We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay in Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #46 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in Kyoto”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in Mitsui Garden Hotel Shijo in November 2013. First don't mix it up with Mitsui Garden Hotel Sanjo which we did.They gave us a plan in Mitsui Garden Hotel Sanjo how to find
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shijo but it was not so easy. Everyone we asked for directions said they did not know it and the plan was of little help. So check Google Maps first. The hotel is close to the underground station and bus stops and they give you a list how to reach all the main sights by city transport. The staff at the reception are very helpful. The rooms are small but clean, breakfast filling. They also have a Japanese bath which we used every night. All in all the hotel is worth the money you pay for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    412
    101
    23
    10
See reviews for
178
212
137
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We reserved 5 days, but end up leaving the next day!
The hotel was clean, the staff was helpful, but we were expecting a 4 star hotel, and this is a maximum 3 star! Price wise, the hotel was way below expectations!
Rooms was very very small! Suffocating I would say!
Location is ok, but a good 20 min walking to main shopping streets.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateTosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel (alternating between this hotel and Mitsui Garden Hotel Sanjo) and I must say that this is hotel is extremely thoroughly cleaned hotel - the cleaners every morning spent ages cleaning the rooms and onsen. And the room was like a first encounter every time we came back from our sightseeing trips.

Also, we noticed that the rooms were very large (for japanese standards) with all the modern facilities that we needed.

Plus, the breakfast was very tasty with a wide selection of healthy japanese and continental selections - even for us as vegetarians, this was one of the best hotel breakfasts we have in all of our trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_2013_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The location is okay and not too far of a walk to the station. The rooms are small but clean. The staff were extremely helpful especially one woman who kindly checked us in and kindly explained all the facilities available. While we needed help with writing down information for booking our shinkansen tickets, the same lady helped us translate and write down the information we needed. All in all, we are very pleased with the friendly service and clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DChewyandShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We requested for 5 extra pillows for a twin and a triple rooms.

We requested for 5 extra pillows as there are only 1 single per bed.

The night front desk male staff (4 pax) claimed that because we booked the SUPERIOR CLASS room thus, only 4 pillows are allowed.

I am very disappointed and surely this is not Japanese' s hospitality.

I must say rooms were clean, and proper but these front desk staff really pull the rating down.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy71_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our worst hotel in our recent 3 week trip to Japan. We had stayed at the Mitsui Garden in Ginza Tokyo so we had high expectations. Kyoto does command high prices due to its popularity, especially in November and we moved for our last night from the great Royal Park The Kyoto (because they were booked up and could not accommodate us) to the Mitsui Shijo. Perhaps it was just our room but we found the hotel very tired, rooms and bathroom in need of a complete refurbishment and it very poor value for what we paid. Had we not been so impressed with our previous Mitsui experience when booking the Mitsui in Shijo, I think we could have done much better elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasperVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just returned this week from Kyoto, Mitsui Garden Hotel in Shijo was an excellent place to stay. It's about a 10 minute walk from the subway, but that was not a problem at all. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel is very clean, very quiet and our non-smoking room was actually a non-smoking room! I have no complaints about my stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it. The rooms are great and the beds were very comfortable. Very, very pleased and impressed with Mitsui Garden Hotel in Shijo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#36 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo

Property: Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Address: 707-1 Myodenjicho 4-jo Sagaru Nishinotoin-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8472, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#26 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing