We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for exploring en learning about Hiroshima” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of World Friendship Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiroshima
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
World Friendship Center
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for exploring en learning about Hiroshima”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

A very friendly, American couple runs this guesthouse and learning centre. We felt very welcome in this relaxing, homely guesthouse. A lot of interesting people from all over the world visit this place. It's a great place to meet other travellers. They have a lot of knowledge about Hiroshima and can even bring you in contact with some of the bombing survivors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
43
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had a great time staying at the World Friendship Center. The rooms are lovely arranged and the breakfast is perfect. Furthermore, Xinia and Richard, who are currently running the center, made sure that I felt comfortable from the beginning. They know a lot about the city's history and answered all my questions patiently. At all I enjoyed our evening and breakfast discussions :) I admire their and the Center's work and hope that they will continue bringing peace into the world for many years. Summing up, it's a great place to stay in Hiroshima; the specific calm atmosphere of the city can also be felt in the center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were a group of three German tourists to enjoy the astonishing hospitality of WFC. Although we only stayed for one night, the staff welcomed us like friends of the family, had breakfast prepared in a similar wonderful way and were generous in a way you could not expect from a hotel.
Hiroshima is a touching place to stay, the fate of the city does not leave you cold. It was wonderful to stay in the World Friendship Center and feel like – friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiner P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My friend and I had a great experience staying two nights at the World Friendship Centre. Richard and Xinia are doing a brilliant job hosting people and making it a special place to visit. The tour and hibakusha talk add immeasurably to the experience of visiting Hiroshima. The breakfast is lovely and the guesthouse is conveniently located. Thank you Richard and Xinia!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplepalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 days and were so well looked after by Xinia and Richard. They organized an excellent tour of the peace park for us, gave us pumpkin pie and chatted with us over tea, and we all watched a film together on Sun night. This place has a lovely atmosphere and I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My best friend Haley and I stayed at the WFC for our two nights in Hiroshima during our 10 day trip to Japan. We couldn't have asked for a better experience! Xinia and Richard felt like our own grandparents by the time we left and our conversations over breakfast with them are some of our favorite memories of the trip. We went on a tour of the Peace Park from two adorable Japanese women that were so funny and informative as well as talked with an A-bomb survivor... a very moving experience. Having now visited both Pearl Harbor and Hiroshima, I have a much deeper understanding of the impacts of WWII all across the globe. Our second day it was pouring rain but we ventured to Miyajima Island anyways (with umbrellas graciously provided by the WFC) and we are so glad we did!

All in all, if you're traveling to Japan I would say this is a MUST DO. You'll feel right at home, have excellent hosts, and get to experience more than just the big city feel of Tokyo. I would recommend this to ANYONE and EVERYONE!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I've juste read on tripadvisor that everybody had an amazing stay in this place, n so did we with my brother. Unfortunately, i had no more than one nite to spend in Hiroshima but Xinia made it wonderful allowing us to leave at dawn for Myajima with a delicious breakfast left in the fridge for us! Richard, his husband, even had us a tasty donuts which actually gave him an excuse to get some more the following morning cos' there was some left it the box... ;) Thanks a million for being so welcoming and adding with the fabulous japanese volunteers from Hiroshima your own brick to the wall of peace we should all be building together.

See you soon, hasta luego et à bientôt!

Raphaël

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hythloday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#10 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Friendship Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Friendship Center

Property: World Friendship Center
Address: 8-10 Higashikannonmachi, Nishi-ku, Hiroshima 733-0032, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality lodging in Hiroshima
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center for Peace Education. Free talks with Hibakusha *A-bomb survivors are included. Free tours in the Peace Park are included. Western style breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
World Friendship Center Hiroshima
World Friendship Center Hotel Hiroshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing