We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”
Review of the b kobe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
the b kobe
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the B Kobe for two nights as my wife was attending a Jewellery fair in Kobe
We tried to book a ryokan but could not find one in the city centre, so ended up with this very modern business hotel

It’s very centrally located in the centre of town about a 5 minute walk from Sannomiya station and about 20 minutes away from Shinkobe station (for the Shinkansen) by a local metro train from Sannomiya station (I think you could walk it but we never worked out how to)

We got an extremely good rate (50% discount) booking direct on the hotel website which included breakfast

We had a superior twin plus room which was fine. It was quite large, well furnished with twin beds and a combined bathroom with an automatic toilet which was very modern.

The room had a large flat screen TV, a kettle with green tea and two internet connections – a cable provided in the room, or Wi-Fi by getting a code from reception – both worked very well.

Although in the city centre on a main road it was very quiet at night, although it was impossible to open the windows

The breakfast was fine with a large help yourself selection of hot and cold choices – you could certainly fill up for the day with it !

The hotel was very convenient for most things you would want to do in Kobe – in our case only about a 20 minute train ride to the exhibition centre

So a very good modern hotel – not much character but good value for money & we would certainly stay there again if we ever go back to Kobe

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jclynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Jolynes,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and facilities of your room. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping and conveniently located to public transportation.

Next time you are in Kobe for pleasure please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea and visit Harbourland and a whole different look at Kobe.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

With the hotel price that i paid, it would not be the valued hotel to recommended. The Superior Twin room is small and consist only 16㎡. Therefore, if you have 2 luggage's with size 20 inches will definitely a bad idea or problem to stay in here.

If you don't mind with the room size. It would be a convenience place for you to stay and travel with. Noted that, all the Japan Hotels check in time was around 3-6pm. You can stored your luggage at the Receptionist.

Hotel and guest room with modern designed, simple and cleaned. It would not be a problem for my breakfast since the room price did not come with breakfast. In fact, you can get a better breakfast choice out there with the hotel breakfast price that charged.

The hotel is near to Sannomiya Station consist with the JR station, local subway and etc.
Actual walking distance time:

* 5-10 minutes from Sannomiya station depend which train line station (JR Line, Hankyu Line, Hanshin Line)
*3 minute from Sannomiya station (Subway)
*15 minutes from Airport Limousine Bus Stop.

Besides that, the hotel is surrounded by food street, shopping complex and convenience stall which can easily fulfilled your needs and wants

If you plan to stay here. Below is the recommended travel course for you.

Plan A:
Arrival to hotel, Shop, walk and eat at Kobe Shopping Street, Chinatown in Kobe (Nankinmachi Shopping Street) > continue walking to Kobe Meriken Port ( Kobe Port Tower, Kobe Maritime Museum, and a memorial to victims of the Great Hanshin earthquake) > continue walking to Mosaic (Shopping and dinning area). You can take a great sunset and night landscaped photo with Kobe Port Tower back ground> Walk to Kobe Train Station take train back to hotel and have your great supper at hotel surrounding.

Plan B:
Arrange your last stop at Kobe Kitano Ijinkan at afternoon. Start from the street near to Shin Kobe Station, walk, eat and discover around and back to Hotel.

Pro:
Convenience, clean, and located at less noisy street.

Cons:
Overprice and limited facilities to enjoyed.
Room very small.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shya83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Shya83,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location, our facilities and our neighborhood. You certainly gave a great description of the sights to see while in Kobe.

Since you seem to know of many great dining options in our area, may we suggest that you try some of the eateries located at our street level entrance. There you’ll find a Thai restaurant, a renowned steak house Kobe Plaisir and Miyakoya Japanese BBQ.

We thank you again for your comments and for sharing your insights into Kobe with other travelers. We will look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The b Hotel is very good place. Air conditioning room with frigo and fantastic bathroom with automatic w-c. New towels and pyjama every day. Excellent bed. Breakfast is little to much in japanese style but not bad. Staff not good speaking english but communicative. In neighbourhood many atractions, bars, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank posejdon12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Posejdon12345,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and comfort of your room. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping. Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Kobe near shops, restaurants and the main station. Rooms are bigger than usual (in Japan), cleaned and with a nice design... I really appreciated my one-night stay there! I would have liked to have much time to enjoy it more...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strafElga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear strafElga,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and design of your room. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping. Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

There was nothing outrageously bad about this hotel but nothing outstandingly good about it. Breakfast was poor and eaten in a restaurant not apparently attached to the hotel. Rooms and bathroom extremely small by european standards. Staff not particularly warm or friendly unlike other hotels we stayed in whilst in Japan. Upside of Kobe though was the friendly people on the street - if we looked lost, we were approached and helped.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reynards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear reynards,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our b kobe. First of all we wish to sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay.

Again please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you encountered and thank you for bringing these to our attention.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This place is right in the centre of things, right across from tokyu hands in sannomiya. I used to live in kobe and this is the area you want to base yourself. Its one stop from shin kobe if you come in by Shinkansen (take the seishin Yamate line to sannomiya) or you can walk down flower road from shin kobe which takes about 15 minutes.

Rooms here are clean and big. After being on the road for the last week and a half and trying to pack lightly, I was loving the free washing machine and dryer (100yen for powder). However this is a japanese dryer, not an American one. It's closer to a British dryer, ie it's not that powerful so don't expect it to dry a pair of jeans in half an hour.

When I opted out of room service, they left a nite telling us to call the front desk if we changed our minds. When we haven't, they left us a laundry bag with clean towels and sheets. Was impressed.

The one drawback was the smell - although my room was nonsmoking, I can definitely smell the feint whiff of a room that was smoking at one point.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FulhamWhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Fulham Whites,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe. We are glad to read that you appreciated our location, our facilities and neighborhood.

Our area is well known for it’s fine eateries so if you return you may want to try some at our street level entrance. There you’ll find a Thai restaurant, a renowned steak house Kobe Plaisir and Miyakoya Japanese BBQ.

We thank you again for your comments and we will look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Simple and clean business hotel, many restaurants, shops around, walking distance to Malls, China Town. Fine enough for few days sight seeing at Kobe. Plaisir is just at Ground Floor, highly recommend to try.

Room Tip: AC is centralized control that a bit hot during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InAuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear InAuto,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and neighborhood. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s attractions.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to take the ropeway which takes you to a beautiful mountaintop garden and a wonderful view of Kobe.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Hotel Monterey Kobe
#25 of 117 in Kobe
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motomachi Station
Kobe Motomachi Tokyu REI Hotel
JR Sannomiya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kobe Sannomiya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b kobe

Address: 2-11-5 Shimoyamatedori, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0011, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kobe
Price Range: £48 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — the b kobe 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the b kobe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Kobe Hotel Kobe
The b Hotel Kobe
b Hotel Kobe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing