We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
elnet1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible place to stay”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The room was very hot and stuffy. They brought a fan which was some relief, but for the price I paid, I would have expected air conditioning. The restaurants were overpriced and the buffet was booked! They had huge hordes of tour groups. This place is too far from any place to walk to get something to eat or drink. Avoid at all costs! Also, beware as there is no free breakfast, it was 20 USD.

Room Tip: The best tip is to book someplace else as this is hell on earth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    464
    157
    50
    26
See reviews for
383
257
49
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights with our 3 year old son. We read the reviews and looked at the location carefully before choosing, as obviously the hotel is out of way. We had a great stay and would come back again without hesitation. Here's our take on the hotel and particularly the location:

1. If you are on a budget and don't want to take taxis you'll spend a lot of time walking and sitting on buses or trams to get to the major sights from here. For us it was worth spending a couple thousand yen for a taxi a few times so we could make the most of our time here in Hiroshima, particularly when returning the hotel as there's only one city bus that goes to the hotel, and it's a 20 minute walk from the nearest tram stop. Our usual routine to go into the city was to walk TO the tram stop (20 minutes), then take a taxi back at the end of our day (usually ¥2000 - 2500).
2. If you have a JR pass and are set on using it for the ferry to Miyajima you'd be better off staying closer to the JR station, as from this hotel it will take you over an hour to get to the JR ferry launch, from where you may have an additional wait to get a boat. There is a boat to Miyajima that leaves right from the hotel and takes less than 30 minutes each way, but you can't use the JR pass (it costs ¥1800 one way or ¥3200 return. Again, for us it made sense to just take the boat from the hotel and made it a very stress free day trip to the island.
3. The restaurants in the hotel are high quality, with the accompanying higher prices. If the hotel is busy you'll need reservations to guarantee a table. There are very few other options (basically none unless you eat convenience store food every day), so again if this is an issue maybe look elsewhere.
4. The hotel itself has a fantastic setting, and getting a room with an ocean view is a must. Our room had a huge window looking straight out over the water. Our standard room wasn't huge by any means, and the bathroom was a little like one on a cruise ship, but for sleeping and sitting and watching the boats and enjoying the view it was just fine. Beds are firm and comfortable. Lounge and restaurants on the upper floors have incredible views and very good (a little expensive) offerings. Hotel staff try very hard and are always willing to help.

Hope this helps others decide if this hotel is right for you, I can definitely see how some people don't like it due to the factors I mentioned above.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Simon_Kn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Pro: I love the services they provide. They have bellhop staff to bring your luggage to your room. I wasn't sure if are to tip them or not, but I have read Japan doesn't accept tips. They personally provide wifi into your room. I read comments where you can only get wifi at the reception. Not true. I had asked during check-in if my room had wifi, and they had actually brought in a wireless router for me to use. So ask the front desk! This was free. I also like that if you stay multiple days and you request not to have your room cleaned, they give you 500 yen coupon to use in the hotel for every FULL day you stay. I love the beds! Very comfy and if someone tries to sit on your bed while you sleep, you don't feel the movement of the bed. I love their shampoo and body soap. It has olive oil that makes your skin so soft. Although the hotel did seem isolated, there is a shuttle bus to and from Hiroshima Station. Even though they had transportation to Miyajima Island that was pricey, I went to Hiroshima Station instead and took advantage of my JR Rail pass. It took longer, but since I paid for the Pass, might as well use it to the fullest.

Con: I didn't have a full view of the ocean. Instead I got a view of trees and saw very little of the ocean. Also, the sink is above the carpet. Hard to avoid dripping onto the carpet. Overall, the cons are very minor. The room was great and enjoyed staying there. Would stay there again if I had the chance.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kojaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel for the great views, onsen and location. Ideal jumping off point for Miyajima. Street car station a bit of a walk, having a car is helpful. Nice running path from the hotel along the bay, just needed to extend a bit for a 5K out and back. Breakfast not bad, but not the best amongst hotels in Japan. The view, though is unbelievable. Would stay again!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank walkabout56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshima, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Staff is courteous and helpful. A few of them can speak English. The view from the 23rd floor is amazing. Good restaurants are located in the hotel. A taxi from the JR Hiroshima would cost around 5,000 Yen

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hero147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Positives: great views towards islands and sea, good breakfast, friendly, clean, extremely helpful staff (they found my money and posted it urgently to my next hotel).

Negatives: 8 km (5.5 miles) away from the train station. Couple of furnitures are slightly tired looking.

Tips: use bus 21-1 or 21-2 to the hotel for only 230 yen. Some may not go further than the port so check on the front or you will have to walk for 10 min to the hotel.
Taxi will cost you 2800 yen to the train station, one way.

Room Tip: Go to the floors 16 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pokyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga,
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel. The hotel offers a free shuttle that travels between the Hiroshima Station and the hotel. You can even drop off your bags at the Swallow Travel Agency (next to the Hiroshima Station) and pick them up at the hotel. I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. I booked a twin room for single occupancy. The room was bigger than a typical Japanese hotel room and it was clean. The view was excellent. My room didn't include breakfast but I decided to pay for breakfast on the top floor of the hotel. The view was simply awesome. You can take the high speed boat at the hotel's boat dock to the Miyajima Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaozhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 122 in Hiroshima
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 122 in Hiroshima
1,311 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 122 in Hiroshima
350 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 734-8543, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hiroshima
#6 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#11 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside Motoujina Park, the Hiroshima Prince Hotel looks out toward the picturesque islands that dot the Seto Inland Sea. With magnificent views of the Hiroshima Port and Miyajima Island, the dramatic prism structure towers 23 floors. Below, the hotel's private pier is a great starting point to enjoy leisure activities along the marina or to take a cruise to the nearby islands.Featuring a variety of restaurants and extensive conference facilities, the Hiroshima Prince is a popular venue for international conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing