We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great home base”
other travellers have booked this property
''serendipity at kyoto''
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
''serendipity at kyoto''
Imperial palace of Kyoto, is the very center in this city.Only 10 minutes walk from our house.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
''serendipity at kyoto''
Imperial palace of Kyoto, is the very center in this city.Only 10 minutes walk from our house.
nameplate of our house 'Serendipity@Kyoto'
living room.
living room. Japanese fans.
Serendipity at Kyoto
the second floor.
Bed room A
kitchen.
Serendipity at Kyoto
the path runs in front of our house.
kitchen.
lights in the entrance.
bed room A.
entrance.
bed room A.
bath room. bath tab and shower.
couple of Fortune Cats in the entrance.
toilet / wash let.
entrance to the second floor.
Serendipity at Kyoto. free potable WiFi available.
2 green areas, Royal palace & Nijo castle of world heritage. Our house is in between this two green.
Golden (Kinkakuji) temple. 15 minutes by bus or taxi or 30 minutes walk from our guest house.
sakura blossoms in the royal palace. 10 minutes walk from our house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa H
1 review
“Great home base”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Chile's home is quiet, clean, and comfortable. It is located centrally in Kyoto with easy access to public transportation and many good sights and restaurants. Chie is also very easy to reach and ensures that you have a pleasant stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solbrittm...
Hovik, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Living in a Japanese neighborhood”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This is as close one gets to experience Japanese everyday life, even though we don't know the neighbors or take part in the working day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Dear Molin, Thank you for your lovely comment. During your stay It was very nice to see you were enjoying Kyoto very much. We are very much looking forward to host your family again at "Serendipity@Kyoto". Thank you again and wish you all the best with Warmest regards from Kyoto. Chie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything You Might Want or Need!”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Out hosts were attentive and helpful, making our trip to Kyoto easier than it might have been without them. The house felt spacious because of its exceptionally well planned layout. It was charming and comfortable.
Bicycle rentals recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you Susan for your lovely comment. It is very nice to hear you had a present stay at Serendipity@Kyoto. We hope to welcome you in Kyoto again. Wish you all the best. Warmest regards. Chie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful experience in a typical Japanese house”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Serendipity at Kyoto offers a unique possibility to enjoy a typical Japanese house in a wonderful and friendly environment. We had a very warm welcome by the host ans spent three wonderful days at that place. The house is ideally situated close to the imperial palace, bus stops and a nearby subway station. Thus all tourist sites are easily accessible by public transports. The close environment offers various nice restaurants (follow the recommendations of the host!) and shops. Highly recommended for all who want to enjoy Japanese life in the beautiful town of Kyoto. We will certainly come again when we are in Kyoto.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you Dr. Kurt for your lovely comment. It was our honor to host you at "Serendipity@Kyoto". We are really hope to seeing you again. Wish you all Good Luck. Warmest regards. Chie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwandss3
New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, very quiet, enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Serendipity at Kyoto suited our family just perfectly during our recent trip through Japan. The rooms were large and comfortable with much needed heaters in the 2 bedrooms and the living area. The kitchen was adequate and Chie the owner was very responsive and helpful. One thing to suggest is that for Western or older visitors the living room could use a small sofa or chairs as sitting on the floor all the time takes some getting used to.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely comment and Thank you for your suggestion too We are thinking to arrange a sofa in the living room. Thank you again and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again in Kyoto again. Warmest regards. Chie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takashi F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for family travel”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

So nice a place to stay!
I went to Kyoto with my family last December.
The host is kind and friendly.
I hope I stay again.
Strongly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Dear Takashi, Thank you for your lovely Strongly recommending comment of our place. It was our pleasure to host you at our place. Please come again. Take good care. Warmest regards. Chie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location and good communication”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely three day stay in Kyoto here; two bedrooms which slept five very comfortably. The rooms were warm and clean and quiet. We were only a 10 minute walk to transport; would stay here again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are looking forward to seeing you again at "Serendipity@Kyoto". Thank you again and wish you all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing