We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible and luxurious choice for those within a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #43 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here for 3 days. Rooms are relatively bigger (compared to hotel mystays osaka) and staff were very accommodating. It's an advantagre that they can all speak English. They were kind enough to let us leave our luggage while it wasn't check-in time yet, and after check out. There's unlimited italian coffee and matcha tea. They allowed me and my wife to bring our toddler and book a double room.

Just make sure to go directly to the 2nd floor to check in.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Aldrin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel!

We are very gald to receive this message from you.
We promise the comfortable stay from now on too!!

Our staff can communicate with foreigner with english.
We always keep in our mind the warm hospitality.

If you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again please choose Mystays!

Thank you very much

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
There are newer reviews for Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is about 30min walk from the main Kyoto station. Close by (10 min walk) is the Karasuma station (Hankyu Kyoto Line goes to Arashyjama, Umeda) and Shijo subway. Near the hotel there are plenty places to eat and plenty of stores. I think that a lot of sightseeing places are walking distance from the hotel (but this is a little bit subjective as I like to walk). The hotel itself looks very new and modern. The room and bathroom were very big (for Japanese standards) and the bed was really comfortable. The only negative about the hotel I can think of was the breakfast which I thought was too expensive (1500yen). I was a little bit disappointed when I ask for help with the reservation for Kokedera temple (I ask them if they could send a mail + return card to the temple) and they declined it. Nonetheless I could strongly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel!

We are very gald to hear this message from you.
Booking of kokedera is alittle bit complicated so we decline the request from all the guest.
Surely we promise to help anybooking for foreigners as much as we can.
This time we were very sorry that we could not help you.

Please choose our hotel if you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again!

Thank you very much

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Luxurious by our standards! We booked this hotel on Orbitz for two nights on our honeymoon for a steal. Large room for japan. Clean, super friendly staff. Great location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acuwomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Congratulations on your wedding !!!!!! :)
We wish you every happiness.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as a special stay in Kyoto.
We are glad that you liked here at Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo.
We promise the comfortable stay from now on too.
Please choose our hotel if you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again!


We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Hotel Stays Kyoto-Shijo
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good value of hotel when staying in Kyoto as bus stop just outside and a small distance walk for MRT.
Toiletries are available at the lobby and also free coffee and Macha green tea latte especially comforting during winter time.
Room was bigger than expected as Japan hotel is known for small spaces. We have bought two 24' luggages and we still have some space for shopping bags.
Overall good value hotel and there is a supermarket just beside the hotel which is open for 24HOURS.

Room Tip: Book early to have special promotion price.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumtravellerasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are grateful that you are satisfied with the room.

If you have a plan to trip to Kyoto please choose our hotel again!


Thank you for you comment!

Sincerely

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I used "Deluxe Double Room" for around $6 per night on May. This was the first time for us to stay this hotel and found that the hotel is a bit small but very clean (newly built?) and convenient. Free coffee and Macha or Green tea "Latte" (from coffee machine on the 2nd floor) was the ones with which we were satisfied. Bathtub, toilet and bed were new and clean. Super market and convenience store are quite close so that we bought some bottles of water and refreshments after sightseeing Kyoto temples and shrines. One thing that disappointed us was no closet was furnished. Instead of closet, we found only a couple of hooks with clothes hangers on the wall. This time, we didn't wear winter clothes like overcoats so we felt no inconvenience, but... Unexpected happiness was that we could buy Travel card for money-saving at the hotel front because we had thought this kind of cards only at tourist information center at Kyoto station. Check room prices and recommend early reservation, which may enable you to enjoy more reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 魚片粥
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel!

We are very gald to hear this message from you.
We promise the comfortable stay from now on too!!
As you mentioned you can buy the ticket of 1day pass (city bus and subway)
You can enjoy the sightseeing from bus stop very nearby Mystays!

Please choose our hotel if you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again!

Thank you very much

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My friend and i stayed for 4 nights, we browsed for other hotels in Kyoto but this one offered us the best price. Excellent hotel either for leisure or business trip.

Pros: clean, efficient, well located hotel with cafes, restaurants and shops nearby. Amenities inside the room are abundant.

Cons: reception staff weren't very friendly when we arrive. When it rains there is no shelter, so must prepare an umbrella.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a high level floor for best view of Kyoto.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel!

We are very gald to hear this message from you.
However we are so sorry that our service was not good for you.
We always keep in our mind the warm hospitality.

Please choose our hotel if you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again!

Thank you very much

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were in Kyoto during the height of cherry blossom season...on somewhat short notice. So, finding decent accommodations proved a bit of a challenge. While this probably wouldn't have been the first hotel I would have chosen, it worked out well. It's definitely a bit of a budget hotel. Akin to, perhaps, a Hampton Inn in the States. The rooms were quite large by Japanese standards (we had two twin beds...I think these rooms are larger than rooms with one bed, as in those rooms, they shove the bed up against the wall). The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was very basic but clean. It did have the standard hi-tech toilet and fog free mirror option. Where is the rest of the developed world with these items??? Anyhow, check-in was smooth and the staff very polite. They were very helpful more than once getting us dinner reservations. The location is also very good. There is a bus stop right up the street that serves several bus lines. We took the bus pretty much everywhere we needed to go. It's also just a few blocks from the subway and within walking distance to several restaurants and shops. There is both a grocery store and a Family Mart on the corner. All in all, a well located, clean, comfortable hotel. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbb531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel!

We are very gald to hear this message from you.
As you mentioned our hotel is located in main of Kyoto.
You can take the city bue easily and go anywhere famous spot.

We promise the comfortable stay from now on too!!

Please choose our hotel if you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again!

Thank you very much

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#36 of 373 in Kyoto
543 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#23 of 373 in Kyoto
330 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £39 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our hotel's modern Japanese design as you explore the historic capital. We are located in the heart of Kyoto, with easy access to all major tourist destinations. Step outside and it's only a short walk to Nijo Castle or Yasaka Shrine. Step inside and take in an undeniably Japanese, yet modern, decor. Perhaps that's why we've received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence annually since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing