We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ikawa Ryokan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Sejour Fujita(Hiroshima)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Restaurant
    Ryokan 
    Aioi(Hiroshima)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      Rijyo Kaikan(Hiroshima)
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
        Reviews (63)
        Filter reviews
        63 results
        Traveller rating
        6
        19
        18
        9
        11
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        6
        19
        18
        9
        11
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviewsown bathroombuckwheat pillowspeace memorialfree wifishort walklaundry facilitieswithin easy walking distanceclean roomsmiyajima islandtatamitvfridgetokyo
        FilterAll languages
        Updating list...
        34 - 39 of 63 reviews
        Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

        It is so far from the city center, if you want to go there you need 45min journey by tram. The rooms are without personality and very expensive if you compare them with other ryokan in Japan. Plus the staff is not nice. We definitely don't recommend it.

        Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
        Thank MrSatan79
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 13 April 2014

        For our first 2 nights in Japan we chose to stay at a traditional style ryokan and our room consisted of tatami mats with futons, though we did choose a room with western style bathroom. We arrived early evening and was greeted by the owner who speaks enough English to communicate with. A nice touch was our name on the welcoming black board. This place is popular with school groups and tour groups, though we heard next to no noise and saw only a handful of other guests during our stay. We chose not to have the traditional Japanese breakfast, though the dining room ladies were happy to reheat my leftovers from a fantastic small restaurant we found 2 streets behind the ryokan. It is within walking distance to Hiroshima Peace Park and A Bomb dome, and the tramway that will take you to the ferries to Miyajima Island. A good base to explore Hiroshima from. Probably a little expensive compared to staying in a normal hotel, but I found I slept really well on the futon after a full day's sightseeing.

        • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank XAGTKate
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 19 December 2013

        I stayed here with a school group. We were greeted by the owner on arrival and allocated our rooms. Mine was a traditional room, about 5 tatami, with futons. Really comfortable, and great for sleeping. While relatively close to a main road, with trams (light rail) direct from Hiroshima Station, it was quiet. For breakfast we had Japanese-style one day, then Western-style. Japanese was interesting, some of it quite nice, but other parts a bit strange. Western breakfast was lovely, with fresh toast cooked and delivered to the table while still hot. The staff could not do enough for us. Free wi-fi available in the foyer and dining room was easy to access and relatively quick. The staff fussed around the children, making sure that everything was to their liking, food-wise. Central location, the trams give easy access to most of Hiroshima's attractions, and it is only a short walk to the Peace Park, the Hon Dori shopping arcade and the fabulous Okonomimura

        • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Johnnie86
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 17 December 2013

        My wife and I drove into Hiroshima late in the evening without any hotel reservations and came upon this place. It consists of an older building, which I believe has Japanese-style rooms, and a newer addition which has "regular" hotel rooms. We stayed in one of the latter with twin beds for four nights. As with many hotels, the room was small but adequate and clean. We had a private bath with lots of available hot water. We were able to control the room temperature. The hotel is on a quiet side-street close to the Peace Memorial and a major streetcar stop. We found a food market and some decent restaurants within walking distance. The staff provided a LAN cable for our laptop so we had an excellent Internet connection. On the downside, our room rate was OK but equivalent accommodations can be found for less, especially in the winter off-season. The staff were not especially helpful or friendly. Ikawa caters to groups of foreign schoolchildren; I don't have a problem with exuberant teenagers having a good time (I was once like this), but it can get noisy in the small hallways when they are talking or coming-and-going late at night. We don't regret staying here but would look for other accommodations the next time we visit Hiroshima.

        • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank mountainstream25
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 18 October 2013

        I really enjoyed the night i spend in this ryokan
        the room was suprisingly big, compared to rooms in other ryokans, and there was averthing needed.
        the roykan is next to a station, so very convinient, and there some convience store next by
        it's a budget hotel, but worth the while!
        the only disadvantage is the absence of wifi in rooms (only in the lobby)

        • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Farneze9
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews