We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #14 of 398 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was centrally located, had first class service and facilities. We booked for 3 nights but wished we had stayed longer. It us located in the railway station, which is a destination in itself, and was so convenient for traveling to other locations with Kyoto as our base.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helenoc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 3,146 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Right above the tracks but super quiet.
Best location in Kyoto, the station building is a mini city in itself with shopping, dining and inbuilt entertainment! Hotel staff were gracious and super helpful. We had standard twin rooms that were like new and beautifully kitted out. Extremely comfortable.
If I was super picky, there was one thing I didn't like, was the background music that as everywhere in the hotel, it was a monotone of chanting and temple bells, too much every time you walked into the building.
At the price we paid it was an absolute bargain, even our local guide said it was his pick for favourite hotel in Kyoto. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we came back.

Room Tip: We had standard twin rooms, a bargain for the price, good size, looking over the Shinkansen tracks b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3littlepigsgotroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel has the best location one can imagine. Everything is around the corner: restaurants, temples, trains, buses, subway, gardens... etc. And still it is really quiet and peaceful inside.

The only disappointment was the gym. Not only do you have to pay, but it was quite bad. The equipment was OK, but the design was really boring, and it was far too hot inside! And I felt sorry for all the kids who could not use the pool, since you had to be 20 to enter.

Otherwise we did not have time to try any bars, restaurants, or other facilities in the hotel, since Kyoto kept us so busy. But I would probably stay here again, due to the excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Resmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The hotel is exceptionally designed in an ultra moden architecture but service is great and ambience is just great. Good variety at breakfast and location can't be better. We tried the hotel Italian restaurant for business lunch and enjoed it very much, hotel guests enjoy 10% discount....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were given exactly what we asked for when I made the reservation: adjoining double and triple non-smoking rooms. These were spacious, very clean and the amenities are what travelers need; women, their make-up remover is fantastic! Hotel Granvia's location is superb - we arrived here from the KIX (Kansai International Airport) in Osaka, only 50 minutes away! One can go to all the places in Kyoto from here by bus or train. I asked travel advice from the Concierge for our daily tour itineraries and they were most helpful with their suggestions and instructions/directions. When we returned tired and hungry from our walks and exploration of Kyoto, food could be easily found in the JR Kyoto complex or across the road. Shopping within the complex is also extremely convenient. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location and service. This hotel was decided by its location and ease of getting on and off the bullet train. Convinent to walk around Kyoto seeing the sights and also visiting other regions (such as Matsumoto) from this hotel. Plenty of places to eat and shopping is only a stone throw away. Comfortable and clean room

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CaptainPlanet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here with our 3 kids in June 2014. The location was excellent -- right on top of Kyoto train station, though you would never know it by how quiet the rooms are. Easy to get there from Tokyo (the hotel has detailed instructions on how to do this on their website). The room was clean, comfortable, with an awesome spa shower. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Good breakfast buffet with both Japanese and western foods. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#17 of 398 in Kyoto
934 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 398 in Kyoto
931 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#21 of 398 in Kyoto
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 398 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 398 in Kyoto
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 398 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £105 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing