We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely perfect”
Review of Shiraume

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shiraume
Ranked #1 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

the service, the food, the atmosphere -- everything about this place is perfect. it was such an unusual experience to stay in a ryokan and we are glad we chose this one! it was stunning, immaculately clean, charming, authentic without being cheesy, and so comfortable (we were worried about sleeping on the floor). the staff were so nice and really took the time to explain how everything works and what everything was in our room and on our plates (we did the kaseiki dinner in our room, which i highly recommend). i especially loved how much time, effort, and thought went into every detail of our stay, right down to the plum jelly on our fruit at breakfast that came from the plum trees right in front of the ryokan. our one-night stay at shiraume was the absolute highlight of our tokyo/kyoto trip!

Room Tip: the omesono room has a private cypress tub/shower room and a separate living room and bedroom. i hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
223
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

If you are looking for a traditional Ryokan in Kyoto, Shiraume is the one. My parents and I stayed at Shiraume for two nights. Our room Umegae is on the second floor facing Shirakawa river, where we also enjoyed a nice view of the tree-line stone path, traditional Japanese wooden/tea houses and clear blue sky in the morning.

The room itself is gorgeous, spacious and comfortable. From the ceiling structure to tatami floor, the decorative setting in the corner, the lighting fixture, the shoji screen windows and doors, every part of the room is a piece of art. It's so much fun just to explore the room! We received warm hospitality during our stay at Shiraume. Tomoko san and Satoko san speaks excellent English, and the staffs were all very friendly and helpful.

The location is unbeatable. We arrived in the early afternoon, took a walk in the Gion district and visited Pontochō in the evening, all in the neighborhood around the corner! The next day we visited Kiyomizudera, then strolled in the Higashiyama-ku area. You could hop in a cab any time when you were tired and will only cost you about 640~680 yen(for 3 people) to get back to Shiraume.

Both mornings we chose traditional Japanese breakfast, considered them one of the best treat during our Kyoto visit. We had Kaiseki traditional full course for dinner the second night, which was beautifully served in our room. It's a big meal so remember to leave enough room in your tummy before dinner night.

I chose Shiraume for the amazing reviews here in tripadvisor, went with high expectation, yet Shiraume has managed to surpass them in every aspect.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mochi-paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

To stay at Shiraume (which means "White Plum") is a fantastic and immersive experience. The owner Ms Okuda and her staff (for example Satoko) do everything they can to make sure that you get what you pay for - which is a lot and worth every penny. We stayed in the umekoyomi room on the ground floor, facing the water stream at the front of the property. Although very authentic and traditional in style, the rooms are fully equipped, and the hotel also has free wifi. The whole area is full of ambience and also recommended is for example the teppanyaki restaurant Itoh on the same street (but with the entrance from the back street). Shiraume serves a delicious Kaiseki dinner, which can be recommended, and also a great Japanese breakfast. They will help you find your way in Kyoto, and they manage to be both very friendly and accessible but never too intrusive. Despite being the ones who paid, we felt like our stay was a gift to us from Ms Okuda and her team.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanerics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

What an amazing experience! Once we had worked out what went on our feet and where we could put them we were fine. This was a first class treat. Our room was on the 1 st (ground) floor over looking the little stream, with a private bathroom including wooden bath. We took the Kobe beef dinner, ordered in advance, and what a banquet it turned out to be. This was traditional Japan at its best. It was costly, but worth every yen. An unforgettable experience, the staff could not have done more to please us.

Room Tip: First floor is the same as the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
161 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Umerichin room on the 2nd floor and loved the experience. Don't worry about the price - if you want to experience a real authentic ryokan this is the place. The room was huge and we felt like we had half of the house with a separate bath area and a private hallway overlooking a garden.

Tomoko - the manager - was amazing. Very enjoyable to talk to and helpful. The location of the ryokan is right in the middle of Gion on a very historic street (people take photos all day). We did Japanese and Western style breakfasts and they were both fantastic. As was the traditional kaiseki dinner that we had on the first night (food presentation was outstanding). There is wi-fi in the room too. Staying at this place was a very memorable and unique experience. 6 out of 5 :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apia, Samoa
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2012

After umming and about whether we should fork out such a large amount of money to stay here for a night, we are so glad that we did. We are still reeling from the experience. This ryokan is situated by a stream in a quiet part of Gion, but is literally moments away from all the action and sights. Highlights included being served an immaculately presented kaiseki dinner in our room, which was lit by lanterns. Whilst eating, we could listen to the crickets outside and peer out into the gorgeous street below - where our daughters excitedly caught a glimpse of a Geiko shuffling past. In the morning we were served a beautifully presented breakfast in another separate, private room overlooking a Japanese garden and the stream. There were so many lovely details at this ryokan: our 'personal assistant' Satoko, the girls wearing their beautiful yukata and tabi, the welcome tea and divine sweets, and the small, gorgeous Japanese sachet gift Tomoko gave us on leaving just to mention some. We have stayed in other ryokan as well as fancy 5 star hotels, however if you want to come away from Kyoto with truly special memories and an outstanding Japanese experience, we can't recommend this ryokan highly enough.

Room Tip: Our family of four (2 girls aged 6 and 8 years) had the Umegae room on the top floor, which is like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antandshireen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Kyoto is already an amazing town to visit, but topping it off by staying in a traditional Ryokan in the Gion district truly helps set your mind for a fantastic experience.

Shiraume is a short walk from shops, temples, and trains. At first when my wife booked it I was a little skeptical after looking at it on Google Earth Street-View. It looked like it was going to be busy and noisy, but it is quite the opposite. Because it is literally on a heritage-listed alley, the only noise you hear is the sound of cameras shuttering and the creek right outside your window.

We got to stay in the best room of the Shiraume which is up some very steep narrow stairs, and it was simply paradise inside. Our own indoor balcony to view the internal garden below, as well as our outdoor balcony where we could watch the Geisha's walk by in the evening.

The meals were fantastic, we had Japanese breakfast on two of the mornings but decided to see what the owners thought a Western breakfast was on the other. It ended up to be a whole heap of rolls, far too many different types of rolls for two people! Not really a complaint though, haha. The Japanese breakfasts were as authentic as they come, the mountain vegetables were simply delicious and I only wish they were easy to grow/harvest in Australia but they are not available here. The Japanese still source them wildly from the hills of Kyoto and dry them out on their driveways!

Whenever we arrived back at our room we were greeted and asked if we wanted tea. They provided us with some traditional Japanese snacks throughout the day as well. It was a conundrum of having to leave heaven to see the most peaceful town in the world.

They were extremely hospitable for a B&B. On one of the days we took the train to Osaka (30 minutes only) and didn't get back until almost midnight. This was fine. Our only trouble we had was at check-in when we arrived there far too early (damn train from Tokyo is WAY too fast!), but it wasn't an issue, it was more a language-barrier difficulty as we just wanted to leave our suitcases in the lobby and go wander around Kyoto for a couple of hours.

If you want the authentic traditional Japanese experience, this is it.

Room Tip: The room upstairs would definitely be the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiraume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiraume

Property: Shiraume
Address: Shirakawa-hotori, Shinbashi-dori, Gionmachi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Shiraume Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing