We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay, Wonderful Staff”
Review of Hotel Sanoya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sanoya
Ranked #111 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay, Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff was wonderful and very helpful in assisting my MIL to get the information she needed to see certain shows. The rooms were a decent size, clean, and comfortable. It was nice having the feel of a traditional Japanese room, but also having our own bathroom, which a lot of the more traditional inns do not have. The location is very close to Kyoto Station. I'm a bit partial to staying near Gion, but this hotel's location to Kyoto station was very convenient for sightseeing. I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who plan to do a lot of sightseeing around Kyoto, as it's a great jumping off point.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your stay.
Our hotel is near here kyoto satation. It`s not far from kyoto station. It`s takes 3mit on foot
Our hotel is traditoinal japanese hotel. It say ryokan in japan.
The room is tatami room with bath and toitet. This is tranditional japanese room.
We have japanese style big pubilc bath.
Please come our hotel. we will good service for you. "Omote nashi !!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    43
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This turns out to be one of the highlights of our week long Japan trip. We, a family of four (2 adults and 2 kids) booked this hotel after we couldn't find any regular hotels to be available in the first week of April. We gave it a try because some reviews said that they can speak English.

Our kids loved the one room tatami. It feels like slumber party to us. We slept on tatami which was very comfortable. We had one diner and two breakfasts at the place, all turned out well. If you haven't tried the multi-course meal, it's worth a try. We also tried the public same sex bath at the basement. It was nice to soak in the hot bath after a day long of walking. The staff were nice and even though only one or two staff can speak English, it wasn't an issue for us at all. We got through the communication part by hand signals and broken English. They also provides slipper and Japanese robes for you to wear after bath. You can wear the robe to the dinner inside the hotel.

Overall this is a three star traditional inn, not your five star luxury hotel. It's a hybrid between the modern hotel and the very traditional ryokan which requires lots of Japanese to get by. We loved it because the experience. Our kids said we should try the Japanese style next time. The only drawback was we had to get up early for breakfast. Last serving was at 8am. Given the time difference, it was very hard to get up early especially on your vacation.

BTW, if you want coffee in the morning, next door is Seattle Best Coffee which has very good coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your stay.
Our hotel be like famliy group in japan.because It`s comfortable in tatami room with no shoes.
we wan to be good service for you again. "OMOTE NASHI !!"
we have wifi service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Overall, the stay is satisfactory, location is great. But I am not satisfied about the meals, when I had already passed my instruction about my diet to the reception. It was communicated not once but twice via phone call in Japanese, but on the 1st day (dinner and breakfast) and the 2nd day dinner itself, they did not turn out to my expectation. They manage to make it right on the final day of breakfast. Other than that, the stay is ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_LIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your stay.
we`re so sorry.we will be ready good service for guest request next time.
we have a lot of meue for foreign guest. we have sukiyaki meal and shabu shabu
This is meat dishes.
please come to our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had a two night stay here and spent most of our time sleeping in the room due to being sick. The room itself was basic Japanese Ryokan style. It was clean and comfortable. The staff were very attentive and kind and took extra care of us knowing that we weren't feeling well which was very endearing. The reception staff had enough English to get by.
Our room had all the facilities including separate bath and toilet but the hotel also has an Onsen in the basement for communal bathing which was clean and not too hot. As with all the Ryokan that we have stayed in the beds aren't made till dinner time leaving plenty of room during the day to move around.
The hotel is a short walk to Kyoto train station were we caught an express train that took us to Osaka in 29 minutes. The station itself has department stores and food establishments throughout so getting something to eat was easy. Due to being unwell we didn't explore any further than our immediate vicinity.
Internet is only available in the the lobby as WiFi however when we tried to use it the password that they provided wouldn't work. The staff tried hard to remedy the situation but to no avail. We were forced to go to a Manga Kissa, which was situated on the opposite side of the station to the hotel, to get internet. That in itself was an experience. The private cubicles are used by people who have missed the last train as somewhere to sleep or by young lovers as somewhere to fornicate. We only stayed the half hour that we needed to use the internet.

Overall our experience at the hotel was a positive one.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perth_AustraliaFotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your stay.
we will good service for guest. "OMOTE NASHI !!"
we have no good English our staff. but we will do working for guest.
Please come to our hotel again. we`re looking forward to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I just spend one night in this hotel, but i enjoyed my stay here...

Rooms
I stayed at japanese style room, the room is nice, they already set up my bed, there is TV, table, and there is other part of the room to sit down. Refrigerator. The bathroom is big for Japanese standard. Clean...

Location
I get lost finding this hotel, i passed it about two times, before there is konbini staff tell me, that i already passed it. I need to ask about 4 persons, to get there. The signboard is very small, mostly in Japanese, the romanji is in the top part of the signboard, so you really need to look up. If you not get lost, you can reach the hotel just about 5 minutes from kyoto station. Which is amazing and very strategic.

Value
I paid 6850 YEN per person, it's without meal plan. For urban ryokan hotel, i think the price is fair enough. There is general public bath (Onsen) for free, i feel so nervous, because it's my first time to try it. But lucky!!! when i get there, there is no one in there, so the onsen is like mine. I get nervous because you need to totally naked in there which is not usual in my country tradition.

Service
I get there early, the front office staff assist me to keep my luggage, they can speak English and understand what i said easily. Check in process is very smooth and fast, my luggage already in my room, there is staff that follow you to the room and explain everything you need. If you are tall, they even notice it, and make change of your room yukata. There is kyoto mochi cake and candy for free at the room, not much, but still free is good...hahaha...when i'm about to take onsen, i made mistake on my yukata tie, i ask them for help, they willing to fix it. The service is amazing and very warm.

Good job Hotel Sanoya!!! Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoshiaRachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

This hotel is one block from the Kyoto Rail station (which is itself a destination). I was worried about staying so far from most of the traditional sites, which are in the Northeast and Northwest parts of the city, a couple of miles from the station; but cabs are not too expensive, the metro can at least get you close on the way to the sites, BUT ALL BUSES (seemingly) return to the Kyoto station, so taking a bus back from anywhere in the city is uncomplicated, costs only 2.20 yen, is convenient and a great way to see the city like a local would. I recommend cabs TO the general area of the sites, and bus or Metro BACK to Kyoto station.

We stayed in a Japanese-style room (futons, on the floor). It was a comfortable, modern hotel, with very helpful staff, some of whom had very good English skills (one lived in England for a while).....

The not-included breakfast was a traditional Japanese feast with fish, egg, miso soup, etc and was worth the price if you want a big breakfast.

The 10th and 11th floor of the department store in the Kyoto Station have about 30 restaurants of various types and price ranges, if you are interested in "easy access" food. There are also lots of traditional restaurants around the hotel for travelers who are more comfortable taking chances on restaurants with little or no English available..... Also, the food court in the basement of the department store is mind-blowing; the variety of food and size of the space makes Harrod's in London look tiny.

WARNING: Spotting the hotel while walking from the Station is difficult because the English name on the sign is small and fairly high off the ground - The hotel is in the FIRST block after you cross the street from the station.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Hotel Sanoya is one place that has great staff with a great attitude and giving great service.

My family were there from the 24 Feb to 1 Mar 2009. The staff, although speak little English, they went all the way out to help us meet all out needs. From telling us where the laundromat was to taking a cab to the Nishi market, they were really excellent.

As we had more luggages that we can managed, they recommended us the luggage courier service which was common in Japan but we didn't know about.

The hotel is in an excellent location, lots of food stalls available, just a 3 mins walk to the Kyoto station where you can catch the subway, bus and bullet train to any part of Japan.

It is royakan (japanese Inn) style with your own private bath and toilet, something which not many inns have.

The staff never fails to flash their smile and kind assistance. My family (with 2 kids) thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#67 of 373 in Kyoto
549 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#78 of 373 in Kyoto
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#50 of 373 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanoya

Property: Hotel Sanoya
Address: 539 Higashishiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sanoya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sanoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing