We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Nearby Hotels
US$497
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$366
US$246
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$393
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$326
US$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$553
US$262
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,740
US$1,386
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$363
US$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$587
US$497
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveller rating
530
641
191
50
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
641
191
50
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree coffeethe busnishiki marketgreen teamemory foamfirst floorfamily martsubway stationfresco supermarketminute walkjapanese standardsthe ground floortriple roomhotel lobbybeds were comfortablewell located hotelbudget hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The main sights of Kyoto are quite spread out, so no hotel is conveniently located for everything. However this hotel is located on Kyoto's main shopping street, within walking distance of department stores, bus stops, train stations and the atmospheric old district of Gion.

The room was clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. A buffet breakfast was offered in the attached downstairs restaurant, which provided a good combination of choice and quality. I doubt that there are many better hotels available in Kyoto for the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KarlosStag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel!

We are very gald to receive this message from you.
We promise the comfortable stay from now on too!!

We have Japanese restaurant on the 1st floor.
You can enjoy the lunch and dinner too.
so if you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again please try it.

Thank you very much

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here for 3 days. Rooms are relatively bigger (compared to hotel mystays osaka) and staff were very accommodating. It's an advantagre that they can all speak English. They were kind enough to let us leave our luggage while it wasn't check-in time yet, and after check out. There's unlimited italian coffee and matcha tea. They allowed me and my wife to bring our toddler and book a double room.

Just make sure to go directly to the 2nd floor to check in.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Aldrin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel!

We are very gald to receive this message from you.
We promise the comfortable stay from now on too!!

Our staff can communicate with foreigner with english.
We always keep in our mind the warm hospitality.

If you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again please choose Mystays!

Thank you very much

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is about 30min walk from the main Kyoto station. Close by (10 min walk) is the Karasuma station (Hankyu Kyoto Line goes to Arashyjama, Umeda) and Shijo subway. Near the hotel there are plenty places to eat and plenty of stores. I think that a lot of sightseeing places are walking distance from the hotel (but this is a little bit subjective as I like to walk). The hotel itself looks very new and modern. The room and bathroom were very big (for Japanese standards) and the bed was really comfortable. The only negative about the hotel I can think of was the breakfast which I thought was too expensive (1500yen). I was a little bit disappointed when I ask for help with the reservation for Kokedera temple (I ask them if they could send a mail + return card to the temple) and they declined it. Nonetheless I could strongly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel!

We are very gald to hear this message from you.
Booking of kokedera is alittle bit complicated so we decline the request from all the guest.
Surely we promise to help anybooking for foreigners as much as we can.
This time we were very sorry that we could not help you.

Please choose our hotel if you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again!

Thank you very much

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Luxurious by our standards! We booked this hotel on Orbitz for two nights on our honeymoon for a steal. Large room for japan. Clean, super friendly staff. Great location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acuwomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Congratulations on your wedding !!!!!! :)
We wish you every happiness.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as a special stay in Kyoto.
We are glad that you liked here at Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo.
We promise the comfortable stay from now on too.
Please choose our hotel if you have a plan to trip to Kyoto again!


We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Hotel Stays Kyoto-Shijo
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good value of hotel when staying in Kyoto as bus stop just outside and a small distance walk for MRT.
Toiletries are available at the lobby and also free coffee and Macha green tea latte especially comforting during winter time.
Room was bigger than expected as Japan hotel is known for small spaces. We have bought two 24' luggages and we still have some space for shopping bags.
Overall good value hotel and there is a supermarket just beside the hotel which is open for 24HOURS.

Room Tip: Book early to have special promotion price.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumtravellerasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are grateful that you are satisfied with the room.

If you have a plan to trip to Kyoto please choose our hotel again!


Thank you for you comment!

Sincerely

HOTEL MYSTAYS KYOTOSHIJO
Yukiko Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews