We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU
Ranked #117 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I'm a Japanese person who stayed at Izuyasu with my American friend. I recommended him to stay at a ryokan in order to have true Japanese experience while his visit to Japan, and he chose this ryokan based on the reputation. We were both extremely satisfied. It is a traditional style Japanese accommodation. So, if you want a modern luxury amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you are after a true traditional Japanese service spirit, it could not be much better than this. The hostess dresses in kimono every night to serve dinner with a very consistent and pleasant manner which made us feel at home. They served a lot of dishes containing fish and vegetables except the last evening of our stay when they served sukiyaki with more beef than we could comfortably eat. We managed to eat it all, though. One complaint I would mention is that the futon mattress was a little to thin and I felt the hardness of the floor every night. But they would have corrected the problem had I complained to them. I cannot imagine that they would have said, "Sorry, but you have to live with it." I would definitely go back there to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for rooms that have private bath tubs if you are self conscious about using the publi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Junichi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you for your complements.

We are glad that you and your friend has enjoyed the ryokan experience with us.
Also we are pleasured to hear that you were very satisfied with our dinner.

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad sleep with the futons.
Now in our ryokan we have much thicker futon, more like a mattress in each room to replace the thin futons.

We hope to see you sometimes in the future.

From All Izuyasu Staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent 4 nights in this ryokan and 2 Kaiseki meals. A very short walk to Kyoto station, about 10 minutes or so and easy to find. Service was excellent and lady owner and her famly were very helpful and friendly, however, they speak little English, sometime needing the daughter-in-law to help with communications. We did not realize that the local laundries were actually what we call self serve coin operated laundromats. We had not allowed time nor did we feel comfortable with the language barrier to attempt that task. The landlady's daughter-in-law volunteered to do our laundry for us and would not accept payment. We bought her a surprise gift, but the genuine warm and caring really impressed us. Not what you would find most places in America. We would highly recommend Izuyasu. We wanted to have the ryokan experience for our first ime. I did enjoy the hot baths, my wife not so much. For us it would have been better to only spend 2 nights because of the hardwood floors and futons for sleeping and because of the expense.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCTravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Thank you for your comments and complements.

We are sorry that you had an inconvenient time with the languages.
Now we have much more English speaking staffs, that can assist you in the next stay.

Also for the futons, we have now high-leveled, mattress like futons for each room.
We hope you will be able to spend more comfortable time in the future.

From All Izuyasu Staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This ryokan is not hard to find, it is located just 100 meter from Higashi-honganji Temple. The room is a traditional japanese style (or everything looks like in 80s) one... with a picture hanging against a wall and a flower in a vase, tatami floor, wooden structure, paper curtain sliding door, a balcony with an ornamental garden, a low wooden table, an attached bathroom with a small tub, futon are well hidden at door entrance wardrobe. the small tv reminds me the 80's time but it is with a remote control.

The young male staff leads me to my room at the ground floor, and there is another lady staff who is excellent in providing the service, such as welcome drink - green tea, preparation of dinner, serving a 5-course dinner, laying futon after the dinner. She is effective and everything was served within minute.

Before the dinner, I tried to wear my yukata for the first time. but as Anthony Bourdain's remarks in his book, it is quite embarassing as trying a sitting posture not to show off my crotch in front of the staff....fortunately this does not take long time.

The ryori dinner was a fantastic one with variety of exquisite petit stuff such as tofu, pickle wild vege, mushroom, steam fish with grated white radish, maguro sushi, and tempura, white rice...

The breakfast come with rice, miso soup, and some vege...

There is one public bath outside the room, but I did not give it a try. The view of the garden from the balcony is relaxing.

Around the ryokan, there are a lot of shops selling buddha related stuff. I did not visit any one of them, instead, I am more interested in walking towards the Kyoto station, where the isetan occupy for 11 floors.

Room Tip: The hot water available after 4pm. and curfew time is 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chendol_beng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Thank you for your remarks and complements.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

Our ryokan has been partially rebuilt three years ago, and we now have completely different rooms and other facilities.
The baths has become family bathrooms, where you can lock the door from inside when you take them.
We appreciate how you tried the Japanese traditional yukata, too.

Also thank you for all the comments regarding the dinner.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed them all.

If you have a chance, please feel free to revisit our ryokan anytime.

From all Izuyasu staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I enjoyed my evening in the Ryokan. The service was phenomenal. They held our luggage for us, brought tea and sweets upon check in. We bought sake before dinner, and they brought it to our room and showed us how to tie our Yukatas. We were traveling with another couple and they were happy to let the 4 of us dine together. The Kaiseki meal was fantastic with so many courses that we lost count. It was presented so intricately showing the time of season by using maple leaves and designs that were partially changing from greens to yellows and oranges. When we returned to our rooms, our Futons were laid out. We took baths before our dinner. My husbands bath was fine....small, but clean, nice, and hot. The women's however was a bit disappointing as it was just above room temperature and even after adding as much water as I could it didn't warm it significantly. Our nights sleep, I'm sad to say was the worst nights sleep we had in Japan. We stayed in Several other places on Futons, but these were definitely the MOST uncomfortable. I slept well on the other Futons at other places, but these were pretty rock hard. I wouldn't have been so disappointed except we paid more than twice as much as any of the other places some of which included the breakfast and dinner though not as nice. I would still recommend this place for every other reason, but they have GOT to do something about their futons!! (comforter was nice and warm though)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thank you for your comment.
We are very proud for getting your complements about our food.
Thank you very much.

We are very sorry that you could not sleep well back in your stay.
Our futons are now remodeled to ones that is similar to a mattress, with warmer blankets so we wish you will get a nicer sleep in the future.

Again thank you for your complements and comments.
We will work hard to improve our services in the future.
If you have a chance to stay with us again, we will be more than pleasured to serve you at our ryokan.

From all staffs of Izuyasu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Wholeheartedly agree with the very positive views reported by other recent reviewers of this excellent Kyoto ryokan especially the comment about 'being treated as guests in someone's home' rather than as tourists. Very accessible by foot for the main Kyoto train station and the bus and metro systems with very helpful and friendly staff in this central but very quiet, location which has been owned by the same family for several generations. Meals were consistently excellent with a wide variety of traditional Kyoto cuisine served for breakfast and dinner, all beautifully presented during our stay of one week. Accommodation came with full air conditioning with tv. Plan to return next year for another stay of at least one week.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for your very kind comments.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us at our ryokan.
We are very pleasured to receive all you complements.
If there is a chance, please do come back again to have your stay with us.

From all Izuyasu staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Izuyasu Ryokan is a great place to stay if you are new to Kyoto and want all modern amenities along with being a short walk from the station. We found it to be an authentic experience of Japanese living with the feeling that we were not treated as tourists but more like guests in someones home.
Everything is clean and functional; we slept on futons and had a superb breakfast both mornings. I would recommend it for anyone wanting a quiet place to return to after a hard days sight-seeing. Very happy with our time at the Izuyasu, can we stay??

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank snowflakecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for your previous stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for all you complements.
We are very proud to hear how you felt comfortable at our ryokan.
Please feel free to come back anytime again, and we would be more than pleasured to serving you here.

From All Izuyasu Staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My first experience of a ryokan. The room was nice and clean. The staff were very friendly. The food was amazing! Very close to the station so a good location. The only criticism I have is that the bathroom looked like something from the 70's and some of the furniture may have been there just as long but it did not affect my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scarophion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your first experience in the ryokan.
Also thank you for pointing out the baths.
We have remodeled our ryokan with different bathrooms few years ago.
Now, the bathrooms are new with completely different designs.
If there is a chance, please come back to stay in our newly remodeled ryokan.

From All Izuyasu Staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Gion
Kinoe
Kinoe
#138 of 395 in Kyoto
95 reviews
Maifukan
#48 of 395 in Kyoto
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sakanoue
#174 of 395 in Kyoto
65 reviews
City Center
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#36 of 395 in Kyoto
410 reviews
Seikoro Inn
#102 of 395 in Kyoto
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU

Address: 272 Sasayacho Higashinotoin Shimojuzuyamachi Agaru, Shimokyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8156, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £188 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japan is a country which has a lot of characteristics. High technology, beautiful nature, sub-culture… Especially Kyoto, which is an ancient historical city which keeps the Japanese traditional culture. For example, seasonal sceneries, tea ceremony, noh play, Gion festival, antiques, and beautiful refined Kyoto cuisine. Kyoto is the place where you can feel the authentic Japan. We invite you to come and experience the true essence of Kyoto. At IZUYASU, traditional ryokan established in 1839, we welcome you with our Japanese style warm hospitality. We hope you’ll enjoy our chef’s Kyoto cuisine, traditional Kyoto house, and the Japanese garden. A track with Kyoto’s history In 1839 during the Edo period IZUYASU was originally established to receive the Buddhist priests and travelers who come to worship at Higashi honganji. For over 170 years we’ve offered the best service which suits the different generations with our warm Japanese hospitality. Today we accept important cultural guests of Japan and also from foreign countries. First renewal since 170 years ago We have reopened IZUYASU in November 2013. You’ll see the simple and cozy interior design and the natural furniture in the salon created by artisans. We’re looking forward to seeing the elegant changes of the woods with time like the old central pillar which has been supporting the house for a longtime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izuyasu Ryokan Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing