We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool in Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #13 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel has a perfect location for those using the JR pass. But it also has beautiful, spacious, comfortable, ultra modern rooms, excellent staff (LOVED the concierge!), and easy access to some of the best food in town. Great for families, as it is next to cheap but delicious dining (all that ramen!!!), several stores, great karaoke, nearby temples and transport to other parts of Kyoto. An oasis above the train station, and I loved seeing the trains coming in/out, the Tokyo observation tower, and the awesome light show every night in the courtyard.

Room Tip: A long walk down corridors, but our room made the trek worth it:) Heat wave in Kyoto, so it was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anac751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 3,146 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was apprehensive initially. As a family of four, we could not find a hotel to allow us all to the be the same room in the vicinity. However, booking two rooms was essentially the same price ($225 total per night) and the rooms were immediately next to each other. This allowed a little breathing room for all and having two bathrooms is never a bad thing!. Speaking of the bathrooms, this are small but great! Excellent water pressure, updated toilets, great daily amenities. Our rooms included free breakfast (the value for this would be about $80/day for four people) that was one of the largest buffets I've seen. It was simple to catch the train each day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetogeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Good hotel in the main station so easy to get to. The bus station is just outside to go to all the temples in Kyoto. However, i would next time pick a hotel in the centre of Kyoto and now this one as it just too far out in the south. Rooms and service were all good as anywhere in Japan when you are from Europe and not used to the politeness.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janjanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very nice hotel!! Train station is below but you never hear it!! Friendly staff, very helpful. Rooms were very well appointed. Reasonable rates. Public transportation is very convienient--taxi, bus, train.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Booklady9452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice rooms, swiming pool,located in the kyoto station very close to kyoto tower.the hotel offers breakfast japanees style and western like.
I would come here again.not far from Gion and other nice attractions.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Drorl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to everyone!
The location is fantastic being over the train station which is a massive plus. The staff were very courteous and helpful, we explained that we were on our honeymoon and they took our photo infront of the hotel lobby and we had it in a frame on the second day in our hotel room when the cleaner had been in, a wonderful touch.
The actual room was very nice and large for Japan standards, we had a view of Tokyo tower which was nice.
We ordered room service twice as the food was soooooo good! I recommend the steak with Western Sauce (beautifully cooked!) and my husband recommends the GV burger. We ordered it on two nights as the food was that good!
We also enjoyed that the TV had the ability to order movies is English for 1000 yen. Some of the movies were old and some new and they had a good selection to choose from.
The shower was amazing! Not only did it have a big shower head it also had 3 body sprayers and another hand held shower head, I want to buy one for my own home!!!
The selection at breakfast is fantastic, you really can have anything!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniKimmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were amazed by the quality of the service in the amazingly well located hotel...connected to the train station. As soon as we entered the staff took care of us making sure that we are happy.
Check in went very fast, we got a large sized room with luxury amenities. A staff member took us to our room and showed us every detail. The bathroom was absolute state of the art. The bed were extremely confortable; our pillows were changed within 5 minutes because of our allergies to feathers. The breakfast buffet is so vast and varied that you can spend 10 minutes just checking out what is available. The connected train station is an architect dream and should be visited

Room Tip: ask for a good view ... we had booked a superior room which ended being a very luxurious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francineandpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#17 of 405 in Kyoto
934 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#33 of 405 in Kyoto
931 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#22 of 405 in Kyoto
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 405 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 405 in Kyoto
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £104 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Southall Travel, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing