although I read some other reports that semi-double beds are small, I didn't realise just how small. We travelled as a couple and the semi-double was barely bigger than a single. The bed and pillows were extremely uncomfortable/itchy and it was probably our worst accomodation during our 2 week trip to Japan based upon that. The bathroom is also tiny - the size of an airplane bathroom.

There was a complimentary breakfast which had plenty of options but was quite standard in taste, the staff were very helpful and the best thing about the hotel was its location. It was a short tram ride from the train station (10 mintues max) and within walking distance to everything you'd want to see (peace memorial park/museum, hiroshima castle and dinning area). In the future, I would pay a little extra to stay at another hotel in the same area. We visited the museum and peace park at dusk and it was a sad but beautiful place at that time of day.

We found a great 'hole in the wall' restuarant 10 minutes directly up the street that served amazing and authentic okonomiyaki, highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowsong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    103
    114
    24
    6
See reviews for
37
35
89
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

For travellers on a budget a good choice.
The hotel is excellent located in walking distance from the A-Bomb dome, Peace Memorial Park en Peace Memorial Museum.
The staff is friendly/
The rooms are small and outdated.
The hotel has free breakfast, free coffee service, free internet and a coin laundry.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugge, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the Comfort Hotel Hiroshima in november 2010. The hotel is at a 5 minutes walk from the Hiroshima Peace Park and there are supermarkets and resto's nearby. It is far from the trainstation ( we did it once on foot and it took us nearly 1 hour walk), so you need to take the slowly tram every time you has to go to the station. Tramstop is 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is not bad, but it looks like it has had its best time. Renovation is a must. Breakfast was good with western and Japanese choices. Reception is friendly and efficient, there are computers for free internet in the lobby, microwave in the lobby, free good coffee, tea and fresh water in the lobby (15 h - 24 h), The room has a very small bathroom, more like a cabin on a ship..., but everything you need is there. So the hotel is not bad, but is is just a pity that it looks so tired and old...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liesenluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The front desk speaks minimal English but was friendly, they gave us maps of Hiroshima when we check-in. The room is not that big but the size is acceptable in Japan. The hotel is not as nice as I thought. The lobby and hotel room's decor is outdated. The room is very dark even after I turned on every single light switch I can find in the room. The location is good since it is within walking distance to Peace Park and there is also a tram station right outside the hotel. My stay includes free buffet breakfast, the food choices is minimal and the quality is not good but acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jal747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I was looking for a reasonable place to stay for one night in Hiroshima. I chose the Comfort Hotel Hiroshima because of its price and location to the city sites. It was only 8400 yen (approx. $84 US) which included all taxes, breakfast and free internet in the room and also at 2 terminals in the lobby.

We were within walking distance to the A-Bomb Dome, Peace Park, Hiroshima Castle and the banks of the Motoyasugawa River. It is a 30 minute walk to Hiroshima Station or a 35 minute walk to attend a Professional Japanese Baseball Game at the Mazda Stadium (seats 30,000+).

The check in is not until 3pm but, as most hotels will do, they will take care of your bags as soon as you arrive. The room was dated and plain but clean. I wasn’t there to watch the 12 inch TV. There was a fridge in the room and I found the beds rather hard and the linens dated.

The breakfast in the morning was buffet style with coffee, tea, milk, juices etc Toast, Some fruit, English muffins and cereal were also available along with scrambled eggs.

We did walk to the A-Bomb Dome, Peace Park, Hiroshima Castle & along the banks of the Motoyasugawa River (very picturesque). There is a covered street mall which is only a five minute walk from the hotel called “Hondori Street” which is rather touristy but good for shopping and restaurants. If you want to go further, the buses and trams which travel throughout the City stop at that block and it is an inexpensive way to get around Hiroshima.

This is not a five or four star hotel, but it was clean with a good location. Good for travellers on a budget looking for a night or two and want to be close to the sites.

CanadianHolidayGuy

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianHolidayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The room was more or less clean and we didn't have a problem at check-in. Not a fancy place, but I was comfortable sleeping there, and I really need to have clean rooms. It's a business hotel, and therefore has no frills and single beds (or at least that's what we had). For the location and price we paid, you couldn't expect more. I was comfortable there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uandmfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Everything is good. Breakfast, Location, Room, Service. Free Internet. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovTravelOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
Fukuromachi Station
Dormy Inn Hiroshima
Dormy Inn Hiroshima
#12 of 121 in Hiroshima
252 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Business Hotel  Million City
Business Hotel Million City
#74 of 121 in Hiroshima
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#7 of 121 in Hiroshima
349 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Toyoko Inn Hiroshima Heiwa Odori
Park Side Hotel
#13 of 121 in Hiroshima
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Hiroshima Heiwa-Odori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Hiroshima Heiwa-Odori

Property: Comfort Inn Hiroshima Heiwa-Odori
Address: 3-17 Komachi, Hiroshima 730-0041, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Hiroshima Heiwa-Odori 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Comfort Inn Hiroshima Peace Odori" in Hiroshima-shi Hiroshima Prefecture for which we gave you patronage for a long time will be closed on January 1, 2017. In 2017, we are planning to be reborn as a separate brand hotel that can satisfy even more, so please continue your favors toward future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Hiroshima Heiwa-Odori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hiroshima
Hiroshima Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing