We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable but not outstanding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Okura Kobe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Okura Kobe
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable but not outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

When I read the platitudes this hotel had received, I thought this must be one really outstanding property. We agree with most reviewers on the facilities but were somewhat disappointed from the outset. Having checked in after a very long flight, we were looking forward to a swim in the attractive pool featured on the Okura's website. It was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. On arrival at the pool we were told it would cost us around AUD $47 pp. for a swim because we weren't members of their health club! But if we joined there would be a discount. The whole notion of paying for a swim in your hotel we found quite unusual. Where was this mentioned anywhere in their promos?
The hotel room and bathroom were very clean and about the same dimensions as you would expect to find in the majority of Asian Hotels. We had a nice view over a portion of the harbour which I would advise everybody to request.
We tried both the hotel Japanese breakfast one morning and the American breakfast another. Both were very good and the cost was about AUD$24 per person. Unfortunately because of the hotel location there are not many other cheaper alternatives nearby as most shops do not open until 1100 hours. A 15 minute walk takes you to the Motomachi shopping area but the choice is somewhat limited around breakfast time.
On the whole, this is a nicely presented property with typically polite and well-drilled staff but I certainly can not rate it as amongst the best we have stayed in Asia.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    539
    151
    33
    20
See reviews for
476
304
131
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel at the end of our tour of Japan, believing we deserved a little bit of luxury before heading home. Well, how surprised were we. This is clearly the best hotel we have ever stayed at. In our opinion, it easily carried a five star rating. The staff are all very friendly, helpful, and polite. They go out of their way to help and assist wherever they can. We ordered room service on our first night after a long train ride and the service was absolutely amazing. The cost to stay at this hotel was excellent.... in fact hard to believe. I can promise that we will be back and without hesitation, this is the one hotel we will be staying at in Kobe. I have never been able to rate a hotel this high before in my life and I am very pleased to have chosen this hotel to do it for.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view. The sights of Kobe at night are amazing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abacab1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Such great customer service from start to finish! Stayed for three nights and didn't want to leave. Breakfast included with room is a great deal. Room was clean and had a wonderful view. Room service was prompt.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank El H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Rooms are huge, spacious, well maintained and beautifully decorated. Lobby is grand. Breakfast spread is great with some good vegetarian options too. The property is located by the harbour, so offers a great sight and a pleasant walk around the hotel. They even provide a free shuttle service to the nearby market area of Sannomiya. Staff is friendly, courteous, helpful and yes, they speak English :) Overall a great property for a comfortable stay in Kobe.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MeghaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Location of this hotel is 10 mins to harbour land,5 mins Kobe tower and 8mins Kawasaki dream. Breakfast was ok and offer traditional local dishes. Rooms we're clean but they don't have non-smoking rms with the sea view which is unfortunate.

Room Tip: Get a map because you are near shopping places and mosaic is at harbour land
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Choose this hotel a bit by chance, not doing so much research, but they offered a good rate so we went with it. A great bonus was that they had the shuttle bus from the train station and we also got a room upgrade to a big corner room. Another great surprise was that they had free wifi which we couldn't see from the website when we ordered. Service was great and breakfast was buffet style with enough to choose from for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dag_r20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent and the view is fantastic if you get a room facing the harbor. The only problem is the interior which is outdated and it looks like a cheap motel.
Otherwise we had a fantastic stay, they offer a free shuttle service to and from JR Sannomiya Station and during the weekend they offer an additional shuttle to Shin Kobe Station.
The staff speaks English which is always a plus.
For dinner and entertainment I recommend going around Sannomiya using the shuttle service.
A fair price for the hotel is around $120.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TucTucMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kobe hotels
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#3 of 118 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Oriental Hotel
#2 of 118 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Island Center Station
Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Kobe

Property: Hotel Okura Kobe
Address: 2-1 Hatobacho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-8560, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Okura Kobe 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Okura Kobe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing