We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Hotel!”
Review of Econo-Inn Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo-Inn Kyoto
Ranked #12 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The place was clean and has a private bath. We had a nice and comfortable stay. The owners were friendly and always helpful whenever we needed to ask for directions or services. We tried walking to nishiki market and kiyomizudera temple from the hotel but I would recommend taking the bus instead. Its Hassle free and more convinient with a 1 day bus pass.
We bought breakfast from a grocery shop a few blocks away. Lots of reasonablely priced eating places too. They offer free coffee, tea and bread in the mornings. There is also a 24 laundry place nearby. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again if we come back to Kyoto.
It would be great if they can have WiFi on each room instead of just at the lobby.

Thank Correen R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel during my spring holidays in Japan. I found this place is small but clean and located in the center of Kyoto. I can walk to Gion and train station. The staffs are very helpful and patient to handle the guest. I asked the male staff on reception three times to set up the heater (the remote control is in Japanese while it was very cold the first night I arrived). He came and helped me every time I called and patiently explained to me how to use the remote control. The price is also very economic with good quality of service. The only downside is breakfast, but it is fine you can find some shops around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ikacika_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not in the best location but fairly central this is a no-frills place. Wifi in lobby and basic breakfast included. Walkable to the main station, but better to saty closer to there and buy a bus/train pass for getting around as Kyoto's sights are widely scattered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is a typical Japanese budget hotel. The clue is in the name.

The room we had was decent in size compared to other budget hotels we have stayed in in Japan. It was clean and tidy although the beds were a bit hard.

Unless you want to spend a lot of time in the room, the facilities here are fine. Also, they do a free basic breakfast downstairs.

The location is reasonable - about 20min walk to Nishiki market, Kiyomizudera and Gion and even less to Kyoto train station.

The staff were very helpful with sorting our luggage transfer onwards to Tokyo. Another service we would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mentaiko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

In short: cheap and worth to be considered for short day trips to kyoto, but not a good option for longer stays.

The hotel is cheap, but this describes the hotel best in just one word. the rooms do have the necessary facilities, but everything on the lower end of the scale.

Our main problem was the room size. We booked a double, but instead of a room with space for two, we got a single room with an extra bed. For the lady the missing of a wardrobe (or such alike) was the main downside, as she now had to live out of her suitcase.

The bath was so small that we could only shower one limb at a time. the other 3/4 were outside of the bath. (to give you the impression how small the bath was)

The staff was very helpful and did their utmost to assist us.

Room Tip: be small of size and do not have much luggage with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Very good!!! The bathroom and the room are small but very clean. The staff is wonderful. There is a fantastic dinning room with a fridge that guests can use, free hot/cold water, free tea and coffee. And in the morning small breakfast snacks. Not many places to eat near the hotel,apart from a Thai restaurant next door, but convenience stores near by. In all a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for three nights at New Year. If you don't mind a bit of a walk, you can get to plenty of sights on foot from here, so for us the location was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was small, but clean and functional. We had a room on the street side and it was very noisy at night, but we were so tired from all the walking it didn't prevent us from getting to sleep. The rate was a bit more expensive for New Years, but their normal rate is very good value in my opinion. I would stay here again if visiting Kyoto and would recommend it for people looking for a good value hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrigglespingpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#42 of 405 in Kyoto
587 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
FUJITAYA BnB
FUJITAYA BnB
#1 of 178 in Kyoto
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel M's Est Shijo Karasuma
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Izutsu Hotel
Izutsu Hotel
#14 of 178 in Kyoto
64 reviews
Southern Kyoto
The Pagoda Experience
The Pagoda Experience
#27 of 178 in Kyoto
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo-Inn Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo-Inn Kyoto

Address: 67 Hiraicho, Kawaramachi Gojo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8118, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range: £28 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo-Inn Kyoto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Econo-Inn Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing