We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”
Review of Park Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Side Hotel
Ranked #14 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A great located hotel, next to everything you need to see in Hiroshima. Great value, friendly staff, decent sized rooms, clean. A plus is you can do free laundry, which is especially handy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mykepyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    166
    63
    13
    4
See reviews for
50
137
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Bed was small and the room smell of smoking, which I did not like. The good thing is that it has a great location for the memorial park and thhe museum and you can do your laundry for free if you are travelling for a long time. And it is cheap. But apart from that I wouldn't really stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Really good mid-range/budget option in an excellent location within walking distance of the Peace Park. Nice neighbourhood around the hotel. Staff friendly and rooms clean and comfortable. Only negative was breakfast which was poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulahdelah, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A good budget option located a few mins walk from the Peace Park. Reception staff were lovely and spoke English very well. Room was good, love the water pressure in the shower in all the hotels we stayed at in Japan, everything was exceptionally clean. Booked a single and a twin room and both rooms were good sized. Heating in the room was excellent. We had breakfast at the hotel, Japanese style, but were not impressed at all (Y600) This was the only negative point we can make, everything else was excellent. We visited Hiroshima to view the Peace Park and this hotel's location was perfect for this. restaurants and convenience stores near by. They will store your bags after you have checked out. Overall, a very good experience. Wish we could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked this hotel on the advise of friends who had visited Japan a few months before we travelled. We exited at the Kamiya-cho-mishi station at the Central gates. You are on a main street but only need to walk down two blocks - near Brook Bros, then right 2 streets, then left and the Hotel is there. It is very close to the Peace Memorial Park and Atomic Bomb Dome. Keep that in mind and you shouldn't stray too far. We did get a little lost but maybe our fault for not taking down directions beforehand. But a helpful gentleman took us right to it!
The hotel suited us. Location was great. Hotel LOOKS very modern from the outside. We found the "lobby" uninviting and a little industrial looking. However the staff were very helpful with any questions we had although they struggled with English! Our rooms were exceptionally tiny! We had a bed , a chair, and a low counter under the windows plus the fridge and a small open hanging "closet". Bathroom, as others mentioned was also small but adequate.
We didn't use the restaurant. but we did walk to the main street where there were plenty of coffee
shops for a pastry or sandwich. We didn't walk around the malls and stores but the undercover "streets" and stores looked fascinating. We spent hours at the beautiful Peace Park - the museum is very sobering. We went twice to the Café Ponte at the beginning of the bridge for dinner! Delicious food - Italian style. I went to Miyajima Island to see the famous Tori Gate. I took the ferry there and back and I wouldn't recommend going any other way. So simple - especially if catching trams and trains alone is a little intimidating! The Miyajima ferry is approached from the entrance to the bridge. Go down the stairs just beside the Café Ponte and voila! The hotel is in a great location for this trip as well.

Room Tip: See if you can get a bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJimVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for four nights whilst visiting friends in Hiroshima. The location is great, very easy to find and convenient to Hondori shopping area and the streetcar at Fukuromachi and Hondori. The room was modern, clean and comfortable and the bed was comfy too. As Japanese hotels go I was quite impressed for the price. We had breakfast included and the only let down was that the 'western style breakfast buffet' consisted of only toast and jam. It would be great to have some pastries or fresh fruit as well, but I realise that those breakfast foods might not be as popular. I would most likely stay here again in future if I can get another good rate. The service was polite and efficient as I have come to expect in Japanese hotels.

Room Tip: The only pointer is that the lift is slow so lower floors would be quicker to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights with my daughter in a double room. The location was excellent. It's very close (3 minutes' walk) to the Peace Memorial Park, where the A-bomb Dome is, as the name of the hotel indicates. You can visit another UNESCO World Heritage, Miyajima, by the tram. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby. There is a very good seafood restaurant (Sakana Ichiba さかな市場) is in the hotel itself. You can enjoy very fresh and delicious seafood for reasonable price. The hotel staff were all very nice and helpful as other reviewers say. They offered a lot of good information about transportations, restaurants, etc., and tried best to find an answer to any question I asked.
It would be perfect if the bed had been bigger or they had more "twin" rooms instead of "double".

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#9 of 121 in Hiroshima
917 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
406 reviews
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#7 of 121 in Hiroshima
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,376 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
#11 of 121 in Hiroshima
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Side Hotel

Property: Park Side Hotel
Address: 2-6-24 Ote-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Side Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing