We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
Ranked #16 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. We've booked online direct. Got special discount for seniors.
Wi-Fi free, complementary western continental/Japanese breakfast; free coffee in the lobby during the day. Many restaurants close by.
Chuden-Mae electric train station is opposite the hotel; very convenient.
We upgraded our Double standard claustrophobic room to a twin room; which was larger and very roomy. Laundry coin facility available at the reception floor.
The hotel is old, but well maintained and serviced. recommended!

Room Tip: ask for upper floors to get some view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    168
    57
    5
    0
See reviews for
40
81
55
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel while visiting Hiroshima. It was very conveniently located - only a few hundred metres from the Peace Park/Museum and in walking distance to the CBD. The rooms are small (typically Japanese), but very clean. I couldn't believe that such a decent breakfast was offered for the price we paid.
The service was friendly and warm and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to others.
Although I'm rating it five stars, it is not a five-star hotel, but for the price paid (about $60 per night) it truly exceeds expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobanoonoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I arrived at the Comfort Hiroshima where you need to get the lift up to the 3rd floor to check in, which went smoothly if not short on English. The room was ample sized for Japan and had all the conveniences that you would expect. The upside of choosing an international chain is that room information is traditionally in English which helps when trying to change channels or turn on the AC!

Decor was stylish and well maintained, the hotel offers free continental breakfast, which is somewhat odd as there is multiple hot choices from eggs to rice, nonetheless it's free.
The only downside was there was no hot water when I tried to take a shower at 7.30am, after checking out just after 8am I realized why, this hotel appears to be used by Japanese salarymen, and they were all heading off to work.

Despite the above, at sub $100 AUD a night, and right opposite the tram stop, this is a good choice for the price conscious savvy traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey County, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The first room we were shown wasn't even big enough for our two 22 inch rollers to go anywhere, and the bed was shoved up against the wall, as another reviewer noted. Not a good idea! And the bathroom was a joke. After we paid more money, we were given a "handicapped room" which was more spacious, but also poorly designed where you practically had to climb over one bed to get to the other one. How this would work for handicapped people I do not know. Plus the room had an odd, unpleasant odor.
The service was fine, and the breakfast just ok with not a lot of western options, the location was not really close to anything (except the peace park) with easy access to the streetcar.

Room Tip: If there is an option to get a "bigger" room, choose it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mndb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Nothing really bad, but having the bed against the window was a big pain. The last thing I wanted to do in my wet clothes was get on the bed to close the curtains. Washer was 100Y more (300Y) than my hotel in Tokuyama. The bathtub was taller, too. Breakfast was good and it's close to the streetcar stop. The post office is kitty-corner and has the international ATMs. The hotel is a good place to ride out the storm. I would recommend this hotel if you have a need to be in the area. For me, I'll try elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisenut2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel doesn't look that much but we found it cheap and convenient. A buffet style breakfast is provided every day which although not lavish is quite adequate with both western and Japanese items available. Coffee and tea are available just outside the breakfast area from mid afternoon onwards which was handy to grab a cup to take up to your room.

There is a smallish laundry area near the reception desk which was handy. A tip - you don't need to add soap the machine dispenses its own included in the 300 Yen price.

The number 1 tram which leaves from the Hiroshima JR station stops about 50 metres to the north of the hotel so transport is easy. It's also a very easy walk to the Peace Park and museum area.

We really enjoyed our stay in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCS053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My dad and I stayed here for a single night during a brief visit to Hiroshima. We were both impressed. The rooms are very small and the bathrooms look like they belong in an airplane, but everything was neat and clean.

The beds are comfortable and the breakfast in the morning is adequate. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Plus, the hotel is right next to a street car stop making it a convenient place to stay if you want to get around the city. There's nothing to complain about. Great deal for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handerson03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#9 of 121 in Hiroshima
918 reviews
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#7 of 121 in Hiroshima
349 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Side Hotel
#14 of 121 in Hiroshima
330 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Station
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
#12 of 121 in Hiroshima
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi

Property: Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
Address: 3-7-9 Otemachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hiroshima
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing