We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #7 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A night of luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

With only 1 night stay in Hiroshima, this was our "luxury" stay of the whole trip. Without the time constraints we would have liked to stay longer.
Bit of an excursion to get out there by bus (take No.21 bus from the JR station, but make sure it ends at the hotel - some services terminate at the Port terminal - just ask) Were told that check in wasn't til later in the afternoon but we fronted up anyway and were able to get our luggage looked after.

Return bus trip to the Atomic site and the Peace Memorial where we spent the whole afternoon. The day we were there it was just continually raining (3/7/14). Later in the day returned to hotel via bus & taxi and a late check-in. Settled into our rooms and went down for dinner at the Buffet Restaurant - a bit $$$$$ so make sure you fill your plate a few times.

Next morning, availed ourselves of the free shuttle bus back to JR Hiroshima (first one at 7.45am) to catch the Shinkansen back up to Tokyo.

All in all a very nice hotel, only hampered by its distance from the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaigin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    465
    158
    50
    26
See reviews for
383
258
49
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at Grand Prince. We liked the location, toured Hiroshima & the Peace Park, then checked in late afternoon. The following day we checked our luggage and took the ferry right from the hotel to Miyajima Island. We did take advantage of the spa services which were great. And we enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the morning with an amazing view. Our only "ding" was we went to visit the Steak Restaurant and were told very coldly that they were booked -- we honestly do not feel they were because the manner of the maitre d was quite rude, there was no one there & it was early. He was the only person to behave that way but it was unpleasant. We credit it to the fact that we were not dressed well enough. That said, we wound up going to the Japanese Restaurant on a lower floor and having a wonderful time although we spent too much. :) We are Prince members so got the club rate for the room. hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestkayakgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Make no mistake this hotel is located way out on a limb and without a car you are very much beholden to them for everything. A taxi in or out can be expensive. The public bus to/from the station not necessarily convenient. That said, from the hotel you can enjoy the most wonderful views over the bay and islands and have easy access via their ferry to Miya Jima Island.

Whilst they do have a shuttle bus to and from mainline Hiroshima, you may find that this schedule is also inconvenient. We arrived Hiroshima at 1.15pm and the next shuttle was 15.30pm. Because of this and because we had big suitcases we opted to take a taxi which took around 30 minutes at a cost of JPY2200. There is a lot of renovation construction going on at Hiroshima station which made finding their Welcome Counter luggage office quite difficult. Can only advise you to take the Shinkansen exit, get to ground level, near the Granvia hotel, and keep asking. Conversely when you check out of the Grand Prince, ask at Reception for an explanation of how to leave your luggage at their Welcome Counter while you go sightseeing. Again there are some time constraints.

Within the hotel is a basic convenience store but as a guide we would normally pay JPY120 for a Diet Coke – in their shop it was JPY190. Whilst their restaurants could have been expensive we opted for simple dishes in the 23rd Top of Hiroshima lounge and therefore ended up paying a reasonable amount . The views were spectacular but the lounge chairs definitely needed refurbishment. Could not have eaten in the Chinese – it all just smelt so horrible.

Somewhat disconcerting was suddenly to be surrounded by loads of children. Seems there was a party of Japanese school kids also staying at the hotel. There must have been at least 50 of them – maybe more - and this made for some “busy” "loud" encounters in the shop, lift and the lobby

Overall this hotel is trying to be a 4* but is actually a bit too tired and dated to meet that rating. There was an ice machine. There was a kettle. The beds were great. But look deeper and you could see the stains on the carpet, the scuff marks on the wall and an old air about the place. The swimming pool was not open.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is located about 30 minutes bus ride from Hiroshima JR. There are local buses that are quite frequent with the terminal station being the hotel. And also a free hotel shuttle which is less frequent.

The foyer of the hotel is magnificent, and service is exceptional. They provided a choice of japanese breakfast and buffet breakfast, located on different floors in the hotel. The buffet breakfast is on one of the top floors and boasts the most beautiful panoramic views of the sea and harbour. If you happen to be staying on the weekend, the japanese breakfast is also available on one of the higher floors, so that you may still enjoy the beautiful scenery.

The hotel room we chose was luxury room, this was a corner suite with a bath situated next to the window. It was very spacious and also had a separate refresh/makeup area for the ladies. Although a bit tired looking, it was very clean, and I can only imagine how much more magnificent and luxurious the rooms may have been when they were first built.

The hotel also provided us with ferry tickets to miyajima, which took around 20 minutes.

One of the other highlights is their onsen (hot springs), which we also got free entries to.
Overall a very enjoyable stay. We just wished that we had stayed there for a few more days. There was a footpath along the coast which we did not have time to explore. This is definitely a place for relaxation away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelApooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Located slightly away from the busy downtown of Hiroshima, yet steps away from the ferry service to Miyajima. Free shuttle runs between Hiroshima station and the hotel. In case you miss the shuttle the city bus runs every 30 minutes from the front entrance of the hotel for about $2.40/person. The staff is exceptional in service. The tourist office had English speaking staff and guided one with high accuracy. The front desk staff also fluent in English and very helpful. The views from the 23rd floor bar and restaurant are breathtakingly lovely.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Khazina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The prince at Hiroshima is all about location, location and location. I cannot imagine any Hotel in the world that can boast better sea-views and the sunrise and harbour views than this hotel does.
You wake up in the morning to the sun rays streaming into your spotlessly-impossibly-white-themed room through large windows over-looking the sea. The baths have some wondrously-fragrant shower gels and I cant say much about the food served here as I'm not into sea food and the restaurant reeked of sea food ! Apart from the great views there is another great feature of this place- they deliver your bags at a locker at the rail station, free-of cost, and you can shop and roam care free ! The hotel also has an exclusive shuttle from the rail station. The hotel also has a ferry to Miyajima . Can u ask for more on a holiday?

Room Tip: Ensure you get the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arun v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
184 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is 4.5 miles from the city centre but there is a frequent bus service as well as the hotel's own shuttle to the station. It sits by the ocean and the tranquil setting is much needed after a difficult visit to the city, especially to the Peace Memorial Museum. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We loved our stay so much that we extended it. We got a room very cheaply online but eating in the hotel is expensive and there are no other options nearby. That's not really a problem as we either ate in the city or brought food back to our room. Their coffee lounge has a lovely setting but the coffee is awful - just choose tea.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 734-8543, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hiroshima
#6 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#11 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside Motoujina Park, the Hiroshima Prince Hotel looks out toward the picturesque islands that dot the Seto Inland Sea. With magnificent views of the Hiroshima Port and Miyajima Island, the dramatic prism structure towers 23 floors. Below, the hotel's private pier is a great starting point to enjoy leisure activities along the marina or to take a cruise to the nearby islands.Featuring a variety of restaurants and extensive conference facilities, the Hiroshima Prince is a popular venue for international conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing