We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Sanoya
Ranked #122 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Traveled with 2 other friends and stayed for 5 nights - living area was big enough for 3 girls and 3 huge luggage. The hotel service was great! They were very helpful and accommodating, we wanted to rent Kimonos for a day and they helped us navigate Japanese websites, called and booked for us. Close to the station and easy to get to places. Would definitely recommend this place to people who wants a convenient stay in Kyoto with Japanese tatami room experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JessGoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your stay
we will good service to our guest.
we looking forward to your vist again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hotel is conveniently located,very close to Kyoto station. Room is pretty spacious for two people and sleeping in futons on tatami mats was an interesting experience (albeit in a more modern hotel setting). Private bathroom & toilet attached to the room were clean and well-stocked. Good spread served for breakfast and the menu differed on the two days we stayed there. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your stay
we will good service for our guest.
we look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have stayed 2 nights in Hotel Sanoya 1 week ago, it was absolutely a great experience. As suggested by the male staff (sorry I forgot to ask your name), this is my first time to write something here. There are not too many comments about this Ryokan on internet, I was a bit worried about it at the beginning, luckily Hotel Sanoya left me a very nice memory. :)

All staff are helpful, nice and cheerful, the male staff can communicate in English. During my trip, the male staff and Ms. 小池 gave us a lot of help, Thank You once again! Japanese tatami room is clean and comfortable. Traditional Japanese dinner & breakfast taste really good. Its location near to Kyoto JR station / bus stop and Yodobashi, very convenient to go everywhere.

Must stay again whenever visit Kyoto in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limbo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank your for your stay
we will more good service for our guest.
and more cleaning for guest room and more good make a offer for meals.
we look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A little bit expensive, but the location is great, and staff very helpful. Excellent Japanese breakfast everyday, and the room is also in Japan home style. Recommend this hotel to visitors who want to have a Japanese home experience with hotel rank service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkxforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your stay
we will more good service for our guest
and we`re going to do more cleanliness,comfortable for our guest
we look forward to your visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff was wonderful and very helpful in assisting my MIL to get the information she needed to see certain shows. The rooms were a decent size, clean, and comfortable. It was nice having the feel of a traditional Japanese room, but also having our own bathroom, which a lot of the more traditional inns do not have. The location is very close to Kyoto Station. I'm a bit partial to staying near Gion, but this hotel's location to Kyoto station was very convenient for sightseeing. I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who plan to do a lot of sightseeing around Kyoto, as it's a great jumping off point.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your stay.
Our hotel is near here kyoto satation. It`s not far from kyoto station. It`s takes 3mit on foot
Our hotel is traditoinal japanese hotel. It say ryokan in japan.
The room is tatami room with bath and toitet. This is tranditional japanese room.
We have japanese style big pubilc bath.
Please come our hotel. we will good service for you. "Omote nashi !!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This turns out to be one of the highlights of our week long Japan trip. We, a family of four (2 adults and 2 kids) booked this hotel after we couldn't find any regular hotels to be available in the first week of April. We gave it a try because some reviews said that they can speak English.

Our kids loved the one room tatami. It feels like slumber party to us. We slept on tatami which was very comfortable. We had one diner and two breakfasts at the place, all turned out well. If you haven't tried the multi-course meal, it's worth a try. We also tried the public same sex bath at the basement. It was nice to soak in the hot bath after a day long of walking. The staff were nice and even though only one or two staff can speak English, it wasn't an issue for us at all. We got through the communication part by hand signals and broken English. They also provides slipper and Japanese robes for you to wear after bath. You can wear the robe to the dinner inside the hotel.

Overall this is a three star traditional inn, not your five star luxury hotel. It's a hybrid between the modern hotel and the very traditional ryokan which requires lots of Japanese to get by. We loved it because the experience. Our kids said we should try the Japanese style next time. The only drawback was we had to get up early for breakfast. Last serving was at 8am. Given the time difference, it was very hard to get up early especially on your vacation.

BTW, if you want coffee in the morning, next door is Seattle Best Coffee which has very good coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lingling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your stay.
Our hotel be like famliy group in japan.because It`s comfortable in tatami room with no shoes.
we wan to be good service for you again. "OMOTE NASHI !!"
we have wifi service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Overall, the stay is satisfactory, location is great. But I am not satisfied about the meals, when I had already passed my instruction about my diet to the reception. It was communicated not once but twice via phone call in Japanese, but on the 1st day (dinner and breakfast) and the 2nd day dinner itself, they did not turn out to my expectation. They manage to make it right on the final day of breakfast. Other than that, the stay is ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mister_LIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your stay.
we`re so sorry.we will be ready good service for guest request next time.
we have a lot of meue for foreign guest. we have sukiyaki meal and shabu shabu
This is meat dishes.
please come to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#57 of 395 in Kyoto
656 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
#130 of 395 in Kyoto
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#81 of 395 in Kyoto
536 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#76 of 395 in Kyoto
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanoya

Address: 539 Higashishiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £81 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sanoya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, HostelWorld, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sanoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing