We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice affordable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #45 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice affordable hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Hotel is on Shijo Dori, three short blocks away from Subway station and convenient to buses. Many banks, restaurants, and convenience stores along Shijo Dori. Room was comfortable and the usual (small) size for Japan. Very good experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We appreciate your comment.
How was your trip?
As you recommend, there are a lot of restaurants along the Shijo Street.
and almost all restaurants have English menus so you do not feel difficult to order.
I hope that you enjoyed the trip based on our hotel.

We are looking forward to staying with us again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    602
    181
    47
    21
See reviews for
304
494
141
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Minnesota, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great location! BUT… we had 2 rooms, and one of them was permeated with cigarette smoke (in a non-smoking room). When we arrived we immediately noticed the smell and complained. The staff used an air cleaning machine and assured us that after 2 hours the air would be cleaned. Unfortunately, the smoke was in the bedding, draperies, everywhere! Consequently, the room was not habitable for the pregnant woman in our traveling party as planned. In addition, the air conditioning and fan unit did not work in either room. This all made for very uncomfortable sleeping. Because of these reasons, we don’t think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe4940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are very sorry that you felt uncomfortable with your room which has got the smelling of cigarette.
We tried to clean your room with air cleaning machine but it did not go, I am sorry for that.
Did we suggest to chage your room?
Normally if we have extra room for change, we change to the Non-smoking room.

Anyway We are really sorry for your staying.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful. Felt welcome from the start.
Our room was of decent size and had a very large and comfortable bed. Although the hotel rooms may be in need of some redecoration.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1funTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear SIr or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are very glad that you liked with us.
How was your trip?
I hope that you had a great time with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sinceerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

1. No bottle water provided.
2. Only central heating system, cannot switch to air conditioning function separately(room by room).
3. Interior design of hotel room is poor. No space to unpack luggage, only can place on the doorway.
4. No clothesline in bathroom provided.
5. No warm toilet seat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisa7128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are very sorry that you felt umcomfortable.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Located in city center, the hotel is close to bus station and subway, taking about the same time to everywhere. The good thing is that we don’t need to start from Kyoto station and wait the bus in a long line.

The room was clean but a little small and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean too and equipped with bathtub. The hotel also provides free internet and it was fast.

The fridge seems very powerful that my drink and strawberries got frozen even I adjusted it less cold.

Only two elevators in hotel and they were busy before 8:30am.

Overall a good hotel and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased that you felt comfortable with your staying.
We are very sorry about the fridge which you did not adjust.
Even though it was bad thing, it seems that you liked us.
How was your trip?
I hope you had a good time.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have spent two nights there in a normal room (non smokimg)

The good:
- no frills hotel. Never been a big fan of the luaguage man
- modern/recent hotel, very clean
- location: plenty of restaurant around (not always english friendly) and close the subway
- bathroom bigger than expected with good water pressure
- free and fast internet
- friendly staff

The average
- room size: shoe box!, but sufficient as there is so much to do outside

The bad
- pillow is a brick! (with better pillow, rating would have been better)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
It seems that you feel comfortable with your room.
The one thing I would like to mention is the pillow.
We have two types of pillows which are soft and hard.
We are sorry that you felt uncomfortable but please let us know
if you need the soft one.

We are looking forward to seeing you.

Sincerely

Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and our son stayed at the hotel for one week. They took a shattle bus( Yasaka) door to door service from Osaka International Airport. So arriving at the hotel was easy. They found that the location is great, easy access to anywhere and plenty place to eat, there is a convenience store next door. The room is small compared to American size but good size for two men to share. ( four star is reflected by the size)The restaurant in the hotel is of very high standard yet reasonably priced. Of course the receptionists are helpful.
So overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remy2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased that you feel comfortable wtih staying with us.
We are centre located in Kyoto so it is very easy to hang around the city.
It takes about 5 minutes to get to the subway station and 1minute to get to the closest bus stop.
I hope that you had a great time in Kyoto.
Next time you have a chance to come back here, we are looking forward to seeing you.

Sincerely

Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#35 of 373 in Kyoto
531 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#29 of 373 in Kyoto
323 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Property: Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our hotel's modern Japanese design as you explore the historic capital. We are located in the heart of Kyoto, with easy access to all major tourist destinations. Step outside and it's only a short walk to Nijo Castle or Yasaka Shrine. Step inside and take in an undeniably Japanese, yet modern, decor. Perhaps that's why we've received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence annually since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing