We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view in a palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #10 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great view in a palace”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived at the Grand Prince with the free shuttle you can take at the Hiroshima train station.
We had trouble finding the shuttle from inside the station. You have to enter the Granvia hotel to find it.
We were very impressed bu the size of the lobby, it is very beautiful. Kind of like a Vegas hotel.
The service was excellent, up to our expectation for this type of hotel.
The room was very nice, large enough and modern. We had a great view of the sea and hotel pool.
The surroundings are great, you can take a walk around the hotel along the sea, you'll meet a bunch of nice cats. We took the boat that goes directly to Miyajima island, it was very convenient to take it just at the hotel.
The drawbacks are you have to pay for everything (pool, fitness etc).
We had dinner at the Top of Hiroshima, the view was amazing and the service excellent. The food was good.
We will definitly come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elise-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPH広島, Supervisor of WEB Marketing at Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Elise-san, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor following your last stay here at the Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima. It is such a pleasure for us to receive detailed comments regarding our lobby, view of the sea, and restaurants.
When it comes to autumn, the leaves turned red and gold in Miyajima Island. Japanese are proud of the autumn colors in there, and like to show them off to the rest the world. Please go back again and enjoy. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Supervisor of WEB Marketing
Risa Shibata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    491
    174
    56
    30
See reviews for
408
275
51
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Enjoyed this hotel, entrance is magnificent, plus fabulous sea view, but unfortunately this is where it stops.
The twin room, views amazing but small and basic, tried on 4 occasions to book a meal (through reception) in their Steak restaurant, apologies as the proper name escapes me. We gave up after being told they were too busy to answer the phone, so my son went and booked it personally as time was running short for last orders 9/9.30.
We had a lovely 5 course meal not expensive (set menu) but there was no atmosphere and definitely not busy !!! although nightime views with the bridge lit up nearly made up for struggle to book restaurant !!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, as not sure they all have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPH広島, Supervisor of WEB Marketing at Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Ann L, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor, following your last at Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima. It is much appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed our sea view location and very sorry that you were disappointed at restaurant (Its name is Boston Steak & Seafood Restaurant). Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can assist you should any problems arise. Your consideration of our property for a future visit is truly appreciated and we hope to provide you with a positive impression when you return.

Supervisor of WEB Marketing
Risa Shibata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Our view from the 17th floor was magnificent. The room is very comfortable, really good beds, good shower and very clean. We also enjoyed the outdoor swmming pool (1000YEN) with the garden. You can enjoy the swimming pool and the beautiful surroundings (mountains and sea). It takes half an hour by bus to Hiroshima city. So location is not very good if you're planning to go to the city very often. On the other hand: it's quiet and the location is very beautiful. There's a free shuttle service but also a regular city bus (latest 9:30PM). There's a private boat to tsukushima Shrine.

Tip: leave your luggage at the counter at the Hiroshima central station. They will bring your luggage to the hotel and you can enjoy the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank enjoy-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPH広島, WEB Marketing at Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima. Your Compliments about our location,rooms,and pool are truly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you next time.

WEB Marketing
Risa Shibata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

With only 1 night stay in Hiroshima, this was our "luxury" stay of the whole trip. Without the time constraints we would have liked to stay longer.
Bit of an excursion to get out there by bus (take No.21 bus from the JR station, but make sure it ends at the hotel - some services terminate at the Port terminal - just ask) Were told that check in wasn't til later in the afternoon but we fronted up anyway and were able to get our luggage looked after.

Return bus trip to the Atomic site and the Peace Memorial where we spent the whole afternoon. The day we were there it was just continually raining (3/7/14). Later in the day returned to hotel via bus & taxi and a late check-in. Settled into our rooms and went down for dinner at the Buffet Restaurant - a bit $$$$$ so make sure you fill your plate a few times.

Next morning, availed ourselves of the free shuttle bus back to JR Hiroshima (first one at 7.45am) to catch the Shinkansen back up to Tokyo.

All in all a very nice hotel, only hampered by its distance from the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaigin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at Grand Prince. We liked the location, toured Hiroshima & the Peace Park, then checked in late afternoon. The following day we checked our luggage and took the ferry right from the hotel to Miyajima Island. We did take advantage of the spa services which were great. And we enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the morning with an amazing view. Our only "ding" was we went to visit the Steak Restaurant and were told very coldly that they were booked -- we honestly do not feel they were because the manner of the maitre d was quite rude, there was no one there & it was early. He was the only person to behave that way but it was unpleasant. We credit it to the fact that we were not dressed well enough. That said, we wound up going to the Japanese Restaurant on a lower floor and having a wonderful time although we spent too much. :) We are Prince members so got the club rate for the room. hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestkayakgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Make no mistake this hotel is located way out on a limb and without a car you are very much beholden to them for everything. A taxi in or out can be expensive. The public bus to/from the station not necessarily convenient. That said, from the hotel you can enjoy the most wonderful views over the bay and islands and have easy access via their ferry to Miya Jima Island.

Whilst they do have a shuttle bus to and from mainline Hiroshima, you may find that this schedule is also inconvenient. We arrived Hiroshima at 1.15pm and the next shuttle was 15.30pm. Because of this and because we had big suitcases we opted to take a taxi which took around 30 minutes at a cost of JPY2200. There is a lot of renovation construction going on at Hiroshima station which made finding their Welcome Counter luggage office quite difficult. Can only advise you to take the Shinkansen exit, get to ground level, near the Granvia hotel, and keep asking. Conversely when you check out of the Grand Prince, ask at Reception for an explanation of how to leave your luggage at their Welcome Counter while you go sightseeing. Again there are some time constraints.

Within the hotel is a basic convenience store but as a guide we would normally pay JPY120 for a Diet Coke – in their shop it was JPY190. Whilst their restaurants could have been expensive we opted for simple dishes in the 23rd Top of Hiroshima lounge and therefore ended up paying a reasonable amount . The views were spectacular but the lounge chairs definitely needed refurbishment. Could not have eaten in the Chinese – it all just smelt so horrible.

Somewhat disconcerting was suddenly to be surrounded by loads of children. Seems there was a party of Japanese school kids also staying at the hotel. There must have been at least 50 of them – maybe more - and this made for some “busy” "loud" encounters in the shop, lift and the lobby

Overall this hotel is trying to be a 4* but is actually a bit too tired and dated to meet that rating. There was an ice machine. There was a kettle. The beds were great. But look deeper and you could see the stains on the carpet, the scuff marks on the wall and an old air about the place. The swimming pool was not open.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is located about 30 minutes bus ride from Hiroshima JR. There are local buses that are quite frequent with the terminal station being the hotel. And also a free hotel shuttle which is less frequent.

The foyer of the hotel is magnificent, and service is exceptional. They provided a choice of japanese breakfast and buffet breakfast, located on different floors in the hotel. The buffet breakfast is on one of the top floors and boasts the most beautiful panoramic views of the sea and harbour. If you happen to be staying on the weekend, the japanese breakfast is also available on one of the higher floors, so that you may still enjoy the beautiful scenery.

The hotel room we chose was luxury room, this was a corner suite with a bath situated next to the window. It was very spacious and also had a separate refresh/makeup area for the ladies. Although a bit tired looking, it was very clean, and I can only imagine how much more magnificent and luxurious the rooms may have been when they were first built.

The hotel also provided us with ferry tickets to miyajima, which took around 20 minutes.

One of the other highlights is their onsen (hot springs), which we also got free entries to.
Overall a very enjoyable stay. We just wished that we had stayed there for a few more days. There was a footpath along the coast which we did not have time to explore. This is definitely a place for relaxation away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelApooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,467 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
396 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 734-8543, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hiroshima
#4 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#6 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#11 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside Motoujina Park, the Hiroshima Prince Hotel looks out toward the picturesque islands that dot the Seto Inland Sea. With magnificent views of the Hiroshima Port and Miyajima Island, the dramatic prism structure towers 23 floors. Below, the hotel's private pier is a great starting point to enjoy leisure activities along the marina or to take a cruise to the nearby islands.Featuring a variety of restaurants and extensive conference facilities, the Hiroshima Prince is a popular venue for international conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing