We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of the b kobe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
the b kobe
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Location is fantastic. Plenty of restaurants and shops at doorstep. Room was ok (you get what you pay for). Felt a little stuffy and the bathroom was a tinge small - still ok. Good condition, nice and clean rooms. Helpful reception. Family Mart opposite hotel.

Those traveling with luggage may find it a little challenging having to drag your bag from the train station. Lookout for the Kobe Sauna and Spa - good landmark.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank ConradTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear ConradTwins,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location, the service you received from our staff and our facilities. We are also happy to hear that you found value for your money. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s attractions.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to take the ropeway which takes you to a beautiful mountaintop garden and a wonderful view of Kobe.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

One of the BEST hotels I have stayed in Japan for the money.

Large room, great Neorest Toto Toilet and bathroom.

Comfortable bed.

Great location near Sannomiya station.

The breakfast could be better but it is standard international fare for Japan.

Lots of good restaurants are near this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Dan P,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location, facilities and confort of our beds. As you may have noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

In Japan it's all about the price, room size and convenience. The B Kobe delivers on all three. Located on a downtown street close to the subway and packed with shopping, restaurants and bars, you can't ask for a much better spot to do business or explore the city for tourism. The twin room I stayed in was large by Japanese standards and the bathroom was typical Japanese space age fun with a multifunctional toilet and capsule shower stall. If you are a very tall person you may feel a bit cramped, but for the average height traveler its fine. Top it off with a reasonable price and you have a very solid choice for a short stay in the wonderful city of Kobe.

Room Tip: Try to get a twin room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mriguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear mriguana,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.
We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and facilities.
As you may have noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Went to Kobe as a couple last August to try out their famous Kobe steak. We looked for a decent hotel in a good location and a good price. The B Kobe was a good deal. We paid USD 90 for 1 night.

The B Kobe is centrally located in Kobe. It is very near the shopping district and within a short bus ride to the other interesting parts of town. It is also near a nice spa, a convenience store, a Tokyo Hands Dept. store as well as great pubs and bars. We just popped out of the hotel and everything was there. The evenings and afternoons were always a good stroll.

Japanese hotel rooms are traditionally small. The B Kobe hotel room is no exception. Our standard room was just about 18 sq.m. in size. There was just enough room for 1 side table, a tv, study desk and the similarly small toilet. We couldn’t even fold out the luggage fully. But the bed was comfortable, the tv had a decent number of local channels, and the toilet functioned properly. The design of the room is modern basic, so its size is a bit compensated for by the design.

I also noticed that the hotel sold prepaid tv movie cards. That’s what the vending machines are for. If I remember correctly the price was quite attractive for a movie.

Rounding out this review are the complimentary coffee at the lobby and the very helpful and courteous staff.

The B Kobe is notably a good choice whenever in Kobe. We gladly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheEuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear TheEuge,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location, the service you received from our staff and our facilities. We are also happy to hear that you found value for your money. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s attractions.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to take the ropeway which takes you to a beautiful mountaintop garden and a wonderful view of Kobe.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The new and stylish hotel is perfectly located in downtown Kobe. The b offers clean and spacious rooms for very reasonable rates. The service is good. We had a very comfortable stay and we will join the b kobe again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonasBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear JonasBern,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and the service you received from our staff. As you may have noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

As stated by others, location is excellent, value is excellent (for Japan) and rooms are large by Japanese hotel standards. Book a twin room for extra space. The beds are more like two double size so you can sleep in one and use the other for luggage if needed. Note there is no closet, just three coat hangers on the wall. I would stay here again. However, I agree with comments about bizarre Italian / Japanese breakfast in the downstairs restaurant which is not very appetising. We had daily commitments so didn't have time to go out and find alternatives but B Kobe is located near hundreds of small eating places so suggest you go out for breakfast. Other issue is the reception desk is up an escalator from street level, no elevator that we could find. So if you have lots of luggage prepare to struggle on the narrow escalator up and down. The reception lobby is quite small so if a tour group or just a group of friends is gathering there, it seems crowded. I must mention the toilet in the bathroom. It was a very high tech unit which raised and lowered the lid automatically (gentlemen push a button to raise the seat) and flushed when you moved two steps away from the toilet and the seat is constantly heated. Wonderful! There is the usual for Japan inbuilt bidet and 'rear wash' function but the fifteen or more buttons are all labelled in Japanese! If you are adventurous, press buttons at random and see what you get! Seriously though the hotel could provide an English translation stuck to the wall above the controls.

Room Tip: The Twin rooms are largest and each bed is close to double size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquesMumandDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear JacquesMunand

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.
We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and the service you received from our staff. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel was about 100m walk from Sannomiya subway west exit, quite easy to find. When we got there, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We wanted to stay an extra night at the end, and the staff arranged this without any issue. The staff went out of their way to help us find what we needed to.

The room had two double beds, and the bathroom was a very good size. The toilet was pretty cool as well, never seen anything like it. Was quite entertaining to say the least. Each time we walked into the bathroom, the toilet lid opened automatically, so we didn't have to touch the seat.

The hotel was very clean as well, I would recommend this place to anyone who is staying in Kobe. If I was to go back to Kobe, I would stay here again. Also, the Thai restaurant downstairs was very yummy. But skip breakfast at the Italian place, we ate there the first morning, and we didn't return. Was a bit of a shame, but all in all, this hotel was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room at the back if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayley_maree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear hayley_maree,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location, the service you received from our staff and our facilities. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s attractions.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to take the ropeway which takes you to a beautiful mountaintop garden and a wonderful view of Kobe.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Hotel Monterey Kobe
#27 of 117 in Kobe
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JR Sannomiya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kobe Sannomiya
Motomachi Station
Kobe Motomachi Tokyu REI Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b kobe

Address: 2-11-5 Shimoyamatedori, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0011, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range: £50 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — the b kobe 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the b kobe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Kobe Hotel Kobe
The b Hotel Kobe
b Hotel Kobe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing