We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best hotel of our trip”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

During a recent two week trip in Japan my wife and I focused mainly on hotels in the 20000 Y range including breakfast. We booked the Kyoto Granvia for five nights including either buffet or traditional Japanese breakfast. It's located in the spectacular Kyoto train station. All in it cost us about $200 per night. I was originally attracted to this hotel since we were using a two week rail pass and intended to do at least three side trips by rail from Kyoto as well as coming from Tokyo and departing to Hiroshima. The convenience of this hotel being right in the rail station is obvious. It allowed us to get from the breakfast table to the platform in under 10 minutes.

My wife and I were absolutely delighted with this hotel in every regard. The staff, especially the concierge desk, was very helpful. They even told us where to get our shoes repaired...this hidden little place in the adjacent department store. Small point: not so delighted was my wife about the cute bell girls wearing the little hats, a too obvious point of delight for me. Seeing them carrying and pushing that heavy luggage around was amazing. Anyway, the buffet each morning was terrific and I especially enjoyed making my own lattes and the fact there was plenty of Asian food available for my wife who is Chinese. We tried the Japanese breakfast one morning and it was an interesting change of pace, but not my cup of tea when I can enjoy Western and Asian breakfast foods at the buffet.

An interesting note is that although a few of our Japan hotels had those wonderful "washlet" toilets, the Granvia was the only one that was loaded with extra features such as oscillation. Other hotels had basic models. If I had one small complaint it might be the noise from the train station below as trains come in and out of the busy station. A musical passage plays for every arrival and there's a lot of arrivals. On the other hand, if you are a train buff, you might enjoy the constant comings and goings of Nozomi, Hikari and Kodama, as well as hundreds of local trains.

In summary, Japan hotels are expensive so value is paramount. The Kyoto Granvia Hotel is somewhere we felt that we got more than we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,640
    1,090
    208
    46
    23
See reviews for
868
1,167
198
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I spent 2 nights in Kyoto with my parents and siblings. The location was perfect for our trip. We took the train to Kyoto and the hotel is right above the station. In addition to the train station, there are food and shopping close by.

The rooms were new and clean. Unfortunately, the hotel is very busy and the lobby is constantly crowded. There is usually a line for the concierge. But the staff is still friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Sh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Service exceptional. Rooms, property, convenience were all excellent. Restaurants plentiful, but expensive and unremarkable. Showers in room were amazing (yea, I know, sounds weird but you'd LOVE them). Ease of access to trains coming in/out of town and local services - like buses was great.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marseille
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This is probably the best hotel where I have stayed in the last 10 years. It is perfectly located, at the starting point of all public transports (train, subway, bus). Rooms are perfect, quiet, with a king size bed and with a beautiful view (ask for a room looking towards the center of the city, at a high floor). There are plenty of restaurants in the same complex, at all prices. There are three possibilities of hotel breakfast, including a healthy and delicious one at an italian restaurant. The quality of service is outstanding. You never wait for more than 1 minute at the reception desk, everyone is smiling and helpful and speaks English. High speed internet is available free of charge with no limitations in the rooms as well as in the big hall. When we left, the staff took us and our luggage down to the train. Arrival from Tokyo as well as from Osaka airport by train is in the complex of the hotel itself (you do not need to go outside, you just walk 100 meters in the station).

Definitely a gem !

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Ideally located above main Kyoto station. good facilities and service and value for money. Ideal for people wanting a springboard to explore surrounding areas too. We hired bikes to cycle around the town so saving even more money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloughboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I was thoroughly unimpressed with the Granvia, particularly because TripAdvisor raised my expectations sky-high.

Good:
Rooms were good sized.
Location is convenient when you arrive.

Bad:
-It takes about ten minutes to get from the lobby to your room because the place is so huge.
-Completely impersonal service and rooms.
-The location, while convenient to the trains, isn't close to anything that is special about Kyoto. Expect to have to ride the subway or a bus to get anywhere except the mall.
-Nickel and diming is the name of the game.
-Expect a fight if you want a non-smoking room that doesn't stink of smoke

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel to visit Kyoto and near cities. The election was perfect, very good hotel in an excellent location. It was not too expensive, so I think this is an ideal hotel to stay in Kyoto and travel around. Make the reservation through their web page which is cheaper.

LOCATION: is just over the main train station, so is ideal to go by metro and bus to the main city spots and also go by train to Nara, Hiroshima, Osaka, ... without wasting time in metro or bus connections.

ROOMS: they are very big and modern, impecable clean and very comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 373 in Kyoto
1,220 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 373 in Kyoto
2,373 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#44 of 373 in Kyoto
2,095 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing