We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #14 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice rooms, swiming pool,located in the kyoto station very close to kyoto tower.the hotel offers breakfast japanees style and western like.
I would come here again.not far from Gion and other nice attractions.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drorl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,538
    1,032
    195
    45
    21
See reviews for
811
1,089
187
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wilts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to everyone!
The location is fantastic being over the train station which is a massive plus. The staff were very courteous and helpful, we explained that we were on our honeymoon and they took our photo infront of the hotel lobby and we had it in a frame on the second day in our hotel room when the cleaner had been in, a wonderful touch.
The actual room was very nice and large for Japan standards, we had a view of Tokyo tower which was nice.
We ordered room service twice as the food was soooooo good! I recommend the steak with Western Sauce (beautifully cooked!) and my husband recommends the GV burger. We ordered it on two nights as the food was that good!
We also enjoyed that the TV had the ability to order movies is English for 1000 yen. Some of the movies were old and some new and they had a good selection to choose from.
The shower was amazing! Not only did it have a big shower head it also had 3 body sprayers and another hand held shower head, I want to buy one for my own home!!!
The selection at breakfast is fantastic, you really can have anything!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniKimmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were amazed by the quality of the service in the amazingly well located hotel...connected to the train station. As soon as we entered the staff took care of us making sure that we are happy.
Check in went very fast, we got a large sized room with luxury amenities. A staff member took us to our room and showed us every detail. The bathroom was absolute state of the art. The bed were extremely confortable; our pillows were changed within 5 minutes because of our allergies to feathers. The breakfast buffet is so vast and varied that you can spend 10 minutes just checking out what is available. The connected train station is an architect dream and should be visited

Room Tip: ask for a good view ... we had booked a superior room which ended being a very luxurious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francineandpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahului, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights the first part of June 2014, and had a great stay. Like other guests have said, the location can't be beat. It's right at the heart of the train/subway/bus lines, so it's perfect for exploring any part of Kyoto or beyond. True, the room (and especially bathroom) needs to be updated, but the staff and location are really what sells the hotel. The concierge went out of their way (THANK YOU!) for helping me find a particular item, and were probably the nicest concierge staff of any hotel I have stayed at. They also helped us plan our day to several sites, and printed out which bus stops and train stops we needed to take which took a lot of the stress away. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants, but ate quite frequently at Porta (an underground mall a few steps away from the hotel), and the Cube (another mall within Kyoto station), so there are a ton of eating options close by. Also, a Starbucks and Baskin Robbins across the street that we went to frequently as well. When I go back to Kyoto, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, great location! Staff are very friendly. We asked the concierge desk to help us plan our days in Kyoto and they were very helpful, and they also had coupons to a theatre we were going to! My partner saw a dog bed that a friend in Japan had that we wanted for our pup back in the USA and concierge even called around to look for it, they weren't able to find it at first because it was from a season ago, but continued to search. When we got back to our room concierge called to say they found the dog bed and have put it on hold for us, AMAZING! Rooms are a good size, bathroom a little tight if two people were getting ready at the same time as the toilet takes up half the floor space. Rooms aren't sound proof as I can hear people walking in hallways or in room next door on occasion. Def will stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed there 4 nights and completely enjoyed the hotel. The hotel is at perfect location. The train station, subway or bus stop is just minutes away. They offer two breakfast buffet: one traditional Japanese and one more European. We tried both and were really happy with both of them. If you go to breakfast (Europe) try to be before 7:30 or after 8:30, otherwise you will be stuck in a queue. At least it was like that when we stayed, maybe it will be different for your case.The room service and generally all service was very good. We ordered normal double room, but it was quite big compared to other hotel we stayed in Japan.

Room Tip: Try to select the rooms not so far from elevator, otherwise hotel is very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rauana_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights in April to start our tour of Japan. Location was very central as the hotel adjoined the main train station and was very convenient as we had to travel by train from Osaka to Kyoto. Rooms were modern, comfortable and like most places in Japan, extremely clean. The buffet breakfast had a good variety of western and Japanese cuisine and was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0bananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#28 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing