We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best location in Sannoymiya but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Kobe Sannomiya 2
Ranked #38 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not the best location in Sannoymiya but good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Close to the Hankyu and JR station but it is not easy to find the first time, 10 mins walk from the east exit of the station, turn left and pass the m-int shopping mall then walk through the sunpal shopping mall.

Both entrance of the hotel locates on a quiet streets but the Sannomiya center gai and Santica are just 10 mins walk. There are convenient stores, fast foods, many restaurants at the corner of the hotel. As said, not easy to find the hotel because the area is pretty complicated. I lost my way when I back to the hotel the first day, there is a bowling alley across the street of the hotel, the big bowling bottle of the building is my compass to find my way back to the hotel.

Typical toyoko inn room, average size, clean and tidy with a semi double bed, tv, humidifier, mini electric kettle...all you need is here. Air con, lights, door and locks works properly, very clean bathroom, strong shower, no complaint at all. Free breakfast, similar dishes everyday but delicious.

Front desk are helpful and smooth check in check out. Applied for membership and eco plan at check in for discount room rate.

Some good restaurants at the center for kobe beef at Ikuta road and hotel b kobe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    62
    35
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
23
28
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Balestier, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We (2 adults and a kid) stayed in a non-smoking twin room for a night. Our experiences were as follows :
Pro =>
a) Excellent value for money.
b) Room was very clean and environment safe.
c) 5 min. walk to JR Sannomiya train station.
d) Many convenience shops, restaurants and shopping malls nearby.
e) Located in the Kobe city centre.
f) Free delicious Japanese vegetarian breakfast, water and PCs.
g) Service was efficient and warm.
h) Easy to locate the first time because of the Toyoko Inn signboard at the top of the building.

Con =>
a) English was rudimentary at reception.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time we stay in Kobe.

Room Tip: Join as a member of Toyoko Inn and receive 5% or 20% discount, depending on the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionheart_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

This hotel is located very near to Sannomiya Station. Very easy access. Value for money. But the room a bit small. Breakfast provided. Hotel staffs quite helpful although not well verse in English. Overall very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I will not stop singing praises about this wonderful Japanese hotel chain that have properties in Japan as well as in south Korea.
Spanking Clean, Good sleep quality, Strategically Located and wonderful complimentary breakfast.
They provide bidet in the tiny washroom and also features a small laundry point on the ground level.
While the rooms are tiny, They are adequate and functional.
Absolutely love this place! will stay here again on my returning visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatgirl_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

So stayed at yet another Toyoko Inn. Stayed here in June '06. Most of the Toyoko Inns are similar. These are like the Best Westerns back in the US. They're nice business budget hotels with good amenities. All the Toyokos have a dining room/area close to the lobby. On the ground floor there's usually a small laundry room with pay washer and dryer. There are also vending machines with water, coffee, snacks, and soft drinks. Word for those who may not be aware, breakfast is Japanese style, which means tea, miso soup, and choice of a few types of onigiri.

Each Toyoko room I stayed at was a single room with a clean comfy bed. Room also came with a desk, fridge, small closet, and small all-in-one bathroom. For the uninitiated, the bathroom is quite a technological innovation. The bathroom is a step up from the rest of the room. The tub is large and deep Japanese style tub. The toilet seat has a bunch of buttons to control the warmth of the seat, activate the bidet function, and do some other things that I don't remember. Toiletries are great and are all in one convenient location, no more little bottles.

For the price, the value you get from a Toyoko is outstanding.

Since all Toyokos are fairly similar, this review will be more about the city in which it was located.

The JR Sannomiya station is only a few blocks from this hotel. Flower Rd is also a few blocks away and leads you down to the harbor where most of the main sights are. As you walk around you see plenty of new buildings and are reminded that the city has come back from a devastating earthquake.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

We stayed two nights, booked at the last minute by telephoning the hotel. The price was outstanding 8400 yen for a double including breakfast.

The location is excellent, 5 minutes walk to Sannomiya station, which is the heart of Kobe. If you are traveling by Shinkansen you arrive at Shin Kobe which is further away from most things.

The room had what almost seemed like a king size bed, but the bed was rock hard. Also the pillows were hard with grains of something (pebbles maybe) inside.

The breakfast was Japanese buffet style which may not suit all but cereal and bread, coffee and orange juice of sorts was available.

We could not get the wifi to work in the lobby but used the network cable provided in the room.

It was quiet, a great location, extra-ordinary value hence the good review.

This chain has hotels all over Japan. I have never stayed with them before as from the website I always imagined them to be a hostel. Particularly due to the price. But i would not hesitate to use them in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fdKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

We were very pleased with our recent stay at this hotel. The room and bathroom were quite small, but were comfortable and offered all of the expected amenities. The Japanese breakfast buffet, which is included in the already inexpensive room rate, was tasty and filling and we made good use of the coin laundry. Although the hotel is located in the busy (and convenient to train and bus stations) Sannomiya section of Kobe, we experienced no problems with noise. We also stayed at a Toyoko Inn in Gifu which had larger rooms but a more restricted breakfast buffet. If we are fortunate to return to Japan we will not hesitate to stay at this or any other Toyoko Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabNePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kobe hotels
JR Sannomiya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kobe Sannomiya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JR Sannomiya Station
Toyoko Inn Kobe Sannomiya
JR Sannomiya Station
Sanside Hotel
Sanside Hotel
#94 of 118 in Kobe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Kobe Sannomiya 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Kobe Sannomiya 2

Property: Toyoko Inn Kobe Sannomiya 2
Address: 5-2-2 Kumoidori Chuo-ku, Kobe 651-0096, Hyogo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Kobe Sannomiya 2 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Toyoko Inn Kobe Sannomiya 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Kobe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing