We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel I have ever stayed in !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Nagano, Japan
Level Contributor
464 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel I have ever stayed in !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is one of the best hotel I have ever stayed in !!! Rooms are good size VERY comfortable and great view over Kobe harbor-land. Breakfast is not big, but very high quality. I suppose they should improve on the breakfast, put more options instead of the only one set menu they have. They were trying to satisfy us, so I can not complain too much... English and French working staff as well. Wish all hotels will be like this one. Service at it's best !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    81
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
118
166
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

A wonderful surprise to find this beautiful hotel on the waterefront in Kobe. Not the ordinary room, a real suite with living area and patio overlooking the ocean. A huge private spa tub with views of the water including a flat screen TV. All upscale furnishings, plush linens and calming neutral decor with the added touch of crystal chandliers for an elegant touch. The staff was wonderful and could speak English. A real treat was our breakfast which was included, western style, delicious breads, fresh fruit and eggs all served to order. Linens and table service matched the beautiful view of a garden and water features outside.

We especially enjoyed 2 of the restaurant staff; both Ricardo and Pierre were gracious and very helpful in suggesting things to see and do in Kobe. Both had excellent English and helped make our stay even more special. Thank you Ricardo and Pierre for sharing your cultures with us; it helped add to the great experience staying at La Suite. If you are in Kobe, this is the place to stay and also enjoy a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed one night in La Suite Harborland (found it via SLH, booked through agoda, really good rate) and we were really really happy with it. The hotel is stunning in a nice location, directly at the harbor.

The Rooms a really super-spacious, the bathroom is stunning (hot tub included), the view is great (all rooms have a view to the harbor), the staff was incredibly attentive (and had the best english language skills in whole japan), check-in was perfect, we even received a welcome gift. Staff was also very helpful in explaining taxi drivers where to go. The bathroom featured nearly everything you can imagine, including hair ties, jewelery shelfs, etc. The room also had a spacious terrace with chairs and a table. It is truly a 5* suite hotel.

The only thing we didn't like too much was the breakfast. You can choose between western and english breakfast - but there is no buffet but they rather serve you courses, like a dinner. Western breakfast began with a pumpkin soup (strange), a salad (even stranger), etc ... Even though the service/waiter was really attentive, we'd rather have preferred a buffet or at least some choice. Breakfast was included in our rate, so nothing to complain.

Besides Park Hyatt Tokyo this was definitely the BEST hotel in our japan trip. We regretted that we only have stayed on night. If you have a Japan Rail Pass and want to explore Kyoto & Co, definitely consider to stay in Kobe and do day trips to the other cities around instead of booking an overprice hotel in Kobe!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasTravelTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is the very opposite of a typical hotel room in Japan and part of Small Luxury Hotels of the World! The rooms are real suites, with a large bed, a comfortable sitting area, sufficient wardrobe space and a balcony offering fantastic views over the harbour and Osaka Bay. The bathroom alone is bigger than a standard Japanese hotel room and includes a huge jacuzzi (plus TV), a walk in shower and a separate toilet. Service is of the usual (high) Japanese standard, English capabilities of the staff are sufficient and the breakfast is the combination of (Japanese) Western and Japanese dishes you find at any top hotel. And the prices are not much different from what other good hotels charge in Kobe, especially if you book in advance via the Internet.
So where is the catch? None really, as long as you accept that it is a bit off the beaten tracks (less than a 10min walk to Kobe station, but this is not the main station which is Sannomiya and a bit further away) and are not bothered that the sightseeing boats honk their horns during daytime.
Net, great if you want to relax and feel like being on vacation, a bit inconvenient if your main focus is shopping, sightseeing and having business appointments.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 2 years ago and again this year. Both times were for vacation with my family. I really love this hotel, and there is nothing like the experience of staying here. It is a true 5 star hotel as far as I am concerned. That said, some things may have changed from my memory of staying here 2 years ago.

The goods:
Excellent service and accomodations. There really is nothing better than having an ocean veiw, large room, and jacuzzi bath. The staff at check-in also spoke English well.

Changes:
- I think they removed a coffee machine in the room and put in a hot water maker. A little bit of a downgrade.
- The breakfast seems a little smaller than before, but the portion is still good and not really a big problem. They also used to offer free water in the room and some more gifts than they currently provide.
- The hotel is a lot more popular than before, so check-in took longer. We waited for about 20 minutes. Of course, the service is super so we didn't actually have to stand during that time. They let you sit and come and get you when it is your turn.
- The rooms are beginning to show some wear. Around the bottom of the doors, the paint/plaster is getting chipped off from people perhaps closing them too hard.
- And the biggest one... the rooms are more expensive than before.

So, in general, the hotel service is still one of the best, but also accompanies a slight rise in price and a decline on the quality and ammenities in the rooms.

Still highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

while the rooms are extremely spacious specially for japan. ive found this hotel to be very dull and boring. i do understand its built to represent an antique replica.. but doesnt work out for me.

the location is on the harbour and the noise of ships honking is just terrible. contruction site seem to be built neerby which is also very noisy

i think its too expensive given the above inconveniance.
the ac's are all centrally set to heater which is ridiculous. no 5 stars hotel does that and im sorry for being a polar bear and seeking air conditioning rather than a heater.

the dining room service they bearly speak english. i guess its not meant for foreigners.
the breakfast staff however are extremely friendly . specifically a french waitor whom is so polite and help full.

i would not recommend this to foreigners... but maybe to local japanese.

Room Tip: book higher level rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxbcxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

First of all I must say that for me this hotel was an absolute bargain. As the place caters more to a luxury holiday clientele, it's one of those hotels that are booked on weekends and not full during the week. In an attempt to lure business clients, they seem to offer great rates during weekdays. So I paid Yen 23.000 for a stunning 60 sqm room with harbor view, inclusive of breakfast. Enough has been said here about the rooms. The pictures are accurate and the rooms gorgeous. It's equipped with all kind of amenities. The whirlpool is huge.

The architecture itself projects a Western style hotel, but don't be fooled. The service is Japanese through and through. Friendly staff, but an unnatural over-eagerness to please. The western style breakfast is good, but adapted to Japanese taste and thus a bit odd for my taste. This strong adaptation to a Japanese clientele makes it feel somewhat unfamiliar and strange to a foreigner. For the price I paid I can easily forgive that. But had I paid the full rack rate, it would have disturbed me more.

The location depends on what you are looking for. The harbor view is great and the easy access to Mosaic entertainment mall a big plus. But it's not very conveniently located to the business and shopping area.

All in all a very nice hotel that deserves it's excellent rating, however not everyones taste.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors, as they offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Oriental Hotel
#3 of 118 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#2 of 118 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Okura Kobe
#4 of 118 in Kobe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Island Center Station
Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland

Property: Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland
Address: 7-2 Hatobacho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0042, Hyogo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing